We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse of the real Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia to your Saves list
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Island Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aylesbury, Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A glimpse of the real Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited the Firefly plantation to tour the gardens. This was perhaps the best trip on our visit to the Grenadines. The tour was done by the head gardener who was very knowledgeable and friendly. He pointed out the different fruit trees and we tried sampling, almonds, coconuts, oranges, lemons and many more unusual fruits. The vegetable plot provides for the hotel and also for the sister hotel in Mustique.

The plantation used to grow sugar cane and also cotton. Some of the buildings used for processing can be seen.

The location is beautiful with the grounds leading down to the sea. It is a very quiet and peaceful place and the bar and restaurant were tastefully designed and furnished. The cocktail list used many home-grown ingredients.

A visit to Firelfy is highly recommended if you want to get a flavour of the real Caribbean, not just the inside of your all-inclusive clone resort.

Room Tip: We visited for the day and didn't stay but I am sure this would be a beautiful place for a few d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brit on Tour
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We revisited one of our favourite hotels at Christmas; trying to escape the dreaded affair in the UK. We were not disappointed; so much so we stayed longer to see in 2013.
As usual the service and accommodation were superb, the staff friendly and helpful and the whole ambiance unbeatable. The island never lets you down and the highlight of New Year's Eve was the fabulous firework display in the harbour.
A most splendid holiday at an exceptional location. We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: If you can try and book the 'cottage', it is fantastic, the sights incredible and just fits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at a Villa just up hill from the Firefly and stopped one afternoon for drinks. Very surprised at the Martini list and the Praying Mantis is a Martini you won't want to miss. They poor the Vodka in this drink from a bottle that is stuffed with ginger and lemon grass. You have to experience this drink to understand it.

We spent a couple of hours with Ernie (the bar keep) trying many different drinks while enjoying the vie of the plantation and talking with other travelers. On couple had taken a taxi to the turtle sanctuary up the road and got stuck walking back to town. They saw the sign for the Firefly and stopped for a drink, bite to eat and to call a taxi. They ended up drinking with us and relished the Matinis as well.

Wish I could write more about the place, but perhaps I will after our next trip when we will definitely stay at the Firefly!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Really beautiful scenery. Delicious food and great rooms. The staff are so friendly, and all of this together creates a perfect atmosphere for an idyllic holiday in the Caribbean. We'd like to thank Rodney and everyone else for making this the highlight of our trip to the West Indies, plus the dogs and cats!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our amazing honeymoon at the Firefly Bequia (and Firefly Mustique, subject of a separate review). We took advantage of Firefly's "Best of Both Worlds" special, which included four nights at the Firefly Plantation in Bequia. Due to an issue with getting to Barbados (thanks, American Airlines), we were delayed in arriving in Bequia by one day. Stan was very helpful in rescheduling our flights from Barbados to Bequia and assisted in finding us accommodations in Barbados for the night. When we finally arrived in Bequia, we were greeted at the airport by John, one of the local taxi drivers in Bequia. John was very friendly and we ended up using his services the entire time we were there. When we arrived at Firefly, we were immediately greeted by Rodney, Donovan, and Ernie with a welcome drink. These three gentlemen provided AMAZING service the entire time we were there. They accommodated every request and question with a smile. We got the sense that they weren't just doing a job, but genuinely enjoyed working for Firefly and wanted to make our stay amazing. Our room was amazing--it reminded me of my other favorite hotel in Carmel Valley in California. It was luxurious and HUGE, with a spacious bedroom, walk in closet, separate semi-outdoor shower, huge patio, and large bathroom. The food? The food was amazing. Since Firefly is on a plantation, the hotel uses fresh produce and fruit in the restaurant. Everything we had was amazing. We also enjoyed a plantation tour provided by Keith, who told us about all of the produce grown on the plantation and some of its history. Rodney also assisted us in finding a boat charter when we decided we wanted to go to St. Vincent for the day (and didn't want to take the ferry). Overall, this place is a real gem. I feel lucky that we were able to stay there and recommend it to absolutely anyone. If possible, we will be back in the future!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Location, physical, natural or human, what makes a hotel great? Bequia is a very wonderful island that's where I'll start. The rooms at the Firefly Plantation are sumptuous and oh so comfortable. The plantation grounds are like the oyster around the pearl... a dining & bar area full of character and charm... a sublime pool... wonderful gardens... great people.

But it is the staff that make the place a true delight. Rodney and Donovan are a joy to be with around the bar and meals and they'll see to it that you love your stay. Dominick is just as helpful and Kevin will teach you about plants and organic gardening with patience and wisdom. Last but not least, by any means, are Judith and Anna who led us to beaches and on long walks... they are dream dogs. Firefly Bequia exceeded our high expectations in every way. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

A very lovely location to be in the Caribbean. So nice, we enjoy Firefly very much.
Good food, Fabulouso staff, excellent room.
We like very much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Address: Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with a casual, 'Chic-Caribbean' relaxed atmosphere. A short walk through the palm groves leads you to Spring Beach. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms, all with fabulous views, king sized beds, walk-in closets, wifi, air-conditioning, music systems, luxury linens and amenities. A fun and friendly bar welcomes visitors and locals alike. The restaurant serves excellent local cuisine based on fresh produce grown on the plantation. The staff are attentive and service excellent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia Spring Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.