We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MANOS is the BEST! Best Tour, ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens By Bike

Athens By Bike
Tziraion 16 | Makrigianni, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)
+30 21 0675 2886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 173 Tours & Activities in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The fastest easiest and safest way to navigate many places in Athens that you can't in any other way. You can either choose one of our escorted rides or just rent a bicycle and explore our amazing city on your own.Athens is transforming into a bike friendly city. In the center of the city around the Akropolis a huge archaeological park has been built with many paths and pedestrian streets. With a bike, you can relax, enjoy and explore the backstreets of Athens. Using a bike you'll able to reach locations that you can't in other ways and time consuming if you do it on foot. Many more interesting sights can be visited, giving you more time to admire and take pictures of important ancient monuments that are found around Akropolis.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MANOS is the BEST! Best Tour, ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We did the AMAP tour (approx. 2-3hours), and Manos was able to accommodate a time AND date change since our cruise ship had to change port dates due to the strikes in Athens. He was very courteous, professional and most importantly, knowledgeable about the tour sites and history of Athens. Not a difficult bike ride, very scenic and enjoyable. Many of the tour sites are unavailable by car and too far in length to do by walking. We were able to learn a lot about Athens in a short amount of time spent with Manos. He was very friendly and personable as if he was showing his friends in town the history of his city. He even recommended a delicious lunch spot serving Souvlakkis and Gyros. Thank you so much Manos for a wonderful tour experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great tour with brilliant guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed out 3 hour bike tour of Athens with Manos. It was the best way to see the sights of Athens and get a feel for the city at the beginning of our trip. We were able to access many places that would be impossible to get to by vehicle and the distance we covered would have taken hours by foot. Manos was knowledgeable and passionate about the history of his city and we learnt a lot as a result. The cycling was easy and the only gradients we had were gradual as we approach the summits of a few hills adjacent to the Acropolis - well worth the views and archeological sights though! We would highly recommend a guided tour of Athens with this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First bike ride with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Service was professional, fun, educational & filled with culture. If you've never thought of a bike ride, then try something new and exciting...Whether your with friends or the family...I promise.....You will enjoy it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Bayern, Germany
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Manos was an outstanding guide and this was an excellent way to see the city. I traveled in a group of seven for 3 1/2 days. We did the AMAP (as much as possible) tour and I highly recommend it. Just make sure you email Manos ahead of time. We walked to the store, but discovered it was only open by appointment. You can call or email to set up a date and time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleaford
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a wonderful few hours exploring Athens by bike, when we visited Athens as part of our P and O cruise. We docked at Piraeus, which is just a walk and a tube ride from the centre of Athens. Manos sent us details of how to find his store and arranged for us to have suitable bikes for our ride around some of the best sites. The trip lasted only a few hours was reasonably priced, was not too challenging and was wonderfully informative. Manos is a great guide, was entertaining and informative..............he even left us to explore the Acropolis and then came back to bring us some water as it was pretty hot even in November. Great Service and a wonderful way to hear about Athens from an Athenian.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athens By Bike also viewed

 

Been to Athens By Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens By Bike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.