We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and more than adequate food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GB Roof Garden - Hotel Grande Bretagne

GB Roof Garden - Hotel Grande Bretagne
Panepistimiou 1, Athens 10563, Greece
+3102103330766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,823 restaurants in Athens
Price range: $34 - $137
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and more than adequate food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The view of the Acropolis and Lycabettus makes this an unusual dining experience . The one star Michelin
rated restaurant derives great ambience from these views.
The food is very good, although I think the chef spoiled the Black Angus Boneless Rib Eye, by putting a sauce on it.
I probably had not noticed it listed like that on the menu , otherwise I would have requested it be served plain. I am not certain the meat is actually American Black Angus Beef , but it is certainly the best beef i have eaten in Greece .
Unfortunately we both had the Rib Eye for our main course, so I can not comment on any others.
The Tuna Tartare was very nice, The Risotto was very well done and the espresso was top shelf. The wait staff were very attentive , almost fawning.
We will be back for certain

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    272
    57
    39
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We atyaed atbthe hotel. Great view especially in sommer when you can sit outside. Nicely layed out restaurant and service great. Menu simple enough but good. Worth a visit even if just for a drink on the terrace

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I couldn't imagine a better spot to have a great dinner in Athens. The view from the roofgarden on top of the hotel is beautiful but besides that, also the dinner was perfect. The restaurant offers a winelist with a lot of choices. Also the food is prepared very good and the steak that my partner had was from extreme good quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great food and good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a lunch using the most expensive set menu. Ribeye was excellent. Wine list is superb and the sommelier very helpful. The prices are not too outrageous either which would be expected. Service is pretty good but a little distracted so I can see what other contributors mean. Great venue and atmosphere. The view is to die for. Going for a late lunch and watching the sun set across the Acropolis is just wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and wine, Excellent View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Had Lunch at the roof garden, enjoyed two excellent glasses of wine (each at 15 euros), a wonderfull authentic Greek salad and the best melt in your mouth lamb cutlet I have ever had, overlooking the acropolis and Parthenon on one side, and the amphitheater and parliament on the other side. A perfect lunch served by truly knowledgeable, courteous, English speaking service staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GB Roof Garden - Hotel Grande Bretagne also viewed

 
Kifisia, Athens
Athens, Attica
 

Been to GB Roof Garden - Hotel Grande Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GB Roof Garden - Hotel Grande Bretagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.