We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room, service and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Diamond Homtel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Diamond Homtel to your Saves list
Athens Diamond Homtel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Voulis and Mitropoleos | Plaka area, Athens 10563, Greece (Syntagma)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic room, service and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived in Athens later than we had expected (it was around 10 p.m.), and were tired and hungry. Once we walked into the lobby of the Athens Diamond, we were immediately relieved. It was a clean, posh and inviting entrance with a little dash of glamour and exactly what we needed to wake us right up! Margherita greeted us with all the warmth we could've hoped for upon our first night in Athens, and the service from all the hotel staff during our week-long stay was right in line with that first encounter. Since the restaurant was closed at that time, she ordered some yummy souvlaki, tzaziki and french fries for us, and it was delivered shortly after our arrival. And our room = fantastic! A truly lovely remodeling job with all the amenities and touches of modern chic decor, a ridiculously comfortable bed and a cozy balcony where we would go on to enjoy our tea in the afternoons and a glass of vino at night. The breakfast (included in your stay) was a continental buffet, with delicious selections of familiar dishes and traditional Greek fare. The only downside we found was that the shower was rather small (my boyfriend had to open the glass door in order to be able to move around comfortably). Still, it was such a great stay - the location is UNREAL; walking distance to shopping, restaurants, you name it - that this hotel truly deserves the five star rating. We absolutely loved our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    151
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
41
232
34
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The team at this hotel has tried to give it a modern designer look and they have general succeeded, nice rooms, comfortable beds, and a quick walk to parliament, shopping or the Acropolis (15-20min) makes it a good spot for a few days in Athens. Wifi strong. Good aircon. And quiet, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our last night in Greece. We were booked into the Magna Grecia Hotel, but they had a leak and they secured us a room at the Athens Diamond. The room was very striking and very spacious. The bathroom was large with a great shower. The bed was very comfortable. We had a nice balcony overlooking the street. The hotel is very central - just a short walk up the road to the Syntagma Metro station. Breakfast was served upstairs and it was good. The breakfast room was a little bit warm. It would have been nice if they had a few more of the windows open. Staff was all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our island hopping trip for a little bit of luxury. The bed was so comfortable and what a pleasure to have a glass shower door! (In the islands many have curtains). Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. The location is convenient, only five minutes maximum from Syntagma metro station and many good eateries and shops. We arrived early morning on the day of our check-in due to having caught an overnight ferry, and came into the hotel in the aim of dropping off our bags. Upon asking for recommendations for somewhere nice to go for breakfast, we were surprised and delighted when the receptionist kindly offered for us to go up for a complimentary breakfast. We were also welcomed to use the wifi and computer service to re-print boarding passes that had been damaged during our trip, even though we hadn't checked in yet. What pleasant service.

Room Tip: We were in room 503, and had no problems with noise. Nice to have a balcony so we could charge our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo,BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

From the outside this hotel in very unassuming but once you step inside the rooms it is anything but. The rooms have very high ceilings and are painted stark white with punches of colour. The beds are large and extremely comfortable and the bathroom is fantastic with a large massage shower panel.

We only stayed one night but I would choose this hotel again if I find myself in Athens. The location couldn't be better, just a few minutes walk to Syntagma Square or the Plaka. Great shopping and dining close by.

This hotel is on both sides of the street and we had to cross the street to go for our buffet breakfast. Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel has been recently renovated and rooms are very smart. Staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there again.Hotel is smart and modern.There is nothing more to add to this review.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Excellent service, very comfortable room and unbeatable location just steps from Syntagma Square as well as easy walking distance to the Acropolis and Plaka.
There is also a fantastic reasonably priced restaurant a few doors down on the main road (Mitropoleos Street), Tzizikas kai Mermigas.
Good breakfast and freshly squeezed orange juice. I've stayed in many Athens hotels ranging from 3 star to 5 star and this is a definite favourite. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Diamond Homtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Diamond Homtel

Address: 24 Voulis and Mitropoleos | Plaka area, Athens 10563, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Athens Diamond Homtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ATHENS DIAMOND HOMTEL is located in Athens city center that opened its doors in May 2010. It aims to attract people who appreciate quality and provide high standards for the demanding guest. The Athens Diamond hoMtel consists of 20 luxurious suites and rooms with unique character, elegantly decorated, for guests who seek stylish and comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Athens Diamond Homtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Diamond Homtel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.