We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Areos Hotel to your Saves list
Areos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bouboulinas 19, Athens 10682, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff at the counter were all very friendly, helpful and polite. The room are spacious especially the modern bathroom. Huge balcony. Clean, simple and central hotel. The breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    135
    29
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
175
27
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Though it is true that the Aeros Hotel is not as centrally located to the major sight-seeing areas and is not in the nicest looking neighborhood, I cannot say enough good things about the very professional, warm and truly helpful service of their small staff. They are tops! As Athens was our last stop in a 17-day long driving tour of Greece, we were pretty tired by the time we arrived. They helped us with details related to returning our rental car, took good care of us in booking taxis at honest rates so we could be confident we were not over paying, arranged for a roof-top table at their (much more expensive) sister hotel in central Athens so we could see the Acropolis being lit up at night, to arranging a very early (5:00 am) taxi ride to the airport. They were willing to help even before we arrived answering all sorts of questions. Their staff goes out of the way to provide excellent service at a very, very reasonable rate. And...though the neighborhood is not the prettiest, we felt totally safe and enjoyed the experience of a more "real" urban taste of Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Super comfortable.
The only problem was that the hotel isn't way too close to the main attractions so that you have to take the subway or a taxi. When my family was there, the taxis were on a strike and we had a bit of trouble trying to move around. However, the hotel staff helped us by sometimes taking us to places THEMSELVES (they obviously charged a regular taxi fee) but without their help we wouldn't have had such a good experience.
breakfast is good, the rooms are spotless and comfortable... there's nothing negative I could say about this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuustwezel, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff was very helpfull, breakfast was OK and on time, my room was nice and clean, the only thing : I was missing a shower-door, but I was not the only one, but no worries everything went well in the bathroom.

I had a nice stay also thanks to the AIRCO (35 degrees outside)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Areos is an attractive and comfortable hotel very close to the National Museum, about 2 miles (3 metro stops) from the Parthenon, and within easy walking distance of Exarchion Square, which has a number of restaurants. We opted for a room with a balcony, on an upper floor, which cost a bit more but was still excellent value for money.

We really could not fault the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, air conditioning worked fine, and staff were extremely helpful, directing us to (excellent) places to eat, and helping us to book a taxi and make sure we got one with enough room for our bags. There was a good breakfast buffet.

I've stayed there before, not long after it opened, and was impressed then. It's as good as ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our family stayed 2 nights in the Areos Hotel in the top floor suite - two of us, and our teenage son. Very comfortable and stylish! Enormous patio with a view, very large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and to top it off, a generous and delicious breakfast is included! The location in Exarchia is not exactly optimal, but it is near the metro (Viktoria station), and the National Archaeological Museum is just a few blocks away, while the warm and friendly staff really makes all the difference. We very much enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend this hotel. Also, we discovered a peek-a-boo view of the parthenon from the bathroom window!

Room Tip: The top floor suite is very roomy if traveling with a family, but be advised there is no door to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed just two nights in the Aeros. We arrived very late on the first night, but we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful chap, who got us checked in and provided information.

The room was fine for a short stay. It was modern and clean and had a small balcony.

A small buffet breakfast was included, which was fine. (The morning we checked out of the hotel was before breakfast, but still the hotel made an effort to provide us with some juice, coffee and a some cake to get us going and this was very much appreciated.

The wifi functioned well during our stay.

The hotel is close to a metro station, but if you like walking, the centre is a pleasant 30/40 mins stroll.

If passing through Athens again, we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Address: Bouboulinas 19, Athens 10682, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#23 Family Hotel in Athens
#26 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#49 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.