We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location / Very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Lotus Hotel to your Saves list
Athens Lotus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location / Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here in April 2015, the location is great for site seeing, right next to Metaxourgio metro station. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, they helped us with many enquiries about places to visit, restaurants etc. The rooms are small, but modern and clean and ours came with a nice balcony. Ideal for a city break to Athens.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    204
    55
    6
    13
See reviews for
65
217
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for 1 night on our return from Santorini and Mykonos, checked out the next morning after breakfast to head to the airport for our flight back. What we needed was a comfortable night's stay at a clean and safe hotel close to the metro station and also a good breakfast. We didn't want to spend too much money either.

Positives:
- proximity to metro station (50m)
- breakfast spread
- size of room and balcony
- complimentary room upgrade on availability
- partial view of the Acropolis from the 6th floor room

Negatives:
- no assistance to carry luggage to room on check in or at check out
- entry to Lotus apartments is a little crammed and the lift isn't modern
- lift opens directly into the room - would like a door for privacy
- water for shower wasn't warm, water stopped halfway through the shower

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst stay ever! Me and my friends stayed at the hotel for 3 nights at the the hotel. It is located at a dodgy area in Athens. The driver who drove us to the hotel on the first day warned us to keep hold of our belongings. You'll find quite a few wonderers around the streets at night. Avoid walking alone in this area after 7pm. The hotel is 50m walk from the metro which is convenient! There is nothing really interesting around the hotel.The lobby is not up to 4 star standard, it is quite small in my opinion. Also 200euro deposit is simply too much for even a night's stay.

However, the main problem of the hotel is their staff, I do think the men who check us in is wonderful. He gave us clear directions and teach us how to use the metro on the first day.
On the last day, the hotel charge us 100 euro as they claim we're too noisy and made one of their guests leave 2 nights earlier than she booked. They just don't even have evidence that we're noisy. You cannot randomly accuse us as we're teenagers and assume we're must be the noisy bunch!

I think this is a scam to 'loot' tourists who they're leaving Athens very soon for their flight. They claim to call the police and don't let us leave. We did checkout late for 30 minutes at 1230 so as to catch the flight to Santorini at 1430(flight a3 354). Right we came down the lobby, there're 5 staff angrily screaming at you. The receptionist woman told us what happened and a 40-50 year old man (I suppose is the manager or the owner of the hotel) even shouting 'you disgusting species' angrily. I found it very insulting!

There are other staff where they're talking in greek which you simply don't stand when this thing happened. Sounds like they're discussing the amount to 'loot' from us. When we ask why the fine is so high, they claim we destroy all their towels! How are we suppose to destroy all your towels when we're leaving in a rush? The way we left our towels in our room is leaving is on our bed. Are we suppose to fold the towels like we're the hotel's cleaners?

After half an hour, we just gave up arguing as this is a scam and they're well 'practised'. We didn't have the time cannot afford to miss the flight. How dare the hotel staff did this to tourists? This is absolutely unacceptable and ridiculous!

I don't mind if you charge us for the late checkout, but not 100euros for the loss of the hotel due to a leaving guest for some unknown noise source! Even the contract we signed when we check in didn't state we have to compensate other guests for the noise we made. This is against the law to charge us.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALotusH, Διευθυντής at Athens Lotus Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear viewers,

On behalf Athens Lotus Hotel mangement and staff, we would like to inform that this comment should not be posted here. The guest never made reservation neither stayed to our Hotel. We do not have any policy for 200euros guarantee. In any case we informed trip advisor to delete this comment from our property.

Best Regards
Manager Of Athens Lotus Hotel
Thanos Singounis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, good food and comfortable accomodation. We were in Athens on holiday for 4 days before going to an island, and Athens was a bit of a culture shock. This hotel was definately a place of refuge - clean, organised, very well maintained, with everything you could need. The food in the restaurant was good and the staff were attentive. I would recommend this hotel - but always use the metro to get there. Even though you can walk from the city centre (30-40 minutes) it's not a nice walk due to how run down the area is around. It is in a noisy area though, so expect beeping car horns through much of the night, especially if you like the window open. I slept through them (the comfy beds helped!), but my husband didn't. Free wifi which is great. Not many restaurants around, only fast food type places.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Lotus while in transit to another location in Greece. The hotel was in a somewhat shady location, but the rooms were nice and the breakfast was delicious. The noise level outside was ridiculous. Probably a twenty minute walk to the Acropolis from this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is above average in that it offers remarkably clean rooms, an impressive breakfast, and an attentive staff. Unfortunately, the hotel is located in a run-down area of Athens which impacts the hotels overall ambiance. Nonetheless, the hotel represents a "diamond in the rough."

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a joke! It's definitely a 2star-ish hotel! It is located at a quite deprived area in athens. The streets are quite loud at night and their rooms aren't 'soundproof at all. Cannot sleep well for 2 nights.
Also the bathroom is very small in our room. You can never really enjoy shower time at such a cramped space! The boiler is not functioning properly. There is also a weird smell in our room which we request a change of room twice! However, they would not allow us to do so with the receptionist just impolitely telling us "there's not a chance". How dare they just ignore our request and we have to stay at that problematic room for the whole time!
The staff were also not helpful at all. When we wanted to grab a bite at night, we went to the reception and ask for direction. The receptionist is talking with probably another staff inside the counter. They looked like we annoyed them and replied us impatiently and impolitely. You are working and guests come first! It's not a chatting session, right?
This hotel is definitely overrated and a maximum 2star hotel. Don't really know why people give such high rating to this hotel. Based on this experience, i really cannot recommend anyone this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* star boutique hotel is conveniently near the Metaxourgeio (metro station) & in walking distance from historical monuments (Acropolis museum, Parthenon, Ancient Agora, National Archaeological museum).As well away from the commercial spots of town like Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma & Kolonaki square. The National railway station (Larissas station) is only 2 minutes walking from the hotel.It offers elegant and comfortable standards rooms with free Wi-Fi, 19’’ LCD TVs and free parking.Athens Lotus disposes elegantly appointed rooms and suites, all equipped with double glazed soundproof windows, anatomic mattresses, air conditioning and heating, mini-bar and safety deposit box convenient for laptop.The hotel’s multilingual reception is at the guest’s disposal on a 24- hour basis.Rooms: 31 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Lotus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.