We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Lotus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Athens Lotus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athens Lotus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 324 hotels in Athens
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is a very stylish, clean and modern hotel. We booked a family room which was very spacious. The breakfast was very good (other than the filter coffee). The air con worked perfectly and we slept well for 6 nights here. There have been a lot of comments that this is a bad area, I don't agree. Athens is not the most attractive of cities and Metaxourgiou is really no worse than anywhere else. I would not say it is unsafe. I am also surprised that no one has mentioned all the food choices surrounding the hotel, a plethora of choices, you will get the real Athens feel here, away from touristy Plaka. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    154
    39
    3
    7
See reviews for
39
155
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I booked a twin/double room all to myself and it was nice. Room was bright, clean, and new. Nothing can go wrong when everything looks so new.

Metro is only 1min away by foot so it was very convenient for me to go around in Athens to meet my clients. However all my clients warned me that I should not walk alone after dark and need to always be alert, as it is not a good area.

Clerks were all very helpful and friendly.

I might consider staying here again because of the convenience and for the price, it has good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Although room is not big, it is nice and modern. We stayed in a corner unit, it has lots of windows (pleasantly bright), and very clean. It took us a bit to find the hotel because we weren't familiar with the streets at first, but it is literally a minute away from the metro station, and only 3 stations away from the main attractions. (Metro in Athens is very convenient.)

The hotel is not exactly located on a wide bright street, but it does not feel unsafe to walk the short distance from the metro station to the hotel.

There is construction just right across from the hotel. Since at the time we stayed at the hotel, the central AC wasn't on yet, we couldn't close the windows. It is noisier when we went back to our room to rest in the early afternoon, but constructions stop at 4pm'ish. Noise level is ok after. It is definitely quiet at night. There is some bus or taxi terminal around the hotel. With windows opened, buses can wake you up super early in the morning. If the central AC is on with windows closed, it would be no problem at all.

Staff were very patient and helpful. There is a bakery just around and supermarket a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights got 2 rooms 4 adults including my parents. The breakfest is great, location is super, rooms are clean and tidy. The only bad thing was that the air conditioning wasen't working and it was quite hot at night and when we opened the windows there was a lot of noise from the road so not the ideal plae if your a light sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larisa, Greece
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

The breakfast was very good, though it could finish later for late sleepers.
The rooms have a small balcony which is good.
The rooms are good, clean, spacy (cause I have read some reviews that it did not have enough space). We paid 85 euro for a double room and 95 euro for a triple room. The price is very good and the hotel deserves this price. I have stayed in other hotels in Athens that are more expensive and do not provide such good services and are not clean enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We stayed at the Lotus Hotel for 3 nights, it was clean and tidy inside but outside there are building works going on over the road (no noise from it over the weekend but monday and tuesday mornings I was woken up to the sounds coming from the site), police sirens going off and shouting at night. It is not the best neighbourhood and I didnt feel safe out and about when it got dark. However the metro station is v.close by, probably only a minutes walk so your out of there in no time. The rooms are cleaned every day, they are quite tiny rooms but we were ok with that as we didnt bring too much with us, there was a power cut whilst we were there but it was sorted reasonably quickly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Ideally located hotel near a metro station (maybe 50m away), in a realtively quiet neighbourhood with good tavernas and supermarkets nearby. Quite clean, not very spacious rooms. And the most impressive thing was the breakfast - fresh, tasty and various (responding to 4 even 5* hotel)! Staff was very friendly. In one word - perfect value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Lotus Hotel

Address: 9 Chiou Street, Athens 10438, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 324 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Lotus Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* star boutique hotel is conveniently near the Metaxourgeio (metro station) & in walking distance from historical monuments (Acropolis museum, Parthenon, Ancient Agora, National Archaeological museum).As well away from the commercial spots of town like Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma & Kolonaki square. The National railway station (Larissas station) is only 2 minutes walking from the hotel.It offers elegant and comfortable standards rooms with free Wi-Fi, 19’’ LCD TVs and free parking.Athens Lotus disposes elegantly appointed rooms and suites, all equipped with double glazed soundproof windows, anatomic mattresses, air conditioning and heating, mini-bar and safety deposit box convenient for laptop.The hotel’s multilingual reception is at the guest’s disposal on a 24- hour basis.Rooms: 31 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Athens Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Lotus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.