We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem hotel in a rundown neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chic Hotel to your Saves list
Chic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   25, Pireos Street | Omonoia, Athens 10522, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Athens B&B and Inns
Athens
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A gem hotel in a rundown neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great bargain.The situation in the center of Athens seems to get improved since last year.
Still many things have the authorities to take in mind and change..
The hotel is ideal for a city break and a small business trip.Modern rooms,tft tv,fast wifi,only 4 year old hotel.The staff is very proficient.Polite and available for any request.
Breakfast is more than adequate,fresh with a choise of greek pastries.
All in all, the value for money is its best asset.Thank you Giannis& Ms Monta.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room at the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    94
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
108
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Chic Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We loved the room and it was very clean. I would recommend not getting a room on the "street" side of the hotel. You will hear street noise most of the night from the cars, taxis honking etc.
They do provide breakfast but it's brought in every day as they do not have a restaurant or bar inside the hotel. The breakfast is very simple. Coffee and a variety of fruit and sweet breads.
Very nice room for the price you pay. The location of the hotel does look sketchy but it's perfectly safe to walk around at night. Not too far from Syntagma Square or the Plaka. Several eateries to walk to near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel for a two night stay! First time to Athens and really enjoyed the stay and also because it was convenient to walk to restaurants and other attractions. Friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk look forward to our next stay in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Chic Hotel and I think we had the worst room in the hotel. The room was on the roof garden (there was no garden) just at the last floor of the hotel, in the terrace, yes... in the terrace. We had to exit the building, be careful with the pigeons and their "gifts" and turn around the terrace to arrive to the room (room 402). No views from the terrace by the way. We had to have to air conditioning all day, since is on the roof with the sun directly going in. The room was small and the bathroom minimal. Also, I think since it was not prepared to be a room (the door was opening with a conventional key instead with a card like the other rooms), it was not well noise isolated, so we could hear the traffic from Pireas street. There was not light at the terrace, so it was difficult to insert the key. The room was clean, but with stains in the curtains, walls and floors. The breakfast is minimal. Very few choices: tomato, cheese, ham, coffee, croissants, toast and very bad juice. One day even, there was not marmelades! In addition, if you have to leave early, they do not prepare a breakfast to go like other hotels in athens, and breakfast starts a 7:30-8 am. The hotel is located in Pireas street, near Omonia square. The street is very busy and if you turn around the corner you finished in a street with very weird people and you could think that you are not in Greece. I was the only woman in the whole street!!! We didn't have problems, but I didn't like to be observed and we didn't feel confortable walking there. I don't recomend this hotel, it is not definitively a 4 star hotel, I would say a 2 star maybe!

Room Tip: Not room 402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booking and subsequent contact with the Chic Hotel was very positive (organised a taxi to pick us up at the airport etc) The hotel is not geared to tourists i.e. no bar or lounge areas but it was very efficient, the rooms were ample and very clean, the reception staff were very helpful, the buffet breakfast was fine, the location, close to Omonia Sq was good.
The immediate area around the hotel was not so good and at night the pedestrian approach needs to be direct from Omonia Sq rather than short cut through the roads at the rear of the hotel. Rooms at the front of the hotel do get a bit of road traffic noise.
Our only complaint........no where to put anything or hang up anything in the bathroom. A soap/shower gel shelf in the shower cubicle and a couple of hooks for towels would have made having a shower so much easier.
Overall.......it was a pleasant, clean and well located hotel that was perfect for a 3 day city break and very competitively priced

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the street at the rear of the hotel or on the higher floors to 'get aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very good hotel, even though it is in the sketchy part of Omania. It is a lot better inside than what the surroundings are outside. Check in was fast and efficient and the front desk clerk was extremely helpful and welcoming. This was much appreciated having come in from Rome. The rooms are a fair size, with an extremely comfortable bed, I can say this with assurance as I have had a back op. The breakfast is plentiful and you will not be wanting for anything more.
All in all, apart for the area, the hotel is great.
You are 2 min walk from the metro station, which takes you to whatever sites you want to see and into Plaka which is a lovely old town to walk around in.
Everything works well, hot shower, you can drink the tap water etc. All in all a good save and a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203 it is on the street side and a little noisy, you would maybe need to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at CHIC for two nights before heading to islands. Highly recommend this property for a few reasons:
1.Great service and helpful staff - attentive care to the property and great care in ensuring that you make the best of your stay in Athens city core (maps provided, suggestions on what to visit, etc)

2. Great bargain for you'll pay. Rooms have everything you need (safe, ac, comfy bed, clean bathroom, wifi, etc). Breakfast is simple but delicious and hearty.


Only thing to mention, and no fault to the hotel are some shady parts of the surrounding neighborhood. I never felt unsafe however, and my wife was perfectly ok walking at night. The occasional junkie was a minor cause for discomfort but overall the hotel is literally a 10min walk from Monasteraki square (hype area with tons of restaurants and tavernas beneath the Acropolis).

Btw, Acropolis is about 20mins by foot.

A recommendation: ask the staff to send a taxi to the airport from the hotel (90 € for pick up and drop off). It was worry free and the driver was awesome (free city tour!). Ask for Kosta to pick you up. You won't regret it.

Thank you Chic hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic Hotel

Address: 25, Pireos Street | Omonoia, Athens 10522, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic is the new boutique hotel of Athens, accommodated in a classical 19th century building, combining the atmosphere of the period with the technology of the 21st century. The building has been renovated completely and turned into a modern hotel unit that stands on a very privileged spot in Pireos Street.This beautiful boutique hotel located in the center of Athens allocates rooms that offer a perfect companion of functionality, comfort and modern design characteristics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.