We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Firefly - A True Caribbean Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia to your Saves list
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy two islands offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Dublin, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Firefly - A True Caribbean Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Day 1 of our honeymoon on Bequia, sweet sweet – we wanted a trip that wasn’t your typical all-inclusive tall-wall tourist-trapping type affair – our favorite part of traveling is immersing ourselves in an experience completely different from our everyday lives in the States – the Grenadines were the perfect pick! Off the beaten path, south of the Hurricane belt, and full of true West Indian culture. Bequia stole our hearts and left us yearning for more!!

The Firefly resort is the perfect blend of premium luxury and natural beauty - the bar/restaurant and rooms are made completely of stone, rock and dark wood - unlike an eyesore that compromises of so many tropical destinations, the Firefly blends right into the surrounding hillside, but does so without any sacrifice in comfort or accommodation. The rooms are large and open, with wide sliding doors to let in the refreshing breeze and jaw-dropping view of the plantation and ocean. The beds are sublimely comfortable, shower is stone-walled and spacious, and opens up to the large balcony and terrace which allow you to soak it all in! The limited number of rooms and impeccable, polite, responsive staff truly made my wife and I feel like we were the only guests on the grounds. Rodney and Donovan were there to welcome us from the moment we stepped out of the taxi, and never stopped tending to our every need until John the cab driver took us away at the end of our stay! They provided us with a level of personal care that I have never experienced before in all my travels. From the delicious meals, served in our rooms, on our balconies, or in the beautiful, open restaurant which overlooked the pool, grounds and ocean; to Keith’s informative plantation tour which displayed the delicious fruits and spices that were featured in all the meals; to the lively reggae music playing while the lively conversation grew at the bar – our time at the Firefly was absolutely first-class from top to bottom.

We spent most of our days tucked away at the Firefly - resting on the plush, cool, king-sized beds beneath the soft, inviting sheets, eating delicious, simple Caribbean-American fusion cuisine served in our room (the conch soup and chocolate mousse were easily the highlights), and soaking up the sun by the quiet, discreet pool - honestly, the surroundings gave us no reason to leave! We are on the secluded eastern shore of Bequia, nestled inside the grounds of a 30-acre, 18th-century plantation which now actively grows all types of herbs, fruits and vegetables. We are here in late July, at the beginning of the wet season, so the surrounding hillsides are dense and green and the plantation grounds are bursting with lush flora of all colors – the only sounds are the birds chirping overhead, the breeze blowing through the swaying palms, and the Atlantic running ashore in the distance. Dragonflies dance above the still pool water, butterflies flutter through the deep green bushes that envelop us – the pool is a solace for all our senses – the sun warms, the water refreshes, the quiet soothes, the privacy nurtures - with our view from the second-floor Coconut Room stretching all the way to the Atlantic, we are tuly in an idyllic Caribbean Paradise!

We spent seven magnificent days with Rodney, Donovan and his team at the Firefly on Bequia, then left for a 3-day sailing trip to visit the other Grenadine islands. Without getting into too many details (saved for another not-so-positive review of a certain sailing charter company that shall at this point remain nameless) our sailing trip was a rude awakening from the first-class service and comfort we enjoyed at the Firefly. Our first island stop was Mustique, and my wife simply would not return to the sailboat once we arrived. Not sure what to do to salvage our honeymoon, I was greeted by a sign that at first I thought was an oasis – a welcome sign for the Firefly Mustique at the foot of the dock! I quickly ran over to Basil’s, used the phone, told the gracious hosts at the Firefly our situation, and in less than an hour they had a golf cart ready to pick up my wife and deposit her in an open room while I gathered my things! I managed to email Stan, the manager of the Firefly resorts – he was most gracious in extending us accommodations at his facility on Mustique, because we truly could not have imagined spending the last few days of our honeymoon anywhere else than in the confines of the incredible Firefly resorts.

In (not so) short – the Firefly resorts on Bequia and Mustique are without comparison the most comfortable, consistent, conscientious, classy, courteous and cush you will ever enjoy – their entire staff on both facilities are absolutely top-shelf in their service, professionalism, and warmth. The food is impeccable, rooms are immaculate and accommodating, and the vibe on either island is what a true Caribbean experience is made of. My deepest thanks go out to Rodney, Donovan, Stan, and their entire team! You made our honeymoon truly once-in-a-lifetime! We hope to return to the Grenadines, and the Firefly, very soon!!!

Room Tip: The Coconut Room, upper left corner, hands down!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mustique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

My partner and I enjoyed a long weekend at the Firefly Bequia, after weeks of work with no days off it was bliss to chill out at the Firefly...relaxing by the pool, strolling through the gardens, meeting interesting people and enjoying the luxury and comfort of a lovely hotel. We definately want to return to explore more of Bequia, the Firefly is a perfect place to stay. The views are wonderful and the location secluded. Liz and Stan have done a wonderful job of creating an oasis....of beauty and calm ....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I arrived on Bequia via Firefly speed boat from Mustique. It was an exhilarating, adventurous trip, thanks to the very capable boat captain, Garnet. My stay at Firefly Bequia was short but oh so sweet. The rooms are large with exceptional views of the bay, made even more exceptional by the waxing, almost full, moon. Sounds of the frogs and crickets made it feel as if I were far, far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Firefly Bequia is truly like a "retreat" hotel with its large, luxurious pool and magical plantation mango orchard, horses, and well behaved, friendly dogs Judy and Ana. The plantation is spacious and beautiful, and Keith, the grounds keeper did a superb job giving us(myself and fellow guests) a fun and informative tour of the different trees and plants. He let us taste the fruits off the trees and even climbed a coconut tree! I cant say enough about the staff. All of them are very friendly, fun and accommodating. The food is excellent, my favorite being the goat curry. Max is a top chef and Donavon is great at the bar and restaurant. Firefly Bequia is located a short distance from the town, near the turtle sanctuary. We met Brother King, at the turtle sanctuary, and thoroughly enjoyed his animated conversation and explanation of what he is doing to help preserve the hawksbill turtles. This place wouldnt be what it is without the tasteful attention to every detail. Thank you Firefly for such good memories.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Looks great, feels better. What a fantasic, secluded venue for a wedding in the caribbean. Excellent, attentive service coupled with some of the most fantastic food we sampled in the many places we visited. The room was of the highest standard - spacious and beautifully arranged with lovely views. The staff did everything they could to make sure the wedding day was perfect, with a lovely intimate ceremony amongst the lemon and lime trees in the plantation. Many thanks to Rodney, Max, Donovan, Dylan and Keith for making our stay so special. Many thanks too to Elizabeth for all the planning and preparation ahead of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvika, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at the Firefly in Bequia over new year. It was the perfect place to arrive and relax for the first couple of days of our holiday. The room/suite was beautiful with everything you could wish for. Very comfortable king size four poster bed with crisp cotton sheets. Lovely double shower and bathroom, plenty of space in the dressing room complete with kettle, tea and coffe, chilled water and fridge.
The cellphone for guest use plus the Ipod loaded with great music is a nice touch.
We really relaxed and was very well looked after by the manager Donovan and his team.
We enjoyed fullboard and the food was delicious with a good winelist. The staff decorated the restaurant for new years eve and managed to create a party atmosphere with only
about 10 dinner guests. The one complaint we have is that the new years eve menu could have been more festive, most places in Bequia and the Caribean serve lobster but we had the normal dinner menu which inluded goat curry! Not exactly what we expected from the
Firefly, a complimentary welcome drink, glass of bubbly would have been a nice touch as all
the guests gathered in the bar for a drink before dinner.
We still wish we could have stayed longer as this really is a get away from it all kind of place.
The Firefly is 10 minutes drive from Port Elizabeth so you will need to hire a car or use a local taxi. The hotel has a great driver, John who is on call most of the time.
The beaches close to the hotel are not among the best on the island and definately not for small children but we highly reccomend Princess Margareth beach with Jacks bar for lunch, super food at good value. The hotel pool is in a lovely setting just down from the restaurant
(unfortunately a little bit worn with half dead plants in pots) but with only four bedrooms
never busy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We are home but our hearts are still at Firefly Bequia.
---the soft breezes over the fields where the horses are frollicking after a rainstorm the night before
---the sparkling blue waters that greet you every morning when you walk out onto your balcony
---the wonderful staff , Rodney, Donovan, Leslie Anne, Keith and all that attend to your every need and make your stay so perfect and peaceful
---the official greeters and companions for the day if desired, Jude, Ana and Vivi who make you long for your 4 legged friends back home
---the exquisitely detailed rooms where nothing is lacking for your comfort, pleasure and enjoyment
---the private beaches, the peaceful pool, the abundance of radiant flowers, the fruit trees and gardens that provide fresh, organic produce for your gourmet dining pleasure
---relaxing on the veranda overlooking the lushgrounds while enjoying a perfectly prepared tropical drink as the sun sets is good for one's soul
---and then there is the Plantation itself with all it's natural beauty, intriguing history, buildings and nostaglia
Firefly Bequia is a trip back in time with all the conveniences of today ! This is an experience you will never forget and will always want to repeat !
Thank you Liz and Stan. What you have created at Firefly Bequia is magical !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Bequia is the most beautiful island, unspoilt, real Caribbean charm and tranquility.
We had visited one becfore by boat about ten years ago and wanted to return to stay in a hotel but untill recently there has not really been anywhere appropriate to stay. We are not flashy people (Sandy Lane we are not!) but we do want a bit of lux so were delighted when Firefly opened. We stayed last year and have just come back from our second visit. Last year was lovely (or we would not have returned!) but this year was even better. The managment have done a wonderful job on the grounds, pool is clean and sparkling, sevice wonderful and we were made to feel very special and welcome. It is that freindly, warm and genuine attitude that really made it for us. The rooms were spotless and well equipted, wonderful music on the ipods, candles, and flowers. The food is great and the cook most accomodating.
It's nice to return to a place that just feels 'right' and to come back and find it even better than before is fab!! Value for money wise spot on.
Thanks Firefly for a great time. Thanks Bequia for being you!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia

Address: Spring | Bequia, Spring Bay, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Spring Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel with a casual, 'Chic-Caribbean' relaxed atmosphere. A short walk through the palm groves leads you to Spring Beach. Spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms, all with fabulous views, king sized beds, walk-in closets, wifi, air-conditioning, music systems, luxury linens and amenities. A fun and friendly bar welcomes visitors and locals alike. The restaurant serves excellent local cuisine based on fresh produce grown on the plantation. The staff are attentive and service excellent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia Spring Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.