We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AthenStyle Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AthenStyle Hostel to your Saves list
AthenStyle Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Agias Theklas 10, Athens 10554, Greece (Psirri / Gazi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The staff were friendly, helpful and available 24 hours. The rooms were bare minimum (plain, nothing fancy) but sufficient since we only needed a convenient place to rest at night. Location was close to Monastiraki Square with easy access to Ermou and Syntagma Square about 10 minutes away. There was free Internet access downstairs, lots of lounging space, a nice small bar on the top floor with a good view of the Parthenon.

Best thing was the location. Worst part was the noise at night because of the bar upstairs. I think they have a no-noise policy past midnight because it always eventually winded down after a while. But ear plugs should take care of this problem easily.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    68
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
14
40
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Athenstyle is really close to Monastiraki metro station and it's a cool hostel. Bedroom was clean, as the bathroom. But the double room we stayed in had a terrible painting on the wall (A mural of a black naked women and another one of a guy laying by the bed, everything in a dark blue backround... Awful! If the walls were simple one colour, it would be much better. I noticed other rooms didn't have these paintings on the wall.

First night we stayed at Soph&Chris, right besides AthenStyle (same business though) and I can't recommend it. we couldn't sleep with people going in and out every half an hour and got trashed next day...

Other than that, service is really good, breakfest is simple but OK, and the terrace is really awesome.

I'd stay there again, but I'd make sure to stay in a double bed with no decoration painting on the wall...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We had a few unlucky things happen to us staying at AthenStyle but I would still recommend it. We booked our room on hostels.com and when we arrived they had no record of our booking. This also happened to another person while we were there so make sure you e-mail or call them ahead of time to ensure they have your booking. We had booked a private room but when we arrived all the private rooms were booked. They were very apologetic. For the first night we stayed in dorm rooms. They were very clean, and I had a good sleep despite being disappointed that my boyfriend and I had to spend the first night of our vacation in separate rooms. Because of the mix-up we were upgraded to a private room the next day with a balcony and view of the acropolis. This room was fantastic! It had a small kitchenette, double bed and single bed, nice bathroom and a big balcony with furniture overlooking the acropolis. Highly recommended! We then went on to an island and came back and spent one more night. This time we were in a normal private room (no balcony). This room was again very nice the only problem is that it is right by the stairs so it was very noisy with people going up and down to the bar. I spent most of the night awake and I am a pretty heavy sleeper.
However the people were very helpful and friendly and there was a good breakfast every morning with tea, coffee, and nice thick greek yogurt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizen of the World
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed in Athenstyle for 5 days. It is in a fabulous location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the single ensuite room which was great. But I do want issue a small warning...the bed is right next to the stairs (which are have the echo effects of a cathedral)...so the talking and clomping in the stairs of the many happy (and drunk) hostellers kept me awake every night until I got myself some earplugs. The AC is sort of centralized for the whole place...so you can turn it on or off but can't control the temp...so it was freezing on and swealtering off...so just be aware. Aside from those little details, the place was excellent, clean and I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Only drawback: they could have a luggage room, instead of storing the guests' suitcases on the common area. Besides, friendly staff, comfortable and well-equipped rooms, OK breakfast.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We loved our stay at Athenstyle! The whole place was well kept and clean. The rooftop bar is AMAZING with fabulous views of the Acropolis and the city. (not to mention a great happy hour!) The location was perfect. Right next to Monastiraki Square and just a quick walk or metro ride to everywhere you want to be. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and we met an amazing bunch of people there. They were always happy to watch our bags for us when we went out. It was a great home base! If I have a criticism, it would be that the directions they give for getting to the hostel are VERY confusing. We ended up meeting a number of other people who had to wander around lost for some time before finding the place. Hopefully, they've fixed it by now...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The hostel is very close to Monastiriki Square so very easy for the metro to access the airport, ferry port or any other place in Athens. From the metro it was a little difficult to find the hostel because it is down a little side street (Agias Theklas). My tip is to take the address written in the Greek script in case you need to ask for directions. Locals I spoke to were so helpful despite the language difficulties.

The area where the hostel is located looks dark and dirty but when you get into the hostel itself its clean, modern and actually very funky and vibrant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A small lift takes you up to your room. The room I stayed in was quite small (I am a lone traveller) but it was very clean with modern fixtures and fittings. It also had an aircon system which was really great.

The lift goes up to a roof garden terrace and you can get great views of the Acropolis and have a few drinks and the small bar and meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AthenStyle Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AthenStyle Hostel

Address: Agias Theklas 10, Athens 10554, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Psirri / Gazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AthenStyle Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proud member of Europe’s Famous Hostels Association. Top ratings, premium location, famous Rooftop Bar (open all year round) and summer Restaurant with unbeatable views of Acropolis, unique vibe and Happy Hour. Variety of rooms located in two adjacent buildings: the main one with studio apartments and small dorms (4-6 beds) and newly renovated wing next door with bigger dorms (8-10 beds), quad rooms and few smaller dorms. Free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. Book your bed now before it is gone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your AthenStyle Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenstyle Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AthenStyle Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.