We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vyzantino Taverna

Vyzantino Taverna
18 Kydatheneon Street | Plaka, Athens, Greece
+30103227368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #513 of 2,049 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: =
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the worst restaurant during our stay in Athens. Food was OK, but staff should improve customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly taverna in the right location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were invited to see their kitchen to see what's available (which we thought was funny). We were persuaded by one of the staff (Theodore) to give the restaurant a go - and he was ever so grateful when we said yes. The price was very good for the portion served. And while there was nothing special about the dishes we ordered, they were perfectly alright. We got an offer to have dessert on the house on our next visit (which we probably won't take up because there are so many different restaurants in the area to try).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good perks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Food tasted same as others in the area, however we were given free wine, and free mega proof shots by the owner. Overall not a bad place I ordered the veal, and my wife the swordfish. Both were good for the price. Spent about 30 euros for a pretty good time and evening. If you are in the Plaka area, I would recommend for a dinner. Make sure to try and play hard to get, as they try to corral you in there, the more you say no, the more they give you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
611 reviews 611 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
510 helpful votes 510 helpful votes
“A sidewalk cafe in April”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Six of us enjoyed a meal in the sidewalk cafe, Promised smoke free, we sat at a table next to a smoker and the fumes wafted past our table, interfering with our pleasure. The waiter offered a multi course meal for six and we negotiated the contents. It was OK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went to this restaurant on our trip to Athens last month. Though we were warned that most of the restaurants in Plaka were touristy, we fell prey to the Owner's sales pitch. He told us that the restaurant was given rave reviews and top rating and even showed us a printed review. We also noticed that the place was almost full, which we thought was a good indicator. So we went there for the dinner the next night, but only 3 tables were full. We still didn't think much about that but later realized that it was probably a tourist group that had come in.

On the positive side- great location, very friendly staff, ambiance is nice. But the food was dreadful.We ordered the seafood platter. The squid was rubbery, the entire platter was cold and I'm sure the fish was fried at least a day before. Its a touristy place,and the prices are not 'cheap'. And to top it all, when the bill came, they had overcharged us; but thankfully we noticed before we paid. Altogether a disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vyzantino Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Vyzantino Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vyzantino Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.