We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you are traveling alone or with children” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Center Square

Save Saved
You added Athens Center Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athens Center Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
% SUMMER OFFER!
Ranked #27 of 324 hotels in Athens
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do not stay here if you are traveling alone or with children”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I saw the trendiest award off tripadvisor and well frankly this is the first time that tripadvisor ratings have ever steered me wrong. We had finished our week long tour of some of the Greek islands, had a beautiful and fantastic trip and were looking for a decently priced place to stay. This place at 70 euros and what looked to be nice amenities was a good deal. Until we got there. We took the subway from the port and walked to the hotel through one of the worst neighborhoods I saw in Athens. There is a park right outside the front door and people were in teh park (lots of them) at 3pm dealing drugs and shooting what I assume was heroin in broad daylight. The room was dirty, the chair and bed had stains. The rooftop bar was not open the whole weekend and I didnt want to leave the hotel after dark as the front is an alley by night full of vagrants. I am not a picky person and have never left a bad review on Tripadvisor but this was disappointing beyond reason and really the only dark spot on a 10 day trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens and for submitting a nice room picture.
Though we had clients with children, we do not have triple rooms nor family rooms.
As for the location, it is just 300m from Ancient Agora, Monastiraki metro station and very close to the Acropolis.There is no danger around though you may see vagrants and most of our clients being careful are having a very enjoyable time.
Referring to your comment on the roof bar I am sorry it had be closed that week end, but clients could still visit the terrace with the splendid view and get served from the lobby bar.
I hope that you will come back and all your expectations be satisfied.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    250
    58
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
276
52
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winterton, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having visited Athens during a Metro and taxi strike, the location of the Center Square was excellent - easy walking distance to Acropolis, Parliament, Plaka and other central attractions. Situated off a vegetable market and near the fish and meat markets make it a little difficult to find, but once inside the room (with a view of the Acropolis) was more than adequate at the budget rate charged. Good breakfast and helpfull staff. Good access to Metro (when working) and Hop on hop off.

Room Tip: Nice to have acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Good clean central hotel, nice bed and bathroom. Good view of acropolis from rooftop bar. 24 hr reception with security guard. Hotel is on a fruit market street so pedestrian access only during daytime but this is not a problem, it's only about 200m to a main st. Fish market is across this main st and extremely interesting! Smelly, but interesting.
We got a bus from airport to Syntagma Square and could have walked had we known the area better but it was dark so we got a taxi. Walking distance to the things we wanted to see or the hop on hop off bus took us to the Acropolis. Could have walked but there's great sightseeing from top of bus.
In late May/early June we saw a lot of police on bikes with firearms. Also a lot of homeless people sleeping in railway station entrance and on top of carpark building next to hotel. We were wary in Athens at this time but did not feel threatened or unsafe.

Room Tip: From our room the Acropolis was slightly obscured but still a real buzz seeing it all lit up at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location was a big plus for the price, as hotels in Athens are rather expensive compared to those on the Greek islands. The hotel entrance was fronted by the central vegetable and fruit market, with the meat and fish market just across the road. The area was vibrant in the morning, but a little deserted at night when the stalls have closed for the day.

The hotel decor was that of simple chic. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Remember to get the Wifi username and password from them. Room size was decent and there are English channels on TV.

There was supposed to be a bar at the rooftop, but the area was dark and the bar not open when we went up at night. However, it was a great place to get an unblocked, lovely view of the Acropolis and the surrounding neighbourhood.

Breakfast was standard but filling. You can grab some fruits from the market fruit stalls in the morning as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

hotel is almost at the heart of the city. 2 minutes to monastriki metro station and 10 minutes to acropolis, on foot by the way.

unfortunately rooms are not big enough for a 3 star hotel. but they have different room choices, we decided not to pay extra 20 euros per night to move a bigger room with acropolis view. it might have been worth actually.

the people who work there are great. reaaly helpful, friendly and talkative. for me it is the most important thing.

the breakfast is quite enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very bubbly and extremely helpful. Kudos to Olga and Agiro, the 2 front desk ladies. Breakfast comprised juice, tea, coffee, bread, cakes, yoghurt with fruit, sausages, eggs, ham, cereal, etc. There is no restaurant/room service in the hotel, but coffee/tea and biscuits are served throughout the day till 6pm.

Rooms have basic amenities such as shampoo and shower gel, however, be sure to bring your own shower cap and ear buds. There is no tissue box provided either.

Beds are extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good stay at Athens Center Square - the rooms were nice and the front desk staff were excellent - always very friendly and helpful. Olga in particular was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good with lots of choice. The roof terrace was very nice - unfortunately the bar was not open when we stayed as the weather was poor, but guests still had access to the terrace to admire the views which was a nice touch. We had a room right by the stairwell which got quite noisy with the early morning breakfast rush as guests' loud voices travelled down the stairwell.. but nothing too bad. I also thought the hotel was a little on the pricey side for what you got - but pricewise seemed to be fairly on par with other Athens hotels (maybe it was just the shock after paying Greek Islands prices for several weeks!). Major sights are all within walking or metro distance.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the stairwell tend to be quite noisy during the early morning breakfast rush
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#35 Family Hotel in Athens
#46 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Center Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.