We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent holiday base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Athens Lotus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 324 hotels in Athens
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent holiday base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

situated just of a large square, this hotel is close to many transport facilities. the staff are very friendly and all have a vested interest in the best upkeep of the hotel itself which makes for an even more enjoyable stay. the room was very clean and the house keeping was of an excellent standard. The location was not very good but encountered no problems and local bars and cafe's were also extremely friendly
I would recommend this hotel and would return again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    159
    47
    4
    7
See reviews for
46
162
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Staff was really nice and helpful. We stayed in the new section of the hotel which was very modern, clean and comfy. The room was rather small but very clean and pleasant. Metro 1.5 blocks away which takes you to different parts of the city in just a few minutes. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms quite new. The room was a bit small compare to what I saw in pictures but it was fine. It was one minute away from the metro station and 4 stops away from the acropolis so it was really well connected to the entire city. The área at night it is a bit scary and at the hotel they advised us to don't walk around an área close to the hotel. We didn't have any problems but maybe if I come back I will choose another área to stay closer to Monastikari or Plaka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Our room was very clean and comfortable with plenty of space. I liked the neighborhood, working class far enough from the busy tourist areas to be quiet at night but only a short 5 minute ride by metro to most any of the tourist highlights. Breakfast was more than adequate. One extra was while we were there there was a street market that appeared one morning outside the hotel clearly geared toward the local population; fruits vegetables clothes kabobs etc. we did some shopping while it was there for the day. The hotel is only one block from the metro. We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is very clean & contemporary designed. Absolutely great value for money. The staffs always greet you with smile and very helpful. The hotel is just located within a stone throw distance to the metro station where you can go anywhere in the city easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I do not think I could have found a better hotel. It was by far the prettiest hotel and for a very very very good price. I stayed for three nights. Located across the street from the metro and laundry facilities around the corner. The staff was wonderful and helpful. Unfortunately my Greek was terrible but they all spoke English well and Niki was a wonderful teacher. I still tried to speak in Greek and I could tell they liked that. The rooms were breathtaking and comfortable, bathroom was very clean and nice, the restaurant had very good food as well. The first day we stayed we stumbled across a street market which was a lot of fun and cheap as well. If you go to Athens, do yourself a favor and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel Lotus was simply great. We arrived early and they had no problem letting us check in and sleep off some jet lag. The beds are great and the showers even better. Wifi and a cheap "American Buffet Breakfast" hit the spot in the AM. The hotel was only a 6 euro ride in a taxi to the Plaka. This hotel rivals any boutique hotel in a large city.

Room Tip: ** no pool, no fitness center... Just walk around the city and cool off with some Ouzo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* star boutique hotel is conveniently near the Metaxourgeio (metro station) & in walking distance from historical monuments (Acropolis museum, Parthenon, Ancient Agora, National Archaeological museum).As well away from the commercial spots of town like Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma & Kolonaki square. The National railway station (Larissas station) is only 2 minutes walking from the hotel.It offers elegant and comfortable standards rooms with free Wi-Fi, 19’’ LCD TVs and free parking.Athens Lotus disposes elegantly appointed rooms and suites, all equipped with double glazed soundproof windows, anatomic mattresses, air conditioning and heating, mini-bar and safety deposit box convenient for laptop.The hotel’s multilingual reception is at the guest’s disposal on a 24- hour basis.Rooms: 31 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Lotus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.