We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed again..... and it was still good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Center Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Athens Center Square to your Saves list
Athens Center Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece (Omonia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
% SUMMER SALES
Ranked #23 of 329 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I stayed again..... and it was still good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night on route to the Islands. It was a short night - in at 11pm and out at 5am to get ferry. The hotel is good. Very close to the Metro and the Plaka if you want to go out for something to eat or drink. Yes there is rubbish on the ground and you see some dogs not on leads in Athens at the moment ... but I would never have called it a clean city. If you get to stay for a few hours in the morning definitely go to the fish and food market across the road from the hotel . A great visual experience. I've stayed in many small hotels in Athens where you don't want to spend too much as its only a night and this is definitely the best one I've stayed in. And this year it was only 59Euro for a double which I thought was very good. The one 'negative' was the guy at reception who can be surly and told us that it would cost 20euro for a taxi to the Pireaus. Having decided to take the metro we overslept and ran onto the street and hailed a taxi... it was 10euro.. strange?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to see our clients coming back and still be satisfied.
I am pleased you found our hotel of a good value and with very easy access from the metro station with direct line from airport and port.
Concerning your comment on the taxi driver to the port, I can give the following explanations:
I was told that day time with traffic, the cost is appr. 18 Euro including the 3 Euro of telephone appointment.
If you travel at around 5 am and obviously with no traffic and no appointment, the amount you have paid is very fair.
It is good that clients are informed in advance what they are expected to be charged, so they are badly surprised.

I thank you again for your helpful review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    412
    79
    14
    8
See reviews for
86
456
76
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frampton on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a good value hotel in a great location. Very clean, decent buffet breakfast, walking distance from all the main sites, friendly and helpful staff and you really need to check out the view of the Parthenon from the roof top bar

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and high score.
It is so great to read that you thought that it was of great value.
Thank you mentioning the view from roof top as well as our friendly staff.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is very central hotel, very clean and lots of good amenities. The area is busy and during the day but quiet and dark at night. But you are only a few minutes walk from Monasteraki Square and we didn't feel unsafe walking home at night.

The hotel staff and very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, but the highlight was the roof top terrace. Enjoy a drink from the bar and check out the Acropolis lit up at night. Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your positive comments, which will help future clients to make their choice when looking for a hotel in Athens.

I am glad you enjoyed the very central and safe location as well as the fantastic view of the Acropolis.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and loved it. Room on the 8th floor had a massive balcony, huge shower, 2 wash basins - all modern and funky. The place was spotless.
Breakfast was the best that I had whilst in Greece. Huge selection and very tasty. Roof top bar was great to have a glass of wine and look over the city.
We didn't experience any problems with the location. Its in a working part of the city and we liked stepping out into the middle of it all. At night, the street was empty - we never saw anyone hanging around on any of the evenings that we were there. During the day, there are people drinking in the street near the hotel but they didn't even look at us as we walked by. Location meant that we walked everywhere but the metro is close by also.
The staff here are incredible. Debbie in the roof top bar and the fabulous Olga on reception both made sure that we could make the most of our time in Athens. Friendly, funny and so helpful. Thank you to both of them.
Fab hotel, fab staff - great visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your "Fantastic" title and review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our well trained staff has helped you out.
Thank you for mentioning the changes and improvements of the area.

Hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens,

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Athens Center Square is a modern, fresh and clean hotel. It has lots of fun design elements to look at; it may inspire you to do some redecorating when you get home! The different colored lights in the windows at night are a nice touch, and every floor has a different color theme (6th floor is orange, 7th lavender, 8th lime green, etc.). We were really pleasantly surprised when we entered our room. For such a reasonable price, it feels luxurious. The rooms are an adequate size and the bathrooms are also nice, although dimly lit. The beds are quite soft for Greece, and we had a really good night's sleep here. A wide variety of food was served during breakfast.

It's true, like some of the other reviews say, that the area outside the hotel could be nicer. Yes, the markets are a bit smelly, but even so, I think the location is pretty great, because it is so central. You can walk to Plaka in 15 minutes or so. The elevators are a bit of a hassle. Very small, and often taken, especially around the time breakfast is served. Still, it's just a minor inconvenience, and all in all this hotel is exceptionally good value for money. The rooftop terrace with a view of the Acropolis is just icing on the cake. I plan on staying here the next time I'm in Athens!

Note to management: The posters hanging in the hotel saying "please give us five stars on Tripadvisor" only make people question whether the five star reviews are genuine, so if I were you, I would take them down. You run a great hotel - this fact alone will inspire people to write about it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that in our hotel you had a good sleep and enjoyed the variety of our breakfast.
But most of all we are glad you thought that it was of great value and that you are planning in staying with us again on a future trip to Athens.
Thank you for your comments that will help us improve. We did already action.
Your photos are exceptional! Thank you for submitting them.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights to explore Athens after visiting the Greek islands. I had read the positive feedback about the hotel itself, but also a lot of the negative feedback about the area and location.

I'll start with the hotel itself: Once you find the hotel (strangely it's main entrance is covered by decorations of the fruit market outside so it's hard to spot the words 'HOTEL'), you'll find it is a very nice and tidy boutique hotel inside. Everything is crisp, clean and modern, and the staff are friendly. The breakfast was really delicious with amazing Greek yoghurt, juices, cereals, breads and some American choices. Our room was decent with a nice bathroom and the WiFi worked fine. We even received a small complimentary bottle of wine with two glasses in our room as offered as a special offer on TripAdvisor.

We thought about taking our wine up to the rooftop terrace bar, and that's where it isn't so great. The problem is that urban Athens is just not a pretty sight, and no views from the hotels in the area could be nice. The area, despite being a 5 minute walk from the main touristy metro station and 15 minute walk to the tourist attractions (ancient ruins, etc.), the surrounding area is run down and covererd in graffiti. The fruit market square outside the hotel seems to be the main hangout for heroin addicts in the city, so be advised that you WILL see rough people injecting stuff into their arms and legs outside, so you may not want to bring kids around here. One afternoon we returned from a day out to find a guy passed out on the steps outside the hotel.

I'm not sure why Athens doesn't do a better job at cleaning these people up off the streets, or at least patrolling more so they can't sit around doing drugs in broad daylight, but that's just the way it is now.

Basically, I would still recommend this hotel (although not if I was bringing kids) as it is a very nice hotel at a great price in close proximity to all the big tourist attractions, but just suffers from its unfortunate surroundings. My girlfriend and I enjoyed staying here simply by closing the curtains and rushing away from the place as soon as we walked outside.

Room Tip: You probably don't want a view of the square / fruit market... because all you can see our heroi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Athens.

I am pleased to read that the hotel was as expected with clean rooms, delicious breakfast and friendly staff.
Concerning your comment about the area, the police since last month is taking action and is trying to solve the problem of emigrants. We really hope that all this will be soon solved.

Thank you again for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We think that this is an excellent hotel as you can tell by the number of times we have stayed there!!! It is right bang in the middle of the action within easy access to the Acropolis and the Plaka, Ermou Street (for shopping) and the museums around Syntagma Square.

The rooms are really bright, colourful and modern. Spotlessly clean with the sheets and towels changed daily. The breakfast is superb with a very wide choice indeed and it is fully stocked right up to 10am. The kitchen staff are lovely and really efficient.

Indeed all of the staff are really friendly and helpful. A special word of thanks must go to Olga on reception who has always been brilliant every year we have stayed. Thank you for your friendship and kindness.

The hotel's position, close to the market, just adds to the character and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. We are definitely returning in 2013 - can't wait!!

Lots of Love
Gail and Paul Richards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorina S, General Manager at Athens Center Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

How nice to read positive comments from arepeated client like you!
We all thank you for choosing us when coming to Athens and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards and thank you again for yoru review and high score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Areos Hotel
Areos Hotel
#19 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#39 of 329 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Plaka
Central Hotel Athens
Central Hotel Athens
#27 of 329 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,078 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 329 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Center Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Center Square

Address: 15, Aristogitonos Street & Athinas | Monastiraki/ Psyri, Athens 10552, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
#23 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#30 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athens Center Square 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Athens Center Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Center Square Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Center Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.