We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect little restaurant after a day of site seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Avissinia

Cafe Avissinia
7 Kinetou St. | Monastiraki, Athens 105 55, Greece
+30 21 0321 7047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 207 Reviews
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“perfect little restaurant after a day of site seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a great little cafe that has authentic Greek food. Great selection for vegetarians as well. I'd recommend the baked aubergine and the greek salad is, of course, very good. A good view of the city can be seen from the rooftop, where you can eat in the summertime. The owner of the restaurant, who wrote all the recipes, can be seen here oftentimes. Ask her for her recommendations for your meal! We ate here twice in the span of a couple days, so we would highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    73
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoy the real thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just off the tourist strip restaurants of Adrianou Street but a world away from the mixed dining results that they have to offer. We had lunch here on a Sunday and sat outside almost amongst the hordes of Athenians enjoying the morning market in the square that this restaurant sits on (between Ermou and Adrianou). It was recommended to us by a Greek friend and it would be easy to miss unless you took a turn off the main streets that sit either side of the bric-a-brac stores you find in this part of town, just down from Monastiraki Square. Food was authentic, fresh and varied; great choices to suit all appetites and although I don't normally eat dessert, the Cyprian Mahallebi was the best thing I've tasted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“What a great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had such a great time one Saturday with lots of people and Music.

We ate a dish which was lamb with Bulgar wheat which was tasty. We asked the Manager how it was cooked and he remarkably brought us the recipe!

We went back another day and had the same again and we also bought the recipe book too.

The staff there were lovely and very helpful.

Rather quaint inside and near the market and boy it gets busy so a booking is worthwhile!

Will definitely go back there again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Recomended to everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This meze restaurant is so original with excellent Greek food. The atmosphere is wonderful with live music. If you have lunch outside you can enjoy the busy market especially on Sundays.
I have visited many times and will go back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had an early dinner on the rooftop level, fantastic view of the acropolis. Service and food was good. Live Greek music downstairs, everyone seemed to be enjoying it. However, we did pick the right level to eat on, because we are non -smokers, and downstairs people were smoking inside (although this was supposed to be illegal in Greece) which would have spoiled our food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Avissinia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Avissinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Avissinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.