We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for a better location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Plaka Hotel to your Saves list
Plaka Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #8 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for a better location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Plaka hotel twice on our recent trip to Greece.
The hotel is very central, the rooms are adequate and clean and the bathrooms newly refurbished.
Plaka hotel has the most central location to all the incredible sights that Athens has to offer and only a two minute walk from the Metro which takes your straight to the aiport of port. The hotel also has the most beautiful views of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar.
On our second stay we were given a room that doubles up as an interleding rooms for families - this was very noisy and soundproofing could be improved.
The lift is also very small but this was not a problem for us as we were happy to use the stair.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

Our location is indeed right in the centre of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel.

We are pleased you liked our renovated bathrooms and the view from roof top. We are sorry we were not able to offer a similar room on your second stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you decide to come back in order to assist you the best possible way.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    726
    107
    35
    12
See reviews for
365
836
126
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Athens on several occaisons but this was our first stay at Plaka Hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations.

My husband and I were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary and we were suprised by the bottle of wine and fresh fruit waiting for us in our room. Thank you to Dorina and her staff for that extra touch. .

The location of the hotel is a convenient location for visiting Athens. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was varied and fresh (especially enjoyed the coffee).
We would definitely return and look forward to our next trip to Greece.

Chris & Laurie T
Montreal Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read your comments and thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.
Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable anniversary.

Thank you again.
We all look forward seeing you soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is worth it just for the view of the Acropolis from the roof top terrace. Great place to sit on the comfy lounges to watch the sun set and Acropolis light up.

It however has more to offer; modern clean rooms, and a fantastic location close to the bus and train stations. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments.

It is great to read that you liked the modern and renovated rooms. We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic location, next to direct metro line to the airport and port as well as next to old and modern city with sites, shops and restaurants.

Both submitted pictures are great and thank you for your time to share them on TA.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

You certainly read many good reviwes about this hotel. This is another one but I have a few points. The location is perfect, Plaka is the best place to stay, close to the souvenir streets / greek products shops and amazing amount of restaurants and cafés. You will surely find anything you need within walking distance. The roof garden bar - not spetacular drinks but the view to the Acropolis is fantastic. You don´t need to pay extra for a room with a view to the Acropolis. Just go up to the roof garden and you will have it all - not limited to your window size. The overall impression is that the staff wants to go the extra mile with guests. For example: the lady who checks your room number in breakfast will come to the table and she will give you many tips of what to do, best hours to go, etc etc etc... Rooms are ok, bathroom size is really small but who cares when you are in Athens!?
Let me then tell you the few ´cons´: the elevator is small - for max 4 passengers, this is a renewed old hotel - and there is only ONE elevator. Sometimes it takes long until you manage to step in or carry your bags in them. Wi-fi service is charged per DAY (8 Euros) or HOURLY (2 Euros). This is really a shame nowadays. There is one computer on the 1st floor for free use.
It is worth the price, the location is really excellent. I would surely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Refering to your comment on our elevator, though the hotel was renovated last year, due to static reasons this is can not be changed. All hotels in this area built in the 60' s, under different needs and regulations from today, have similar elevetors for the same reason. I am sorry we can not improve it.

Thank you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Sercice very good.Personal visir by PR lady at breakfast very much appreciated by all at breakfast .
Not normally done at other hotels.Tour organised by Milton Travel and cruise brisbane.
accomodation handy to all services/ food

Hotel has an excellent breakfast menu included in the price.Another Plus
Plus the rooftop view of the Acropolis has to be seen to be beleived and at no extra cost.
The position of the hotel is very handy to everything and you can waly everywhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay with your friends in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us, which will be helpful to future clients.
We certainly hope you will be able to stay with us once more on future visits to Athens.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise. When our taxi pulled up I asked him to double check the location as it looks dodgy, but it was right! The room size was very good, we were in room 411 & had an awesome view of the acropolis from our window. The breakfast was ok, the room was clean, the concierge at breakfast was helpful. The view from the terrace is awesome. A bit disappointed that wifi was only free for an hour. Easy walk to most sightseeing locations. Great restaurants within a stones throw.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your short stay in Athens and for submitting such a nice picture.

We are pleased you liked the Acropolis view room, the customer service from our well trained staff and the very central location.
As for your comment on our wifi, as per most European city hotels, we are offering an hour free and a small subcharge for further use. In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We've been to Athens several times and always stay at The Plaka. You can get the Metro from the airport to Monasteraki station which is about 4 minutes walk away. 14EU for two people compared with 41 for the taxi. Also just 5 minutes walk from Syndagma Square (pom pom guards and riots), and from the Acropolis and Agora.
The hotel is fine for a base whilst seeing the city and or passing through. The restaurant is only for breakfast, but there are tons of good restaurants within a few hundred yards.
Best bit is the 7th floor bar, which is on the roof and has great views of the Acropolis which is illuminated at night.
There are outside and inside view rooms. Best are obviously the outside ones, but to be honest you won't spend much time in the room looking out of the window (sit on the rooof!).

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view, or Acropolis view, BUT they are dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

How nice to see you back to our hotel!
It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed once again the very central location and our splendid view from roof terrace.

As you mentioned we have three types of rooms: standard (overlooking the street), superior ( of bigger size, overlooking the street as well) and Acropolis view.
Please feel free before booking next time to contact me directly in order to assist, and offer you the best possible rate.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos Street | Plaka/Syntagma, Athens 10556, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new museum, as well Ancient Agora, Parliament,First Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National Galery. Two blocks away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street of Ermou and Plaka touristic shops and tavernas.Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.