We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Great location and amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Center Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Center Square to your Saves list
Athens Center Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece (Omonia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
% 2016 SALES!
Ranked #19 of 330 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place! Great location and amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was travelling with my mother to Athens for a few days and we got Athens Center Square Hotel on a deal so decided to stay there. I loved it. The location wasn't the best in terms of niceness (but I don't know what people are complaining so much about, half the neighbourhoods in London were worse than that one!), was opposite a fruit market at day, but it was good in terms of location - walked to all the sights including the acropolis, acropolis museum, olympic stadium, coach stop (to cape sounion) etc. The service was amazing. The hotel receptionist, a lovely lady called Argiro, was so helpful and wasn't one of those standard try and sell us overpriced tours receptionists! She tried to give up cheap ways of doing things. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a nice TV (even with 2 English channels) and the maids cleaned our rooms and changed linen every day even though we didn't put the note on our door to say we wanted it done. The roof terrace had beautiful views of the Acropolis :) Breakfast was good, varied with plenty to eat! Thanks to the hotel for making our time in Athens a good one!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for submitting this wonderful picture! We are delighted to read your comment and we are very glad you were satisfied with our hotel! We shall share your encouraging comments with the rest of our staff.
We really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw the trendiest award off tripadvisor and well frankly this is the first time that tripadvisor ratings have ever steered me wrong. We had finished our week long tour of some of the Greek islands, had a beautiful and fantastic trip and were looking for a decently priced place to stay. This place at 70 euros and what looked to be nice amenities was a good deal. Until we got there. We took the subway from the port and walked to the hotel through one of the worst neighborhoods I saw in Athens. There is a park right outside the front door and people were in teh park (lots of them) at 3pm dealing drugs and shooting what I assume was heroin in broad daylight. The room was dirty, the chair and bed had stains. The rooftop bar was not open the whole weekend and I didnt want to leave the hotel after dark as the front is an alley by night full of vagrants. I am not a picky person and have never left a bad review on Tripadvisor but this was disappointing beyond reason and really the only dark spot on a 10 day trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmnsensepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for submitting a nice room picture.
Though we had clients with children, we do not have triple rooms nor family rooms.
As for the location, it is just 300m from Ancient Agora, Monastiraki metro station and very close to the Acropolis.There is no danger around though you may see vagrants and most of our clients being careful are having a very enjoyable time.
Referring to your comment on the roof bar I am sorry it had be closed that week end, but clients could still visit the terrace with the splendid view and get served from the lobby bar.
I hope that you will come back and all your expectations be satisfied.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having visited Athens during a Metro and taxi strike, the location of the Center Square was excellent - easy walking distance to Acropolis, Parliament, Plaka and other central attractions. Situated off a vegetable market and near the fish and meat markets make it a little difficult to find, but once inside the room (with a view of the Acropolis) was more than adequate at the budget rate charged. Good breakfast and helpfull staff. Good access to Metro (when working) and Hop on hop off.

Room Tip: Nice to have acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good clean central hotel, nice bed and bathroom. Good view of acropolis from rooftop bar. 24 hr reception with security guard. Hotel is on a fruit market street so pedestrian access only during daytime but this is not a problem, it's only about 200m to a main st. Fish market is across this main st and extremely interesting! Smelly, but interesting.
We got a bus from airport to Syntagma Square and could have walked had we known the area better but it was dark so we got a taxi. Walking distance to the things we wanted to see or the hop on hop off bus took us to the Acropolis. Could have walked but there's great sightseeing from top of bus.
In late May/early June we saw a lot of police on bikes with firearms. Also a lot of homeless people sleeping in railway station entrance and on top of carpark building next to hotel. We were wary in Athens at this time but did not feel threatened or unsafe.

Room Tip: From our room the Acropolis was slightly obscured but still a real buzz seeing it all lit up at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The location was a big plus for the price, as hotels in Athens are rather expensive compared to those on the Greek islands. The hotel entrance was fronted by the central vegetable and fruit market, with the meat and fish market just across the road. The area was vibrant in the morning, but a little deserted at night when the stalls have closed for the day.

The hotel decor was that of simple chic. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Remember to get the Wifi username and password from them. Room size was decent and there are English channels on TV.

There was supposed to be a bar at the rooftop, but the area was dark and the bar not open when we went up at night. However, it was a great place to get an unblocked, lovely view of the Acropolis and the surrounding neighbourhood.

Breakfast was standard but filling. You can grab some fruits from the market fruit stalls in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JTsgsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

hotel is almost at the heart of the city. 2 minutes to monastriki metro station and 10 minutes to acropolis, on foot by the way.

unfortunately rooms are not big enough for a 3 star hotel. but they have different room choices, we decided not to pay extra 20 euros per night to move a bigger room with acropolis view. it might have been worth actually.

the people who work there are great. reaaly helpful, friendly and talkative. for me it is the most important thing.

the breakfast is quite enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very bubbly and extremely helpful. Kudos to Olga and Agiro, the 2 front desk ladies. Breakfast comprised juice, tea, coffee, bread, cakes, yoghurt with fruit, sausages, eggs, ham, cereal, etc. There is no restaurant/room service in the hotel, but coffee/tea and biscuits are served throughout the day till 6pm.

Rooms have basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel, however, be sure to bring your own shower cap and ear buds. There is no tissue box provided either.

Beds are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#18 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#44 of 330 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#23 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,473 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#31 of 330 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Athens
#24 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#29 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing