We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel, with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The location of this hotel, in the old neigborhood Plaka, is excellent and the services are good. From the roof terrace and also from some rooms you have a beautiful view of the Acropolis. There is a minibar, wifi and airco. The rooms are small, but clean. Staff is friendly. The only thing I missed int the room was a coffeemaker.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the backside, with a view on the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us and our future guests. As we do not have coffee maker in the rooms, we offer instead free coffee in lounge until 5:30 pm. I am sorry you did not noticed this service while you where here.
Thank you again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    726
    107
    35
    12
See reviews for
365
836
126
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really couldn't fault it at all. Very clean and well maintained, staff helpful. All the main attractions within walking distance. Plentiful buffet breakfast. Use of shared computer where you could look up info. Fantastic views from the roof garden. And considering how central it is, very quiet at night - we weren't disturbed at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paestum, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed one Night But this Hotel is Super, Well located nead Pedestrian street great for Shopping, Nice Restaurant Near the hotel.
Very close to the Parthenon and a Super Great View from the Hotel Roof at Night!
I dream come true see Athens at Night.
Room is very good, nice Bathroom.

Room Tip: Great Rooms very Confy bed. The breakfast is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture! We are delighted to read your title and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel!
Hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our family Holiday to Europe saw us stay in Athens for two nights at the Plaka. We were able to walk to many attractions and experience all that the area had to offer. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast presentation was top notch. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop in the evening was amazing. They had a laundry service that was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property. As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for mentioning the good value you got from our laundry service.
Kind regards to all your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors Flat, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we started our trip in Athens at the Plaka hotel right in the middle of the "Old Town" , everything is within walking distance , the Acropolis and all the old attractions. the "flee markets" are a must to see if you are there on a Sunday, a real eye opener. The main attraction of the Plaka is the Rooftop Bar and Garden where you will get the best sunset show as the Acropolis lights up in the evening sky. Michael the desk Manager is very helpful and always accommodating, as is the rest of the staff. This was the best place to start our Greek Odessey, five starsa

Room Tip: great location, great people WIFI every floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been to Greece over a dozen times, and every time I stay in Athens, we always stay at the Plaka hotel.

You can take the train form the airport to Monesteriki station and the hotel is only a few blocks through the "Plaka" itself. The Plaka is the central area in Athens where you find all the best shopping, open air restaurants and sits at the foothill of the Acropolis.

To the left of the hotel is Ermu(sp) St. which is some of Athen's best shopping!

They have a great breakfast, the rooms are small but the roof top bar view of Athens is the BEST in the city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a great pleasure and satisfaction to have repeated clients like you.
Refining to your comment on the room size, you may try next time to book a superior room that has a balcony and is of bigger size than the standard room.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

In the Monastiraki area as opposed to the Plaka. Stayed here for several nights in late May and a separate night in early June. Good location for the Acropolis, the Agora, and Rick Steves' Athens City Walk. The Acropolis is about a 15-minute walk. Rooms were nice but plain. Small, European-style bathroom. Front desk staff was helpful. Wifi was free but virtually not accessible on the fifth floor (had better luck on the sixth). Roof bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Nice breakfast (came with the room). Didn't use the subway. The city has flat rates to and from the airport and to and from the harbor, but make sure you know what the cabbie's going to charge you before you get in the taxi. Also count out what you give them. Several enjoyable restaurants in the area. Nothing fancy but met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Plaka hotel for your stay in Athens. We are glad Rick Steves recommendation worked well for your walking tour, as the hotel is so centraly located.
Best regards to your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.