We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Acropolis Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acropolis Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Acropolis Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Acropolis Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7, Mousson Str | Acropolis/ Filopappou, Athens GR 11 742, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Victoria BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Acropolis Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were 3 ladies travelling to Athens for a couple of days. Enjoyed the Acropolis Hill. The location was good, it was quiet and clean. The breakfast bar was well stocked. We enjoyed that the Hop On, Hop Off had a stop at the end of the street and we had a great view of the Acropolis from the roof top terrace. We would go back.

Room Tip: We booked through Booking.com. Rate was great but we got a room situated on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Denny A,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review which is very important to us. The hotel welcomes guest feedback as it helps us monitor our standards and services and apply actions or solutions to suit our ever changing clientele’s needs.
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not fulfill your expectations and we apologize for this.
Please allow me to assure you that the problem experienced with your reservation was not intentional and we would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    175
    51
    15
    15
See reviews for
82
157
32
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

After just reading recent reviews of this property, it was apparent that the Acropolis Hill Hotel has a propensity to bate and switch hotels. The hotel attempted to switch us as well and logic felt it would be a bad decision to move to the city center, older crowed part of Athens. The view consisted of going out on 2' x 4' balcony over a busy street viewing a hill across the street. The rooms were clean, basic, and bit smaller then a balcony berth on a cruise ship. The desk staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast on a scale of 1 to 10 was a 5.

Room Tip: Demand a refund if they try to bate and switch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Denny A,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review which is very important to us. The hotel welcomes guest feedback as it helps us monitor our standards and services and apply actions or solutions to suit our ever changing clientele’s needs.
We are sorry to hear that your stay did not fulfill your expectations and we apologize for this.
Please allow me to assure you that the problem experienced with your reservation was not intentional and we would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This small hotel has it all. We spent 3 nights here and found that the hotel was in a great Location, at a good price and with great staff. Its in a quiet spot but you get to look out at the Acropolis from the 5th floor balcony! What a spectacular view and its short walk to the Acropolis, restaurants, shopping. Perfect! Its within the budget price range and add to this that the place has been recently renovated makes the Acropolis Hill Hotel a real find.

Room Tip: Ask for a fifth or sixth floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The actual accommodations of Acropolis Hill Hotel is quite beautiful. Their bathrooms were clean and they have a beautiful outdoor patio. These were all reasons why we chose the hotel.

However, the hotel was over booked and on our second and third night we were moved to another hotel. It was not a bad hotel but definitely not as nice as Acropolis Hill Hotel. The bathrooms at this other hotel need a renovation as water spills/leaks onto the floor. The rooms are not as modern and felt like a renovated was needed. It wasn't bad but just not as nice as what we expected as we were hoping to stay in our room at Acropolis Hill Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get moved to other hotels when Acropolis Hill Hotel becomes overbooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Acropolis Hill.
We were disappointed to know that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this caused you and the shortcomings of the hotel we relocated you.
We are very pleased that you found our hotel beautiful and that you enjoyed your stay with us, however brief.

We hope this incident will not deter you from returning to stay with us again in the near future.
We wish to apologize again and extend a big welcome back to you.

Kind Regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for here for 2 nights recently. We had a taxi drop us off at the hotel when we arrived in Athens. Glad we did as we were exhausted from other travels, and searching for this hotel at night, on hilly streets would have been unwelcome. Our room had a view of the city which we were a little disappointed about considering we asked for a view of the Acropolis. There is a nice terrace on level 5 where you can sit and enjoy a view of the Acropolis. Location is good - a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Acropolis entrance. Wifi is free but very unreliable. Rooms are clean and modern looking. Breakfast was ok. Definitely not bad, but might look elsewhere if ever in Athens again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Thaimex81,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the view from our rooftop terrace.
Concerning your request for a room with an Acropolis view, please accept our apologies for the disappointment this might have caused you. Whilst we try to satisfy all our guest’s requests, I am sorry that we were not able to do so on this occasion.
Thank you for bringing our attention to the WiFi issue, which we are looking into.
We hope to welcome you back again when you next visit Athens.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesilla nm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel does not honor reservations. We arrived exhausted from 24 hours of traveling to find that we (and the couple we were traveling with) had been bumped by a student group. Since our reservations had been made several months in advance, it would have been possible to notify us of the problem beforehand. They provided an alternate hotel, which I would not have chosen. Our room fronted on a very busy street full of tour buses day and night.

Hard for me to believe that this hotel is managed by Greeks - who have always been the most hospitable hosts in our travels.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear nmsenora,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are saddened that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
The group of students who arrived, as you mentioned, on the same day as your party, was much larger than their booking and the group could not be split up due to student/staff ratio, for supervision purposes. Unfortunately, we were not able to inform you beforehand as we were not aware of the increased size of the group of students until their arrival.

The hotel we relocated you to in the area, is of higher standard and we would have expected your stay there to have been comfortable. We are very sorry this was not the case and we wish to extend a big welcome back to you to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence in Greek hospitality, when you are next in Athens.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My girlfriends and I went to Greece for a 10-day trip and Athens was our first stop. We chose the Acropolis Hill Hotel for its modern amenities and proximity to all the sightseeing. The lobby was very nicely decorated but the staff was super unpleasant and very cold. They weren't helpful with our bags and their tiny little elevator made it difficult to get a medium sized bag (or larger) to the rooms. They did not offer to help with bags either. We were bummed to learn that we requested rooms on the higher flower with a view, but didn't get them "because there was a glitch with their system." Yeah right. It seemed like the guy really just didn't care. The rooms were modern, but super, super, super tiny and ours wasn't cleaned. We oped the door to find trash in the can and an unmade bed. Not a great first impression. The pool area seems nice and peaceful, although it doesn't seem to get much sun. The complimentary breakfast was nice, but the real treat is their rooftop terrace. The panoramic views of Athens are gorgeous from up there. So gorgeous that it almost makes up for the crappy service. Also, the place was super quiet in May/2013 when we went. If you're loud or traveling with friends/kids/big group, you may feel like you're disturbing everyone. You could hear a pin drop after 9pm. Could also have just been because it wasn't yet high season.

Room Tip: Don't miss breakfast on the rooftop terrace -- it's STUNNING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ManWifeDog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Acropolis Hill.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the breathtaking view from the rooftop terrace! However, we were particularly concerned to read your comments with regards to our staff, since we usually receive positive feedback. We apologize sincerely for the service deficiencies you experienced and any inconvenience caused.

I would like to apologize once again for the disappointments you encountered during your stay and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in us.

Kind regards,
Acropolis Hill Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Address: 7, Mousson Str | Acropolis/ Filopappou, Athens GR 11 742, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel, opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the Center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acropolis Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.