We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dove Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast

The Dove Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast
Holbrook Hill, Harleston IP20 0EP, England
+44 1986 788315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Harleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had our first visit to this little restaurant and was very pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the food. The service was welcoming and very professional. With pre-dinner drink, 3 course meal and wine, we thought the £100 bill was good. Pork Loin to die for! Will certainly recommend and visit again. Only question - why do people refer this as a "french restaurant", as it clearly is not. Well worth a visit for a quality well presented meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New to the area, amazed by the quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having moved from Yorkshire earlier this year we have been exploring the local "eateries " using trip advisor.
We chose the Dove to take our visitors to for an evening meal. After a warm welcome and pre dinner drink perusing the menus my friend asked if any of the dishes contained garlic as she is very allergic to it. The chef came out and explained that he would do a special starter for her. |Great personal touch much appreciated. We all enjoyed our meal very much, the food is excellent, portion size perfect, maybe the dining room lacks a little atmosphere but the quality of the cuisine makes up for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

From being met at the door to leaving at the end of the night, a fantastic evening for our party of four. The quality of the food was exceptional, the service warm and attentive - including chef coming out and checking all was well with our meals and providing details of how some elements were prepared. The prices for both food and wine were reasonable, simply couldn't fault anything and would certainly eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Family meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a night, the journey was awful,floods, snow and ice, but well worth the effort. Lovely food and great service, price as you would expect the excellent quality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food good, atmosphere lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food was very well executed, however we found the general demeanour of the front of house to be lacking personality, style and attention to detail. It was a pleasant experience, but like so many other eateries in the area, not quite what we are looking for.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dove Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast also viewed

 

Been to The Dove Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dove Restaurant with Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.