We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Round the Acropolis by Segway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Segway Tours

Athens Segway Tours
9 Aischinou & Frinihou Street, Athens 10558, Greece
302103222500
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #28 of 154 activities in Athens
Type: Segway Tours
Attraction Details
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Round the Acropolis by Segway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Segway tour prior to our arrival in Athens . As luck would have it as we surfaced from the metro we instantly found one of the Segway team who led us to their office and our checkin. After a great demo and practice briefing from Krisi which had us feeling at ease and comfortable with our Segway . Despite some apprehensions it really was easier than we thought and was great fun . Our guide Nick took us off on our Tour . He was confident and informative as needed . It was a little scripted and Nick needed encouragement to be more forthcoming with information. Frequently info and photo stops took us around the Acropolis and Agora . We rode through the flee market with ease and confidence and we appreciated the unscheduled water stop in the midday heat . We enjoyed then trip and would have no hesitation in recommending the tour for those wanting a different way of getting to see the sights around the Acropolis rather than the actual Acropolis and Parthenon itself.
One footnote we spent the afternoon around the Acropolis and its museum and got tired of bring stalked by Marco who wanted to hand out his flyers for the tour and obviously didn't recognise us after we told him we had just done the tour !!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    8
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Athens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Today we did the Classic Tour with Athens Segway Tours and we absolutely loved it! We were a little late for our 11.30 reservation and called to explain. The way we were welcomed was very nice. Kostas told us not to worry and offered to pick us up from the metrostation. After a relaxed introductory training session, we ( a family of 5 with 3 teenagers) were pleasantly surprised how easy and quickly you get the hang of riding the Segway. It was really cool to go everywhere in the incredible heat. The idea of walking the amount of distance we covered ( a lot of which was uphill) in this heat still freaks me out. We went places we surely wouldn't have seen if we hadn't taken this tour. Later this afternoon we are going to see the real highlights by foot.
Natasha was a very nice and capable guide, she did a great job. In the end we were allowed a little playtime on the Segways in the park to race and experiment a little. Even if it is 59 euro's it is absolutely worth every cent. Because you can go through small alleys in the center you see much more than from a roof of a touristbus. And the way you move is ultimately cooler too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unreliable Staff With Little Integrity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We called up in the morning to make a reservation for a 4 pm tour and had been assured that we were all set. My two kids (13, 11) were really looking forward to it. We even planned our entire day around this and showed up 15 minutes early for 'training' as requested since we had never done Segway before.

We could not believe it when the guy told us there were 'no more Segways' for our scheduled tour at 4 pm, and would have to wait until 5 pm. When pressed for an explanation, he said in a patronizing way, 'All the Segways are out - what do you want me to do?' Then he nonchalantly suggested we have some gelato while sitting around for the next 1.5 hours.

It turns out his staff had been selling Segway tours on the streets...and we got bumped off our reservations when customers signed up on the spot. It was our last day in Athens, so we had to start heading back to our hotel early so my kids were really bummed. Ultimately, I refuse to give money to businesses which eagerly take in walk-in customers, without any regard for and at the expense of those who had made reservations.

We found another Segway in our next stop, Chania, which takes place alongside the gorgeous sea and around the pretty old city and port. The staff there were lovely and went out of their way to accommodate us after I explained what happened in Athens. So in retrospect we were so glad we did it in Chania than Athens!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chris gave us a wonderful tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had the most amazing tour of Athens. We took the combo tour and we asked that the company arrange a pick Up for us at the cruise port. They did a wonderful job getting us to and from the ship. They also gave us an in depth and exciting tour of an amazing city. My husband and I had the time of our life. We highly recommend Chris as a tour guide.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Fun! A must do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Segway really is the best way to see a city. After doing it in Prague we stumbled across the tour office which was around the corner from the Ava hotel where we stayed.

Our guide was a great guy and a good laugh.

We saw all the major attractions and got some good tips were to go. The souvlaki place he recommended was amazing. I wish I could eat there again right now!

We did a combined tour which ran for about 3 hours. We had time for a bit of a blast around a car park for a while at the end which was good fun.

Using segways is so easy and feels like a part of your body. You will miss it once you get off.

We had a great time, thanks again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens Segway Tours also viewed

 

Been to Athens Segway Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Segway Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Athens Segway Tours to your Saves list