We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece (Plaka)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & Wi-Fi
Ranked #9 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous five nights stay at the Plaka Hotel. This is a great place to stay if you want a central location in the old part of Athens. It is just off Monastiraki Square but in a quiet location with easyt access to the sights and to the tavernas in Plaka. We stayed in room 211 which had a view of the Acropolis. Great view to start your day. Our room was well appointed; of a nice size with plenty of space for clothes etc and a nice bathroom with a large walk-in shower. It was kept very clean with fresh linen and towels every day. Breakfasts are excellent with a large choice from local to continental to english. Free wifi (sometimes a little difficult to access) and free tea and coffee all day. All of the hotel staff were extremely helpful, but particularly Michael on reception who has a great sense of humour and helped us with all of our enquiries. Its most attractive feature has to be the wonderful view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace and after a day's walking through the streets and sites of Athens there was nothing to beat a cool gin and tonic on the terrace absorbing the sunset over Athens and the lights coming on over the Acropolis. Absolutely fabulous and one of those views that just has to be seen. Will definitely be returning to the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis viewfrom your room, as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness and most importantly the friendliness of our staff.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    784
    117
    37
    12
See reviews for
401
927
139
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay to visit Athens. It's just on the edge of the Plaka area, with its narrow, picturesque streets. And it's about 20 mins walk from the Acropolis. Our room was quite small, but had everything we needed, including an excellent shower. We also had a fine view of the Acropolis, which we appreciated. The roof terrace with its bar is worth visiting in the evening, as it has a fabulous view of the Acropolis. The hotel is about 5 mins or so walk from Syntagma square, which is served by the X95 express bus to and from the airport every 15 mins (5 euros single in April 2013).
The breakfast buffet is good, and replenished frequently. However, when the hotel is full, there aren't enough seats in the breakfast room, and you might have to wait for a table.
There is free wifi in the hotel, but it's not very stable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the renovated bathrooms. Guest comments are really important to us and help us improve our services.
Best regards and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location is perfect, within walking distance to all of the attractions. The hotel was very clean (most importantly) and the staff went out of their way to help us with all of the up to date tourist information. But I have to say, the roof top bar (view) is breathtaking (of the acropolis) and adds to the beautiful atmosphere of Athens. I loved the coffee (hot chocolate for the kids) and cookies available all day. It is a great recharger, after hours of siteseeing. I CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and "title", as well as for the high score!
We all mostly appreciate it and hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed two nights in early May, as we passed through Athens on our way to some Greek island-hopping. The hotel is centrally located, and very well run. Rooms are fine, as one would expect for this grade of hotel. The huge surprise is the stunning view of the Acropolis from the roof top terrace. We just sat there, sipping our wine, taking in the magnificent sight. Highly recommended. Incidentally, we were not bothered by street noise. Tip for travellers: buy an all-in ticket from any set of ruins, as these give you entry to the Acropolis without queuing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Your tip about the ticket is very correct and I am glad you mentioned it. Also I would add that it is best to visit first an other site included in the ticket and let the Acropolis to be visited later in the afternoon with less tourists.
Thank you for your high score.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took bus X95 from the airport and in 45-50 minutes time we were at the Syntagma square and from there it’s just 10 mints walk downhill. Plaka hotel is close in proximity to the major attractions of the area. Because of its ideal locating we did all the sightseeing on foot. It is just few minutes’ walk from Monastiraki/Plaka market Flea Market. The breakfast is good and filling. Staffs were friendly, During breakfast Eva suggested us some good itineraries and answered all our questions/queries about the tourist attractions in Athens. Refreshments are available throughout the Day in the Breakfast room.

The view of Acropolis from the roof terrace is beautiful especially in night. Many good restaurants are in the neighborhood. The rooms were tastefully comfortable and clean with balcony. We definitely recommend Plaka hotel for a nice stay in Athens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful pictures! We are delighted to read your comment and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel! We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff.
Thank you for recommending us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and daughter in may 2013 for 2 nights. Room 208 tripple. Facing one of the small streets with traffic noise mostly in the morning. Plus, church bells at 7:00 a.m. Room condition is ok. Clean. Tv is out of date. The biggest problem is stability of wifi. Equiped with bathroom. Fresh and clean. advantage of this place is roof garden with cafe. One can enjoy a great view on acropol combined with drinks from the bar. Service from the reception staff was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.The price of the hotel for its location and services is similar to other hotels. If someone books well in advance may get one of the offers we have. Still, May is high season for Athens. As for the street noise and the church bells, were most propably due to the Orthodox Easter.
Thank you again and hope to see you back.
Best regards to your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here last summer. Rooms small but big enough. Comfortable. Have to use room key to keep electricity going. Only had one key so room got hot when I wasn't there (temps 100+ F) so a bit toasty. But a good way to conserve energy. My room wasn't ready when I checked in so they gave me a coupon for a free drink at the bar. Had a great rooftop terrace. Friendly staff. One hour of free internet included. Nice breakfast included. I stayed by myself and felt totally safe. Would stay there again. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for submittig a review after a year. I am glad that you remeber so many posotive details.
Thank you again and hope to see you on a future trip to Athens.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.