We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Vouliagmeni

Lake Vouliagmeni
Vouliagmeni, Attica, Athens 16671, Greece
210 8962237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 178 Attractions in Athens
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wallow in hot springs or enjoy a therapeutic volcanic bath in this large lake.
Montgomery, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to lake vouliagmeni our last day in Athens, the entrance fee is 8 euros which I think is reasonable-however it is 5 euros to rent a towel, which is ridiculous. Many locals there bring towels from home. The water was cold, but you adjust within about 2 minutes, and even in january there were a few people swimming (including me) :). Their are small fish swimming along side you and nibbling at your feet, which I didn't expect! There is a small dining area, a changing area, and hot showers. Definitely worth visiting!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    80
    18
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Clarification on getting to this nice chill out place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having 5 days to kill in Athens and having walked for many hours over 2 days, I decided my feet needed a rest and I was happy to chance upon this day trip as I had previously thought about going to Aegina but found the timing and price not too agreeable compared to this alternative (8 Euros entry and effectively just 2.8 Euros to get there and back using the integrated metro and bus system).

Firstly, quite a few mentioned about the price and obviously some felt it was worth it and others pricey. Well, if you are just going to see the place without enjoying a swim and/or the fish spa, the. 8 Euros is certainly a waste of money. You might as well just walk a little bit up the little mountain beside the car park that is just outside Lake Vouliagmeni as that gives you a beautiful view of the place (and thus a good spot for photo enthusiasts as well)! However, I consider it good value as I swam in there (the temperature is maintained at 22 degrees Celsius so it is not too bad even in winter season) in spring waters which beats the chlorine filled water of a swimming pool any day and furthermore I had unlimited usage of the fish spa which was cool and fun for a first timer like me. Fish spa is not cheap at all (and most packages are 30 minutes max) so I consider the entry fee as a bargain!

Also, it seems that there is a happy hour from 12-3pm for food items such as club sandwich for 6 Euros so I'm not too sure how pricey you find it but you can always plan your trip to avoid eating there obviously!

Secondly, I read quite a lot of reviews including those a bit back up to June so I was a little confused as to whether I can take the E22 directly from Syntagma Square and the costs involved. The E22 does NOT go past Syntagma Square any more because the metro line has been extended to Elliniko and thus what Sesame_lobster posted on 3 Dec is the way to do it via public transport. Basically just take the metro to Elliniko and once you get out of the station you will see the bus stop. The bus schedule can be found here: http://www.oasa.gr/xmap.php?id=pe22

Elliniko station is the second one and Lake Vouliagmeni is the sixteenth one (ΛΙΜΝΗ). The time taken is about 20-25 minutes and it would be good to show the bus driver your location or if not just make sure you keep an eye on the bus stops that has passed and also look out for the entrance on your left (Sesame_lobster's pictures are useful). You actually do not need to buy another ticket because it is part of the integrated system (I thought the express bus E22 needed special ticket but that's only if you go to the further stops nearing Saronida I think), which means it is just a cheap 2.8 Euro in total to go from main part of Athens to Lake Vouliagmeni and back! By the way, I suggest you buy another integrated ticket at Elliniko for the return trip because I didn't see any kiosks to buy tickets near the lake.

Hope this helps you to decide whether to go and how to get there! Happy New Year!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overrated pricey attraction ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The lake is nice yet is smaller than expected and not as naturally looking as first thought. The edges are docked with chairs and umbrellas and no true beach area.

The food is good and overpriced for Greece. Small dining area with good English speaking service. Also English menus available on request.

We didn't swim yet others did and there is an entrance few that seems high for what the place is.

For transportation the E22 bus takes you there yet be careful as it runs almost every hour and they do not announce stops.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LIMNI TIS VULIAGMNENIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

People say that many divers have disappeared after diving there and no one ever found them, so to be honest I ve never swam there, but worth going there in the afternoon, when the sunset comes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“get place to stop by en route to Sounio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Read tripadviser reviews on Vouliagmeni lake and decided to pick this place en route to Temple of Poseidon in Sounio.

We traveled from central of Athens to Elliniko metro station and caught local bus E22 to a bus stop opposite the turning to the entrance of Vouliagmeni lake (journey took 20-25 mins)

There is also an 'orange coach' service from outside Hotel Amailias which gets you to the same bus stop, which runs on an hourly bases.

Entrance fee is 8 Euro, AthensGuide booklet (available in most hotels) will get you a 2 Euro discount. Great scenic place with calm, peaceful, clear water. We didn't swim but we saw several locals enjoying an afternoon swim in the lake. There are

There is a cafe onsite, sightly pricey but not too bad considering this place is more like a club house site.

If you want to visit Temple of Poseidon in Sounio after, you can catch the 'orange coach' from the same bus stop (cost 4.20 Euro one way). the coach journey will take around 1 hour and it is a beautiful coastal scenic views throughout (try and get a seat on the right side of the coach for better views).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Vouliagmeni also viewed

 

Been to Lake Vouliagmeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Vouliagmeni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.