We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Lotus Hotel to your Saves list
Athens Lotus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great small hotel, located 1 1/2 blocks to Metro stop and central tourist area. The staff was friendly and enjoyable to chat with. It came with breakfast buffet which was delightful. I would recommend this hotel over a higher price hotel because of the friendly nature of reception personnel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    173
    50
    4
    9
See reviews for
51
180
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at the Athens Lotus hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had a relaxed atmosphere about it. No criticisms either of the restaurant where a buffet style breakfast was served.
The room we stayed in wasn’t spacious but it was comfortable and adequate. One criticism would be that the bathroom, although modern and obviously recently renovated was on the small side. Additionally, most travellers I'm sure would appreciate coffee and tea making facilities in their rooms which this hotel unfortunately does not provide, although there was 24 hour room service available.
The area surrounding the hotel is not the most pleasant, but the metro is literally seconds away and we encountered no problems. Most travellers have adequate street sense to know how to act and avoid nasty situations in difficult neighbourhoods. It’s worth noting also that the hotel has adequate security presence outside the front entrance provided by a security guard.
Reception and management were friendly and approachable, any small problems were dealt with efficiently and with a smile.
Overall, considering the reasonable cost of staying at this hotel, we would have no hesitation in using it again should we return to Athens.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The rooms are very small, however very clean and close to shopping and there is a wonderful little restaurant right around the corner.
Staff was very helpful and I agree with the other reviews the breakfast is super good for such a small hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

A good hotel that ticked all the boxes. We got a good deal through booking.com (50% off!) which sweetened it for us. Only a short metro ride (when they weren't on strike) from most historical monuments, the tube station is 100 metres away. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Generally it was very comfortable. The airport was just over an hour away on the metro.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 3 children (11,10 & 8 years) stayed here for 5 nights in the heat of an Athens August and found the hotel very clean, comfortable and secure. Our family room was actually a suite, comprising 2 ensuite bedrooms (1 double and another double with an extra single bed) with a common entrance door off a short corridor. This gave us parents some privacy and yet the children were sleeping safely nearby. With the two bedroom doors open we were able to hear the children without difficulty. The rooms had comfy beds, good air-conditioning, and good en-suite showers.

The hotel breakfast was adequate. There was also a bakery nearby and in the evening there were a few tavernas in a nearby square which were full of locals.

One of the best aspects of this hotel was its location. Just 50 metres from the nearest metro station and only a few stops from Syntagma square, the Acropolis and other central attractions The airport journey is quite hassle free from this location. A real bonus was the free courtesy shuttle bus that leaves from near the hotel and takes you to a great water park called Copa Copana. The whole family enjoyed a very reasonably priced day there and had our holiday time allowed for it, we could have returned within 7 days for a another fun filled day free of charge.

Some people might feel a little challenged by aspects of the street life in the vicinity of the hotel. But you have to remember that you are in a big city where all the usual safety precautions should be observed. We were never around the streets beyond 23.30 and we never felt our safety, or our children's safety, threatened in any way. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to other families with young children as well.

Room Tip: I think that the family suite was rooms 306 & 307, but best to check the accuracy of this inform...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Good location next to the metro, comfortable rooms and a hearty breakfast buffet. Good value overall in the middle of Athens.

Room Tip: On level 4 there is one room with a balcany...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Near Metro, small rooms but adequate. Breakfast not as extensive as another hotel we stayed in, but adequate. Upscale bathroom. Comfortable. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* star boutique hotel is conveniently near the Metaxourgeio (metro station) & in walking distance from historical monuments (Acropolis museum, Parthenon, Ancient Agora, National Archaeological museum).As well away from the commercial spots of town like Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma & Kolonaki square. The National railway station (Larissas station) is only 2 minutes walking from the hotel.It offers elegant and comfortable standards rooms with free Wi-Fi, 19’’ LCD TVs and free parking.Athens Lotus disposes elegantly appointed rooms and suites, all equipped with double glazed soundproof windows, anatomic mattresses, air conditioning and heating, mini-bar and safety deposit box convenient for laptop.The hotel’s multilingual reception is at the guest’s disposal on a 24- hour basis.Rooms: 31 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Lotus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.