We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are right, this is a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oineas Restaurant

Oineas Restaurant
Aisopou 9 | Psyrri Square, Athens 105 54 , Greece
+30 21 0321 5614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 2,048 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant " Oineas " ,established in 1999, embodies all the tradition and the air of another bygone era described as " the good old days " of the historical city of Athens. Placed at the neighborhood of Psyrri our restaurant aims to maintain the memories, that all we, the Greeks, had from our childhood . Good food is our main concern, with our menu consisting of traditional Greek recipes prepared in a modern and fresh way combining small gourmet touches . The desserts , are hand-made, prepared daily by the Mother of the owner, Christina Korda . The famous "ravani", a traditional greek type of cake soaked in syrup is served with kaimaki ice cream , leaving a last sweet taste to accompany you on the way home . The name "Oineas", is the name of an ancient greek king, who is supposed to be taught the culture and mystical values of life by the god Dionysos himself. It was chosen as the name of our restaurant because of our love for good wine , which flows in abundance as we have our own homemade House Wine both red and white. You should also, try the traditional greek drinks Ouzo, and Tsipouro, while you will be enjoying our unique tidbits, or else, the tradition greek "mezedes, made from fresh ingredients. The store has been decorated by the collection of antiques that Mr Angelos has being collecting for over than 40 years ,consisting of old advertisements , memorabilia , products of the era of the old Athens of the 50's, 60's and the 70's and all these kind of small objects are displayed throughout the store . It really is a small museum, and the antiques are unique and collected with great difficulty and fumbling . It is above all, a family business , a restaurant that is basically our home, the ornament and the result of chronic work, and dedication. We used all our good taste , our love of good company and established this restaurant for the pleasure it gives to us, having beautiful people enjoying their meal and drink, with good company at our place. We hope that we will see you soon!
Shanghai
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Reviews are right, this is a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely staff and an exciting menu. The ambiance and decor is relaxed and slightly quirky. Lovely tasty dishes, everyone prepared to perfection. The burgers with lemon leaves were very tasty and the pork chops had a delicious sauce flavoured with aniseed. We ordered the special "Oineas" cake for dessert which was delicious. We were delighted to be given a second dessert for free which was also delicious.

The highlight was our end of meal conversation with Christina who told us about her recent trip to Santorini and gave us tips on restaurants and wineries to visit when we go there.

Christina - if you ever make it to Shanghai, look us up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oineas_Restaurant, Owner at Oineas Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Fiona, you are awesome! I hope you enjoyed your trip to Santorini, let me know which winery you liked best! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! We love it when you love it! Best, Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    69
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Meal in Athens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Lovely restaurant with indoor & outdoor seating. Traditional Greek dishes as well as daily specials. The special we all enjoyed was eggplant & pastrami in a filo pie. The taste sensation was incredible! There was also a caramelized oinion/fava bean combination that I am still craving.The owner, Christine visited with our table and we thoroughly enjoyed her company. Complimentary fruit finished the meal off perfectly! Located in Psirri.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oineas_Restaurant, Owner at Oineas Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you dear Paul for choosing Oineas! And when i come to New Jersey i'll come find you for some great food suggestions! Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was a great little place with a really nice atmosphere. The prices are reasonable, and the food quality was excellent. We had the seafood risotto and the pork tenderloin with mustard sauce + 2 appetizers (calamari and mushrooms) + house wine, and the meal was about 50 euros. For the quality of the food and environment, I personally don't think it is expensive. The mushrooms were excellent, calamari was very tender, seafood risotto had a lot of seafood, including few mussels, lots of shrimps, octopus, clams, and a scallop, and the pork tenderloin was tender. The owner was really nice and spent some time talking to us and gave us some free liquor and fruits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oineas_Restaurant, Owner at Oineas Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We love fish actually and we show it! ;-) Thank you for taking the time to review Oineas! Please, come back soon for a nice glass of raki! Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In love with Oineas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I've been several times at Oineas and i enjoyed all of them.The food was a pleasure.Delicious greek flavours,reasonable prices and normal portions.The staff was very efficient and friendly.They were also very happy to inform us about sightseeings in Athens so feel free to ask them anything.I especially liked the risotto and the feta cheese with honey and sesame.Definately a place i will visit again and again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oineas_Restaurant, Owner at Oineas Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Oineas is also in love with you dear! Please, come back soon! ;-) Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice food, in nice atmosphere, with caring service. The food is delicious, and is suitable for both summer and winter visit.


Recommended to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oineas_Restaurant, Owner at Oineas Restaurant, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for visiting Oineas and for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oineas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oineas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oineas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.