We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Kafeneio

To Kafeneio
1, Epicharmou Street, Athens 10558, Greece (Plaka)
+30.210.3246916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 2,262 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Plaka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Be sure to get the special meatballs - they are delicious! A no frills place that clearly puts the focus on the food and delivers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    123
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed after reading the rave reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Many thanks to the poster who gave very helpful directions for finding this restaurant. However, sadly it didn't really live up to the wonderful reviews it had been given.

Maybe we went on a bad night, but whilst the service was initially attentive and the food came quickly, once we had finished our main meal we were abandoned to the point where we finally put our money in the pot provided and left. Had our plates been cleared away we definitely would have lingered longer and had a desert and coffee.

I think I was also influenced by the fact that although we were indoors it was actually quite cold, and there weren't sufficient diners to warm up the atmosphere. As there were people sitting outside the door was constantly being left open while they were served.

The food: It tasted good and home-made and there was an interesting and sufficient choice. The much-recommended meat balls were OK, but a rather too dry for my liking. Overall we felt it was much better dining than might be available in some of the touristy places that we passed.

Wine: The wine we had was very nice, but we would have liked to have tried more of the different wines available, but for some reason they don't serve by the glass, therefore if there are only 2 of you your choices are limited. We had a 1/4 litre carafe of white, but the red only came in 1/2 litres. We would have very much liked to have been able to try different reds as they sounded very nice and I'd encourage the restaurant if they read this to consider making their wines available by the glass!

Overall I've given a Very Good, but I feel it should really be 'Above Average'.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location, food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful restaurant! Previously we've been there only in summer: nice outside location in a quiet alley. This time it was spring and we visited (twice!) at night - inside it is cosy, only about a dozen tables and a log fire burning, surprisingly welcome even at the end of March.

The menu is mostly meze-type dishes and everything we tried was good so I won't bother trying to recommend specific dishes.

They also have a very good selection of wines on tap at very reasonable prices - typically €4,50 per half litre!

This will be a regular stop on all our future visits to Athens.

It can be a bit tricky to find as the street it's on isn't named on most of the printed tourist maps, though it is on Google maps. From Adrianou (the"main drag" of Plaka) the easiest way is to turn uphill along Flessa at the point where Adrianou becomes pedestrian only. Then take the first left on Scholiou - an alleyway rather than a road - and first right on Epicharmou. The restaurant is at the top of the steps on the left.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food in a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

small restaurant in Plaka, the most touristic area of Athens, but quite outside from the standard paths. Nice location with an outside in a small pedestrian street. Good traditional food and service. cheaper than the average restaurant in plaka and better food. High ratio quality/price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we ate here twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely old building with great ambiance. Food was delicious. We ate there on two separate evenings and got to sample the entire menu. Loved everything we tried. The wine was good and the beer selection nice. If looking for a quite intimate place away from the craziness of the Plaka it was lovely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Kafeneio also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to To Kafeneio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Kafeneio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.