We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free coffee service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI AND WINE !
Ranked #10 of 325 Hotels in Athens
千葉県
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Free coffee service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is in the center of Plaka and it was easy for sightseeing. It is within 10 min. walk from X95 airport bus stop.

Guests can get coffee and cookies in cafeteria at any time till 17:30. I did not need to go to cafe because I went to sightseeing and I came back for coffee break.

I had to leave hotel at 5:00 early morning. The hotel opened cafeteria and I could get coffee and bread as break fast.

I was assigned to the room on 2nd floor from where I could not see Acropolis.
That's understandable because I reserved the hotel through hotel reservation site with very big discount.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property.
As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay.
We hope that if you decide to come we will be able to offer you a room with a view.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    691
    104
    35
    12
See reviews for
350
781
119
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a room with a view of the Acropolis, which was very nice. The room itself was clean and functional, but the bathroom was a little narrow. The folks at the front desk were very helpful and the breakfast was pretty good. We spent only two nights in Athens, primarily visiting the Acropolis and the related museum, so the location worked out great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room with a view.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, booking tours and giving directions. Location is excellent - just a few minutes walk to restaurants, markets and the main shopping strip. Room was standard - clean with nice amenities and a great view of the Acropolis but a little over heated for my liking. Breakfast was nice with a variety of western and greek food in comfortable and pleasant surroundings. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it as a comfy and easy place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your picture from our breakfast was the best we' ve received up to now!
It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at Plaka Hotel from January 4th - 7th 2013. Wow, where do I begin? This hotel was perfect from start to finish. The location is perfect for getting around to all the sights of Athens. I researched the hotel on Trip Advisor before I came and I wondered how there were barely any bad reviews. Well, I was shown at the hotel! The staff are so nice and eager to help their guests in any way possible. It's a small hotel, therefore it is intimate and the staff really get to know you by face. We booked a triple room which included three single beds, in which were more than comfortable. Wonderful pillows and lush bedding was a big plus. I don't think I've ever seen a hotel so clean! It was soo clean and nice and pleasant. I could go on all day saying how much we loved it. The bathroom was nice and modern. The room, as it was a triple was on the smaller side, but definitely functional. Now let's talk about the breakfast. WOW! Amazing amazing yummy yummy breakfast. Delicious REAL orange juice served, along with a coffee machine making all types of fancy hot drinks. A delicious selection of cheeses and vegetables, including absolutely wonderful feta cheese, which is a must when in Greece. Of course, there was good and yummy eggs and sausage as well. I was so impressed with the attention to detail over all especially with the breakfast. Everything that is intended to be hot was very hot, and everything that was intended to be cold was ensured to be cold - Usually on ice. I say this because for a 3* breakfast I found it to be above and beyond excellent. Without a doubt the best breakfast in a hotel I've ever had - And I've stayed in some of the best. There was PLENTY more food than what I've mentioned above as well. A very nice touch is that hot drinks and fruit and cookies were served until about 5 PM every day, complimentary. A very nice touch! I don't know what else to honestly say about this place - I am generally extremely EXTREMELY picky and quite the snob when it comes to hotels - Plaka Hotel exceeded my expectations and I hope to return to Greece soon just so I can return to this gem of a hotel. Thank you to all the staff who work so hard to keep this hotel the amazing place that is it. You are doing an incredible job! Keep it up, because you are more than worthy of your impeccable score here on Trip Advisor! MY TIP: Try the oranges they serve during breakfast and throughout the day! I've been many places in the world - These are the most delicious oranges I've ever tasted in my life!

Room Tip: Ask to get a view of the Acropolis OR A Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you as well for taking the time to submit nice photos. Really hope you will come back one day.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff were all helpful and friendly, the room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and we had a fabulous view of the Acropolis. It's in an ideal location near most of the historical sites and there are loads of shops, bars and restaurants nearby and the metro so it's easy to get around Athens.
The roof terrace has a view of the Acropolis and they don't mind you taking drinks up there when the bar is closed.
The breakfast has a good variety of food. The greek yoghurt with honey is the best!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with the view of the Acropolis. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Comments such as these are a tremendous motivation for us all to continue offering the standards of service to our guests. Thank you.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was here for one week and if I didn't have to leave for my job I was going to try to extend my stay. The location can't be beat whether it's for attractions in the Acropolis or going to bars at night. It's close to Psyrri which in my opinion is an underrated nightlife spot. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms are cleaned daily, and the reception is friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such kind reviews. Our aim is to make our guests’ stay an unforgettable experience and your appreciating comments encourage us to increase our efforts in offering the outmost to our valuable guests.
We look very forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here as a family when passing through Athens each year - we take adjoining rooms so our young daughters get their own bedroom. The location is wonderful. There is a roof terrace with views over Athens, the acropolis is around the corner (and up the hill...). The breakfast is described as "American" - well, it was full of Americans the first time we stayed there, and they were all eating an excellent range of Greek style food - yoghurt to die for with honey is my favourite. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is really great to see repeated clients still be very satisfied.
We thank you for recommending us and for your high score.
Look forward to your next visit.
Happy New Year and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.