We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Athens!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Tony to your Saves list
Hotel Tony
Zacharitsa 26 | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in Athens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Tony at the beginning of our Greece location, and another night at the end, and had a wonderful experience! We took the metro to the hotel - it's an easy walk from the nearest metro station (Syntagma Fix - ~400 meters). The hotel is located in a residential area of Athens, which made it less tourist-y and felt very safe. The hotel is walking distance from everything you'd want to do in Athens - just a short walk from the Acropolis and all of the other historical sites; a slightly longer but still quite manageable walk from Syntagma square. The only times we used the metro in Athens were to go to the Olympic stadium, which is a little farther out, and the airport.

For our first 2 nights we had a double room in the annex portion of the hotel, which is accessed around the corner from the hotel's main entrance. All of the rooms in the hotel have been recently renovated, so the facilities were very nice - especially the bathroom, which was very modern and a nice surprise. Our room had a small balcony with a retractable awning, which was nice. Nescafe instant coffee and a kettle were provided in the room (which had a small kitchenette area), which was a nice touch. On our last night, we were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment which was HUGE, very nicely appointed, and would have been wonderful for a family (although it was just the two of us!)

There is no breakfast included or offered at the hotel, but there are several inexpensive options closeby on the walk to the Acropolis area, so we enjoyed breakfast at a local bakery each morning. Tony, the owner, and his son were wonderful and happy to provide directions or suggestions when asked. There is free wifi in the hotel, as well as a computer in the lobby with internet access that is free to use. We truly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend Hotel Tony to others! For the high quality of the rooms, safe and convenient location, and nice owner, this hotel was an incredible value for the price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    138
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
129
205
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Tony in June and it was such a pleasant surprise. We stayed in newly remodeled rooms that were spacious, well-appointed, with a balcony and a kitchenette. There were several shops nearby so we bought a few provisions to have for breakfast in the room. Tony was great to give us recommendations (and a map) to get out and enjoy the city. Great price for a conveniently located hotel. We had to be at the airport at 6 am for our departing flight and we appreciated the arrangements-all handled by Tony. If you are looking for room service and amenities this is not the place for you but if you want a great place for a great price and are okay making your own coffee...this is it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We started our 7 week holiday in Athens and Hotel Tony was our first experience of Greece. We were not disappointed and in fact the standard was set high for the remainder of our holiday around Greece. Rooms were very clean and great for a family of five. The location was perfect - close to Metro (public transport) and walking distance to Acropolis, Plaka and Monastiraki. We always felt safe walking at night and great places to eat locally. Tony and his son were extremely helpful and their recommendations for places to eat were spot on. We cannot find fault and would not stay anywhere else when in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is just a little walk up from the train station. We arrived nine hours later than expected and tony put a sign on the door to ring for him since it was all closed up (11:30pm). The room was beautiful with cold ac, and was very quiet. In the morning he pointed us to a great breakfast spot and we walked the couple blocks to the acropolis. After, tony let us use his computer to print our airline tickets. The experience was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Perfect location, A very Nice owner, Great price
The Acropolis and Plaka are only 5 mins away. The rooms have have everything which are required and the metro station are just down the road, being in a residential area, it is far more quiet. If we ever visit Athens again, we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Once in a while, my procrastination pays off. I had been planning to book a room in a particular hotel in the Plaka District, but I took too long to think about it, and there were no rooms available anymore. So I reserved at Hotel Tony, and this turned out to be a great "fallback". The Acropolis and Plaka are only 5 - 10 minutes away and you don't have to struggle to find (and pay for) parking. (We parked across the street from the hotel and left our car there for two days.) Plus, being in a residential area, it is far more quiet and you get the added bonus of getting an idea of seeing how the "real people" live. Tony and Addonis are lovely, and while providing only the basics, the place is spotless. If we ever visit Athens again, we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Best in town for location, cleanliness, hospitality, price. Ask for one of the newer rooms which have been recently remodeled. Tony and Vasilis could not have beeen more accomodating. Thanks, dear ones ... I'll be back. Thea

Room Tip: They have no pool or restaurant ... but they would be great, if they did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tony

Address: Zacharitsa 26 | Koukaki, Athens 117 41, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.