We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but what a smoky place...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Areos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Areos Hotel to your Saves list
Areos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bouboulinas 19, Athens 10682, Greece (Exarchia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 330 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but what a smoky place...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've been in Areos Hotel for several nights, the place itself it's nice, for being a 3 stars, with just minor and not critical things to pin in a maintenance to-do list. The people over there have been kind and prompt for any need, from a glass of water to a help in going around.

However the great issue we found was that the hotel it's (actually was) a heavy smoky place: even if since 3 years there is a law in Greece as in other countries forbidding smoking freely, the hall, the lobby, the elevators and finally the rooms were fulfilled of a smell of cigarettes impossible to delete. In the rooms we had some issues in getting confortable, even if keeping the entire day the windows open. For a not-smoker like me it meant to sleep quite bad and not getting the good rest I'd like.

What a pity, aside of this I would recommend greatly.

Room Tip: Ask for the MOST NOT-SMOKING one.... otherwise it could happen your room smells in an incredible way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vinxonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ιωάννινα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

small and cosy hotel just for a sleep!!! doesn't offer anything else except of a simple room and a poor breakfast.The area where this hotel is located is not safe enough so I would recommend to park your car in the nearest parking and try not to walk alone late at night...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights. Reception and cleaning staff were very friendly. Due to a slight misunderstanding in the booking, we got and upgraded room, but the staff was kind enough to let us keep the upgraded room without any additional charge. The room we had was modern, clean and spacious and had a small balcony. Breakfast was above average, started early and finished around 10:30.The location is pretty good. Closest subway station is "Victoria" on the green line, and there are several buses you can catch on Alexandras avenue. Although located next to "Exarhia", an area with a bad reputation, I haven't encountered any problem.
The prices were very reasonable, check the hotel's site as they often have offers which are hard to beat. Overall a very good experience, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saUra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL-TR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel for a long weekend with our friends.
One of the best reception which I have faced in whole Greece..Very friendly and warm persons have been working under this roof.. They have upgrated our rooms without any additional charge.
Specious rooms with super clean beddings..
Quite good breakfast have been serving every morning.
The only thing which you have to be careful is they do shut-down heating systems during the day and that causes cold rooms if you want to stay in your room during the day. If it happens, talk with reception to turn it on again..
Also be aware of the fact that the whirpool type of bath tubs do not work..So, do not even think of making fantasies :)

Room Tip: Upper levels are better due to noises from the street..Also try to not to stay at corner rooms since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKALIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really convenient location for local mini-markets and eateries once you take a walk around the block. Also about just a 20-minute walk towards the Windbaths, Plaka and mini sightseeing tram which goes up to the Acropolis, Parthenon and New Acropolis Museum.

The hotel is pleasantly modern and decorated. The Reception is always helpful and communication in English is not a problem, either verbal or written. I believe that the hotel did accommodate my requirement for a quiet room by providing one on a higher level.

For someone who prefers to start early, the buffet breakfast is convenient. The variety is good and includes hot breakfast choices. A major drawback for me is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the hotel room itself.

Room Tip: Rooms can vary very much in size even on the same floor of just three. The first I was in was a squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KazCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in October based on the reviews on here.

When we arrived we were given a lovely room but it did not have a stand alone shower so I phoned reception to ask if they had another room available. The guy on reception was very helpful and changed our room immediately.

Breakfast was good and included cereals, toast, cake, pastries and a few warm options.

The location was not close to the centre but we are keen walkers so didn't mind the 25-30 min walk into the centre. There is also a metro stop 5min from the hotel if you need it. Some reviewers have commented on the area surrounding the hotel. We didn't experience any issues when we were here apart from a few unsavoury looking characters in the area on one night but they were harmless.

Areos thoroughly deserves its high rating on trip advisor and I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in athens!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walsall115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel we stayed in throughout Europe.

Positives: spacious room, awesome view off the patio, large bathroom, fridge, stove top, closet, free slippers, friendly staff, nice breakfast
Negatives: it doesn't have stand up shower, its just a little too far from the action

Would be my definition of a 4.5 hotel, so trip advisor is right on. The staff was extremely helpful with suggestions and even the culture, current events, etc. It meant a lot.

If it was about 1/2 mile closer to downtown it would be the perfect hotel (and prob triple the cost).

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,479 reviews
Centrotel Hotel
#20 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#19 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#42 of 330 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Victory Inn
#30 of 330 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Athens Lotus Hotel
#33 of 330 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areos Hotel

Address: Bouboulinas 19, Athens 10682, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Exarchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#28 Family Hotel in Athens
#30 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#34 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Areos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areos Hotel opened its doors in summer 2008, ready to accommodate travelers from all over the world who seek design and quality standards in their accommodation, as well as high quality service. Hotel Areos' rooms were built and designed in a way that will cover and serve every need of modern travelers. A combination of wooden surfaces, modern colors, luxurious interiors and lighting, fashion and environment that meets customers' standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Areos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing