We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chic Hotel to your Saves list
Chic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   25, Pireos Street | Omonoia, Athens 10522, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 Athens B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is an average hotel in every area, location, service, breakfast, room. Sad and gray neighborhood. It was clean and functional, the price is decent, but I will be choosing another next time I'm in Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    94
    48
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
108
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

As other reviews have mentioned, this is not the nicest area of town, but once you step inside the hotel it seems like you are a world away! The hotel is brilliant value for money and the bed is one of most comfortable hotel beds I’ve ever seen. Facilities in the room were basic, i.e. no tea/coffee, iron or safe but everything was spotlessly tidy. Breakfast was mainly sweet items but was adequate enough for a days exploring. Location was very handy, close to Omonia tube station and walking distance from monastitaki and syntagma. The popular Gazi area for restaurants and bars was at the end of the road (walk down Piraeus Street to Keramikos metro station). I think some other reviewers have been over exaggerating, we went out late every night and were not intimated in any way, no different to walking through my home town in England (I am a 26 yr old woman).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Athens. The Hotel is neat and modern on the inside and the staff are relatively friendly. The rooms are a bit small but acceptable. It is close to Omonia station. The breakfast is very basic boiled eggs, ham, cheese and pastries.
What they do not tell you is that the area is very shady with quite a few characters around who are not shy to do their drugs right there in front of you. Not a nice scene for 2 female travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice for people travelling on a budget. It has a lovely breakfast, a very nice and helpful staff, and clean, spacious rooms. It is very close to a subway station as well. I was pleased with my experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at this hotel for two nights late may, and found it decent. The area was certainly not the greatest, as there were some riff-raffs outside the hotel, with one couple even busy doing drugs! The inside of the hotel is neat, with the host very friendly and helpful. The breakfast, although limited, was good.its quite close to omonia square, with access to transport readily available. Its about 10 min walk to the main restaurant square, but was hardly a chore.
Would recommend, purely based on the look and cleanliness of the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessalonike, Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at June 2013, for a couple of nights. The room was at the entresol, very small with only a small window nearly to the floor!!!! Al thought it was clean enough just for a nap.
The breakfast was so poor, that i thought at the beginning that i wasn't at the right place. The place that is located is very good for someone who want's to explore city of Athens, but he can do it until 17:00. And i'm saying this because after 17:00 is too dangerous to walk alone around Omonoi Square.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say, because my room looks like a mini prison!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Chic for 3 days and found it to be ideal for getting around town. You are a 3-4 minute walk to Omonia Square and the subway, and a 10-15 minute walk to Monastiraki and the Plaka, and 15 minutes to the Acropolis. It can be tricky to find, but most hotels in Athens are tricky to find - the streets can be quite confusing!! The service was great, breakfast was good and the rooms were super clean. Small spaces, but super functional and modern. If you're coming to Athens to do some broad exploring, this is a GREAT place to do it from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic Hotel

Address: 25, Pireos Street | Omonoia, Athens 10522, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic is the new boutique hotel of Athens, accommodated in a classical 19th century building, combining the atmosphere of the period with the technology of the 21st century. The building has been renovated completely and turned into a modern hotel unit that stands on a very privileged spot in Pireos Street.This beautiful boutique hotel located in the center of Athens allocates rooms that offer a perfect companion of functionality, comfort and modern design characteristics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.