We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Save Saved
You added Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia to your Saves list
Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Two Islands
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spring Bay
Opio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As good as it gets...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Firefly in February 2013 in one of their four truly fabulous rooms. We had the Nutmeg on the lower level and the view of the sea in the distance was fantastic. The room was spacious with a lovely seating area, our own private balcony furnished with both chairs and chaises longue, a double shower, separate wash room and a utility room equipped with refrigerator/minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, library shelf, slippers and bathrobes and suitcase and dressing room facilities. Fresh hibiscus flowers were artfully strewn on the bed and just about everywhere else. Colorful sarongs for each of us were suspended from hooks and decorated the room. This is luxury in a relaxed, friendly and laid back manner, very good service, impeccable housekeeping. Don't miss the plantation tour with Keith and do order a picnic lunch which will be delivered right to your blanket on the beach!! And according to my husband, Rodney makes the best rum punch on the island.

Room Tip: We were happy with our lower level room but an upper level room would give an even greater view. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
midlands uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I love Bequia.... such a fabulous unspoilt Carribean Island! This was our second visit to the island and we chose the Firefly after reading some great reviews.
The Firefly is set on an old Plantation on the North Eastern side of the this small island.
Such beautiful grounds with great views out to the Turquoise Carribean sea. It can get windy at times due to the trade winds.
The rooms are beautiful, really special - very roomy with a huge double shower.
Large balcony as well with great views out to palm trees and the sea.
Rustic lounge and restaurant area, great food freshley prepared and strong cocktails made with their own rum - which is potent!
The staff are very friendly and helpful and our favourite part of the day was taking the two dogs for a walk on the coast road and out towards the forest - so relaxing!
Bequia has lots to offer - great beaches, bars and restaurants dotted around. The town is so lively with a great vibe, check out the market and the little stalls selling local gifts etc....
We opted for the 'best of both world's' package which gets you 4 nights in Bequia and 4 nights at the Firefly in Mustique - I 100% recommend this great value package! It is perfect for exploring these wonderful Islands in the best part of the Carribean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Plantation Cottage at the Firefly Hotel is a little gem. The cottage is good for a small family but if you can make the ( rather hefty) room rate and are just a couple on your own go for it. It is large, bright and airy. A real little home from home with a lovely view of the garden, palms trees and sea beyond. They have thought of everything in this cottage, and I mean everything. In the bathroom they have the usual toiletries but also pretty stripy bathrobes, slippers, lots of coat hangers, sarongs (yep who would have thought of those?). There are lovely towels and bedding on a comfy bed. By the front door inside a basket are folded beach towels next to sunhats, an umbrella each incase it is raining when you walk the few yards to breakfast. There were things for the beach like a snorkel kit in case you have forgotten yours and childrens beach toys. The cottage does has the usual things such as tea making facilities and mini bar, safe and things for Internetery and free WiFi something that many five star hotels charge you for which really, really irritates me! The restaurant is open on all sides for the breeze and looks out over the plantation to the sea. After breakfast you can sit on the lovely plantation chairs with your coffee looking down on the pool. If you have problems with walking the main rooms are up on the hillside and the pool down some steps but the restaurant and Plantation Cottage are accessed from the driveway. What a lovely, lovely place with wonderful staff. Don't forget to do a plantation tour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm writing this review for anyone looking at the various plantation-style hotels on Bequia, and wondering how they compare. I wished I'd had a review like this to help me before booking!
We stayed at the The Old Fort in January this year, but we also considered The Sugar Reef and this one, Firefly. So during the holiday my curiosity got the better of me and I had a good look at the two I hadn't chosen. So this review is based on having a drink in the bar at Firefly and being offered a guided tour of the rooms and grounds by the housekeeper. Of the three, this one is by far the most luxurious. Definitely a 5-star standard. The rooms are stunning, with lots of space, his 'n hers showers (!) and large balconies. They have a Caribbean style, and the layout and decor is exquisite. But the price does reflect that. The hillside at Firefly is quite steep with the rooms at the top, the bar and restaurant in the middle and the pool below. It's quite a climb from the pool back up to the rooms, so I'd recommend choosing a room on the first rather than the second floor if you're not super-fit. The pool is large with plenty of sunbeds, but the Old Fort also has a very good pool, though has deckchairs rather than proper sunbeds. Firefly's views are mainly tropical countryide, with the sea in the distance, but we thought they were lovely. And we loved the soundtrack of the crickets and birds which is really distinct here. You do feel you're in the heart of the "jungle". The sea is a long walk away, and to be honest this coast doesn't have the best beaches unless you like strong waves. For a day on the beach you'd be better to take one of the fun island taxis and go to the leeward side where the beaches are really wonderful. The staff seemed extremely friendly. The barman, complete with bow tie, was very happy to organise our room tour with the housekeeper, even though it was sundowner time and he was clearly quite busy. To sum up, all three hotels have fabulous views and great atmosphere, but you'd choose Firefly for the high quality rooms, and for a more professional, very atmospheric bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: choose a lower room, rather than the highest, as you'll have to walk up from the pool and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I think I've subconsciously hesitated writing this review because I'm not sure I can find the right words to properly describe our experience at the Firefly plantation--how can one describe perfection? My husband and I stayed a week at the Firefly in November 2012. It is, hands down, one of the BEST travel experiences we have had the fortune of experiencing. The staff was one of the highlights and should be commended. Rodney, Donovan and Ernie were professional, fun, friendly and went above-and-beyond to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. From scheduling a tour of the island to making sure we had a taxi on our layover in St. Vincent, Rodney and Donovan were accommodating in every way.

The grounds are amazing and lovely! The views from our room were absolutely amazing and authentically Caribbean! I appreciated the historic nature of the plantation and all the original buildings. We, of course, did the plantation tour and learned the history of the property (fascinating) and enjoyed the freshly picked fruit. The atmosphere of the Firefly Plantation was relaxing and hospitable. As an animal lover, I loved Judy and Annie the plantation dogs, who stayed outside our room at night as an added measure of hospitality! I appreciated the lovely and well-appointed rooms, with a touch of upscale "rustic-ness." Truly a one-of a kind, authentic Caribbean boutique hotel experience. Beautiful and perfect in every way!

The food was fresh and fabulous, prepared by local chefs (my mouth waters now just thinking about it!) and complete with freshly harvested plantation produce at every meal. Donovan is an expert bartender, making fantastic libations and conversation! We enjoyed every dining experience here to the fullest!

Overall, the island is idyllic and the people wonderfully friendly. This is what the Caribbean should be! We can't wait to return to this little piece of heaven in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited the Firefly plantation to tour the gardens. This was perhaps the best trip on our visit to the Grenadines. The tour was done by the head gardener who was very knowledgeable and friendly. He pointed out the different fruit trees and we tried sampling, almonds, coconuts, oranges, lemons and many more unusual fruits. The vegetable plot provides for the hotel and also for the sister hotel in Mustique.

The plantation used to grow sugar cane and also cotton. Some of the buildings used for processing can be seen.

The location is beautiful with the grounds leading down to the sea. It is a very quiet and peaceful place and the bar and restaurant were tastefully designed and furnished. The cocktail list used many home-grown ingredients.

A visit to Firelfy is highly recommended if you want to get a flavour of the real Caribbean, not just the inside of your all-inclusive clone resort.

Room Tip: We visited for the day and didn't stay but I am sure this would be a beautiful place for a few d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit on Tour
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We revisited one of our favourite hotels at Christmas; trying to escape the dreaded affair in the UK. We were not disappointed; so much so we stayed longer to see in 2013.
As usual the service and accommodation were superb, the staff friendly and helpful and the whole ambiance unbeatable. The island never lets you down and the highlight of New Year's Eve was the fabulous firework display in the harbour.
A most splendid holiday at an exceptional location. We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: If you can try and book the 'cottage', it is fantastic, the sights incredible and just fits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Address: Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spring Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with a casual, 'Chic-Caribbean' relaxed atmosphere. A short walk through the palm groves leads you to Spring Beach. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms, all with fabulous views, king sized beds, walk-in closets, wifi, air-conditioning, music systems, luxury linens and amenities. A fun and friendly bar welcomes visitors and locals alike. The restaurant serves excellent local cuisine based on fresh produce grown on the plantation. The staff are attentive and service excellent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia Spring Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.