We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything very good except the artistic program” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geros Tou Moria

Geros Tou Moria
27 Mnisikleous Street, Athens 10556, Greece
210-3221753
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #460 of 2,088 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Everything very good except the artistic program”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Went as part of a tour. Very attractive taverna in the Plaka. Good food and lots of it. Very good service. Everything was fine but unfortunately, the artistic program was a letdown. All the old standards of Greek music, played without much enthusiasm on a poor sound system. For the most part the folk dancers appeared bored as well. Seems like they were trying too much to please tourists.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Visited this delightful restaurant bar during a Taste of Athens tour arranged via our cruise company.

We were mostly a little weary and perhaps a bit overwhelmed with the amazing sights we'd been so privileged to see and have explained, and had walked from a viewpoint at The Pathenon, so by the time we reached this place we were just glad of a sit down to some extent.

However, from the moment we walked we were greeted so warmly, given comfortable seats in the light and airy restaurant, and then the wonderful food arrived. I made the fatal mistake of thinking the food we were presented with was our lunch - it was totally delicious and so interesting and I ate the lot with relish! Some I knew already but many were quite new to me but they were all just superb. But no, then along came the main course of a lamb dish with vegetables and a light icecream dessert - afraid I couldn't eat any more (apart from having a taste to try of course), but the other half did. The food was totally lovely I have to say. Added to which we were given a chance to try ouzo, a very pleasant white (Greek?) wine and Greek brandy (Metaxa) - all of which went down very well. (Should add that still water in sealed bottles was also provided.)

And to add to the fun there was a wonderful couple who came along to show us Greek dancing and got us up to dance which was such fun - and we so enjoyed their performance and enthusiasm. (Perhaps helped by the generous helping of ouzo and wine and brandy!?!)

If we are able to return to Athens we will most definitely return to visit this charming place, but I will be more aware of the foods and courses this time!

Regret as this was part of a tour I can't answer about costs, types of foods, reservations etc - but believe it to be very reasonable in view of the cost which included the rest of the tour also.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favourite Athens Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stumbled across this taverna and, had such a good time, we returned twice more in our 5 day visitto Athens. The food is great, very reasonably priced and the service by Stephanos and Alexandra excellent. The sardines and grilled squid were especially delicious. The views over Athens are superb and when we sat outside, the patio heaters kept us warm. There is a good variety of wine at different prices. Don't come here if you expect haute cuisine. Do come here if you want great food at a great price with great service. oh ... and its fun. :)

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Another great meal with top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This our 'usual' taverna when in Athens, and have eaten here many times over the years. Stephanos is 'our waiter' and he always recognises us and takes our orders quickly. No change from previous times on this visit. We were almost immediately served with two cold draught Mythos beers while we perused the menu. Selected a Greek salad, sea bream and vegies with house white wine to drink. The food arrived with perfect timing and was delicious. Owners and staff of this taverna mingle with the crowds of patrons (usually VERY busy, with overflow onto the steps up the hill) and seem to keep track of all drink and meal orders very well.
While the 'inside' area can be full of tourists, it doesn't detract from many Greeks also eating here, but usually outside. From the rooftop eating area, one has views to a floodlit Acropolis.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

What could be better than having dinner with a view of the floodlit Parthenon in the distance? For our main course we ordered a dish of sardines and another of sea bream and we shared the two. They were both delicious together with the steam cooked vegetables as a garnish. The dry white Ketikos wine was perfect. We were given a complementary desert of cut, fresh fruit and melon to complete a tasty meal. We sat on the roof, which to our mind was better than being inside, although there they had live music.

The restaurant is located at the corner of Thrasivoulou and Mnisikleous streets in the Plaka district of Athens and can only be reached on foot. We ate there twice, so it can't have been bad! I understand that meat dishes are their speciality.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geros Tou Moria also viewed

 

Been to Geros Tou Moria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geros Tou Moria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.