We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Konstantinos and PK Travel are Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Taxi - Tours

Greek Taxi - Tours
Aetionos 15-17, Athens 11636, Greece (Syntagma)
+30 697 203 0853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Transportation in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer high quality Taxi-Van and Taxi services. Shore excursions, Private Tours, Transfers. Our tours are especially ideal for cruise passengers visiting Athens.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Konstantinos and PK Travel are Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Upon recommendation from a friend who used PK Travel in the past, I contacted them with regard to two days of tours of Athens and possibilities throughout Greece. Ultimately, we found that PK Travel is a very excellent family run business and would highly recommend them.

As we planned our Greece trip, our main contact was Potoula, who was extremely professional, knowledgeable and managed to answer all of my detailed questions each time I asked. She helped us put arrange a customized and flexible itinerary that was somewhat abnormal, particularly given our 3:45 AM flight arrival in Athens. Because we desired to begin our experience of Greece immediately, Potoula scheduled a pick up at the Athens airport at 4:45 AM. Our driver (Konstantinos) was arranged in accordance with our requests, based on the recommendation of a friend.

Our driver, Konstantinos, was superb. We could not have asked for anyone better. His English was excellent and his Mercedes taxi was in great, clean condition (with a video player for highlights of the sites we were visiting). He was clearly passionate about the country of Greece and all of its history and wonderful qualities, and was a wealth of knowledge about everywhere we went. He had a wonderful sense of humor and we enjoyed spending time with him. He was flexible in our requests, realizing our jet-lag challenges from arriving at 3:45 AM from London.

Our first day began with a trip to Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon, to watch the sunset over the Aegean Sea, an incredible beginning to our visit in Greece. Afterwards, he took us to a local bakery that was wonderful, with many local delicacies. We picked our breakfast and coffee (which he bought for us) and took it to eat next to Lake Vouliagmeni, a great spot. We then proceeded to Athens to tour many of the famous sites, such as the Arcropolis, Temple of Olympian Zeus, Hadrian's arch, Constitution Square, Olympic stadium, changing of the guard at Parliament, drove through the Plaka, etc. He also recommended a great restaurant for dinner for the evening. He was very knowledgeable, knew the shortcuts around the city, and found the most efficient ways to get to the sites, sometimes walking us through to the right people to allow us entrance. After allowing us to tour the sites, he was always waiting with an air conditioned vehicle and fresh cold water!

The next day he scheduled a pick up for us at the Acropolis at 9:30 AM (our hotel was right near there), and he was very prompt, with cold water waiting for us. We began a great day of touring the countryside, beginning with a view of the Corinth Canal, and refreshments nearby (Konstantinos bought fresh sultanas to snack on for us, similar to raisins), then onto the archaeological site of Ancient Corinth, and up near the Corinth Arcopolis, treating us to more locally purchased fruit afterward. We then went to Nemea ot visit a local winery (Palivos), where we were the only ones visiting, with a private tasting on their beautiful patio. While we tasted wine, Konstantinos went to a local shop and purchased fresh bread and cheese for us to snack on with the wine tasting. We enjoyed the wine and company of Konstantinos and the winery hostess so much, buying full glasses of wine, and then purchasing 6 bottles to take with us! Next we went on to Mycenae, an historic archaeological site with a history back to 2,000 BC. Finally, we were then taken to Nafplio, an historic coastal town on the Argolic Gulf, very similar to the Caribbean Sea. After driving through the town, we enjoyed a great lunch at an outdoor cafe on the sea.

We are grateful for all of the help of Potoula and the expertise of Konstantinos. Separately, because of our great experience, all of our transfers to the airport (three others) were scheduled with PK Travel (for which Konstantinos, and one of our other drivers, Dimitri, helped arrange).

You can really rely on PK Travel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    13
    1
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience with PK Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had booked a tour with PK after our ship docked in Athens and then a transfer to the airport. Unfortunately we couldn't tender into Mykonos so our ship arrived a day early in Athens. We contacted PK that morning to try to move our tour up a day since we were hoping to get earlier flights home.

Paul responded immediately and scheduled a tour for us with Jimmy (Dimetrious is his real name). He was absolutely wonderful - although he is a driver - not a guide - his knowledge of Greece and its history was amazing. Also, he is extremely pleasant - speaks great English. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with him.

The next morning at 6AM Paul picked us up at port for transfer to airport in van that was in great condition. He was also extremely pleasant.

I would highly recommend PK to anyone going to Greece.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A memorable trip in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A lot of people recommend PK Travel to us. We booked an excursion with PK Travel in Athens on November 12, 2012 when I was cruising with Celebrity Equinox last year. We started to contact PK Travel (Potoula) in August 2012 and she was very helpful to put our sightseeing wish list into our one day travel in Athens. She even advised us to start an early day @ 8 am so that we did hit the rush hour. Her immediate response to all my emails had impressed me a lot. Some travel agents will not respond to you immediate but to wait for a few days. By then you may want to switch to somebody else.

We were group of 10 persons, Potoula gave us a minivan for 12 at the cost of 350 euros and allowed us to take up 2 more persons at the same costs. These two persons just needed a ride to Acropolis and Dimitri did not charge us extra. This costs included everything but tips extra. Which we were more than happy to tip our driver Dimitri.

Dimitri was a wonderful driver and gave us a lot of background information on our way to Acropolis. He knows the city very well and speaks fluent English. The minivan is very comfortable and has air- condition. Dimitri drove us closiest to Acropolis and waited for us to come down after our tour. Then he brought us to the other sites and waited for us while we enjoyed our picture taking. During lunch he dropped us close to the Agora that we can have lunch at the Plaka area. Believe it or not, our lunch was only less than 4 euros with gyros and drinks. Very cheap. Finally, he brought us to the dock safely on time and we missed our driver Dimitri very much.

Many thanks to Potoula and Dimitri. All the best to the business and we will recommend you to our friends for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Reliable company and great guide and driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked a full day excursion with PK travel on our recent 11 night Mediterranean cruise. Our excursion was with 3 other couples from our sailing. All my e-mail correspondence was very smooth with Patoula in organizing the excursion well in advance of our trip. She was always very prompt answering questions . Our driver George was a very good driver, and the guide (Gregory) was fabulous. He was very accomodating to adapting the itinary to the groups wishes, very knowledgable re: all the historic sites, great sense of humour and took us to a nice restaurant in the Plaka for lunch. He ensured he got us to the Acropolis right before it opened in the morning to avoid the massive line ups later ( Great plan!) and this also avoided being there in the intense heat later . It is very hot in Athens in the summer , so in hindsight we may have booked 1/2 day tour. We chose to spend more time in the Acropolis museum and eliminated some of outdoor sites. It was very interesting museum and should not be missed . Would highly recommend P.K. Travel .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I did not think I would ever have "delight" and "Athens taxi driver" in one sentence. We arrived at the port of Athens after a cruise. I had googled "Athens taxi" and there were lots of horror stories so i first asked the Seabourn staff about the cost of a taxi (around 60 euros) then spoke to people who had done the journey before, so we were prepared. When we came outside of the terminal there were lots of taxis and drivers standing chatting. I did feel a little intimidated and i have travelled for 40 years. We asked our allotted driver how much the journey would be and he said that it would be 45 - 50 euros approx, depending on the traffic. He then explained his philosophy that if all Athens taxi drivers could see the folly of ripping off passengers, then maybe Greece would have more tourists, instead of telling all their friends that they wouldn't go back to Greece. This young man was like a breath of fresh air! We had spent a week in Greece with a lot of very bad service and expensive wine, so we were so in agreement with him and he obviously had a passion for his country. Our taxi ride was Eu 46 but it was worth double. This young man is called Stamatis Tsenes and his tel no is +30 6947 330 268 or +30 6983 803 665. Book him for your trip and I promise you will feel safe and you will meet someone that will do your heart good. He does not know that i have written this, and as a traveler of many years, I can count on one hand the times I have made such a personal review. This man was a pleasure to meet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greek Taxi - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Taxi - Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.