We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location: Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ideal Location: Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Four of us stayed for 3 days in December - 2 kids 6 and 4 years old. Got the train from the Airport on the direct line to Monistraki station and had an easy 5 minute walk to the hotel. Tip: don't get return tickets as we did because the trains were on strike on the day of our return and striking is currently a recurring problem in Greece. Hotel arranged taxi to airport for €40 - hassle free.

Warm welcome at reception - very child friendly and were happy with adjoining rooms with complimentary small bottles of wine. Rooms not very large but as we were out exploring most of the time (or sleeping), this did not matter. Bathroom small but shower and amenities fine.

Roof top terrace was open but not the bar (never mind - we took up a drink and savoured the wonderful views).

Great location for wandering around Plaka, Acropolis and Syntagma (Parliament and the National Gardens). All within 10 -15 minute walk and that was with youngsters in tow.

Plenty of restaurants around and although it wasn't a particularly busy time for tourists, we didn't get hassled by waiters to eat in their establishments. Found everyone very friendly both at the hotel and out and about. Would recommend Thanasis for cheap kebabs and quick service and Scholarchio Yerani for excellent value real Greek food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens with your family.
Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel with small children.
Thank you so much for the positive comments about the staff.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    726
    106
    35
    12
See reviews for
364
835
125
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is really great, it is really close to all the places you must see. The terrace has one of the best views of Acropolis. Getting to the hotel is really easy. Taking a bus from the airport to the Syntagma Square (x95) and walking about 5-6 minutes will be enough to get you to the hotel. The breakfast was good. It is a budget and central hotel.

The staff was not that much helpful actually. The room was not that big and not spacious. I stayed in Athens in the same caliber hotels, however this was the worst in room conditions. Also, the window handle was broken and didn't shut exactly. The safe lock was stuck and my stuff was trapped inside. It was supposed to work with my key card, but it didn'T. The shower was broken and each time I took a shower, all of the bathroom was soaked in water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the very central location and breakfast.
In our attempt to improve, we surely value all the feedback (whether is negative or positive).
Kindly accept our most sincere apologies for causing you disappointment and we hope that if you return to Athens you will give us the oportunity to match your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We only had 2days and 1 night in Athens and so with limited time we were well pleased with the position of this hotel! We checked in and hit the tone exploring straight away. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance and we fully enjoyed the time we had. At the end of the night we sat on a sofa in the rooftop bar and enjoyed the magnificent scenery of the Acropolis lit up for the night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was of good value and that you enjoyed the roof terrace view and the very central location!
Best wishes for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went there for 5 days and sadly it was not such a good stay.

Firstly we paid for a Superior Room with a balcony and we said we wanted somewhere quiet but when shown the room it was on the main street and across from there they we doing noisy building work. We sleep with a window open as we are used to this and most hotels also need this as they run the heating way too high.

We then were offered a room down a fllor at the back looking over the Acropolis and this was much quieter but sadly this misfired greatly as we had 5 days of mosquito bites having left the window open to air the room.

They say it very unusual but surprisingly they keep at the front desk, many tablets and a plug in devices to apparently kill the mozies but sadly it did not work for us and ruined the stay.

The staff were super nice people and no complaints there.

The room was FAR TOO HOT and we had to resort to noisy air conditioning in December!

The other real pain, is the one lift in the hotel and really this is a slow device that say 4 people but really can only fit 3 with some luggage and it takes an age if the hotel is busy and for the number of guest its really not enough and lets the hotel down, The alternative is the stairs and sadly the legs and back are not that strong anymore.

Breakfast was average and the scrambled eggs were poor and not light and tasty and the beans were runny in too much juice.

There is a safe in the room and a hairdryer but sadly NO TEA OR COFFEE or KETTLE and this is a MUST these days - regardless of free coffee downstairs in the breakfast area. Most people would like a cuppa in the evening or even first thing in the morning!

Location is good and only 4/5 minutes walk from Monostoraki Station and not a lond walk to Syntagma Square.

What is the best thing is its near the lively area of Plaka near the station and there are great bars and tavernas along there, our favorites were Abysinia and Efxaris Restaurants.

Despite the friendly staff, I Think we will not go back there though - really fed up about the bites and we met several other people that suffered the bites too and that horrid lift.

Also the hotel suffered from being far too hot sadly!

Finally. there is no proper reception area or downstairs bar so it was difficult to meet people there except for 3/4 couches by the reception so we went to their hotel instead!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read that your stay with us was not as expected. Our staff tried their best to satisfy your needs.
Concerning your comments on the heating, if you had mentioned it, we could very easily turn off the individual heating device of your room.
Our hotel can not be held responsible for the unexpected mosquitoes of Athens , this autumn, due to unusual weather conditions. Of course we have devices and tablets as well as many other items that a traveler many need and does not have predicted.
As for the tea and coffee in the room, our hotel offers them for free at the sitting area on the mezzanine. We offer early breakfast all night long, so our clients can have it first thing in the morning or can still enjoy it if departing before 07:00 am.
Our description is very precise and I am sorry if you were expecting facilities of a 4 star Hotel.

Best wishes for Christmas and 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in the Plaka hotel for five nights this December and enjoyed it very much. It' s in the center of everything and very comfortable with a wonderful roofgarden overlooking the Acropolis.
The breakfast room was very pleasant and the food good. Very friendly staff.
I can also recommend a nice cheap restaurant nearby by the name of " Quick pita", well cooked Greek food.

Room Tip: You can always ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments on our property.
As our main goal is to offer to our guests high quality facilities and services, it is great to read that you were satisfied with your stay.
Thank you once more.
Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed there last year in July for one night. Had to book last minute so not a lot of research done. Felt like we hit the jackpot as it was a great hotel, fantastic location, staff were very, very helpful. I made a mistake when booking online and staff were fantastic in fixing my mistake.
Loved the terrace with view and breakfast was awesome. It does not look like something I would normally stay in, just a modern building, but it makes up for it in the easy access to metro, and the surrounding area is lovely. Get lost in the narrow lanes that lead up to the Parthenon, with many ancient sites along the way.

Very good stay and having done a bit more research for the next trip in May I can't find anything better in that price range and location. Look forward to seeing you then

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so glad to read that your stay with us was like a jackpot!
We look forward to seeing you next May. Please contact us before booking in order to offer you a room of your preference.

We wish you all the best for 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location for anyone visiting Athens. Within a couple of minutes walk you can be in the centre of Plaka, Monastaraki Square/Metro Station, Psiri or the Flea Market, even Syntagma Square is only a 5 min walk away. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a wide choice and not usually cleared away untill after 11.00 a.m. ideal for a lazy start to the day. Free coffee and biscuits all day is a nice touch. The room was kept spotlessly clean, and large enough to move around, not cramped at all. Although I was there in mid December it was very warm in the room, in fact I had to open the window a little to cool down. If you go in winter try to find the heating system??
What can I say about the roof terrace, the views from here are spectacular. Probably the best view of the Acropolis in Athens, not only this, you have a 360 degree view of the whole of Athens for many miles..This must be the perfect place to sit and have a drink from Spring to Autumn, however in December it was too cold to sit outside and enjoy the view in the evening when the bar was open. I felt the bar should have been moved down to the breakfast room earlier, as there was nowhere in the hotel to sit and have a drink and a chat when the weather was cold or wet.This was my only niggle during a lovely stay.The lift is a little small but perfectly functional if you are prepared to wait a little as it is the only lift for 7 floors.The WiFi is free for the first hour, then I paid 8 euros for 24 hours of Internet time, I thought this to be very reasonable for a 1 week stay. I will definately stay here again on my next visit to Athens, hopefully soon. There was absolutely no problem from traffic noise. Only 40 metres away is a very special traditional (not touristy) Kafeneon called Kapni Kareas where you can eat real Greek food, listen to real Rembetika songs and live music every afternoon and evening. Special thanks to Tonia and Michalis for all there help.

Room Tip: Tip for smokers, rooms to the back with a view to the Acropolis don't have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and high score!
We wish you all the best for the New Year and hope to see you soon again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.