We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Samui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,365 Reviews
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We had a pool villa and it didn't disappoint! Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff, glorious location on beautiful beach - we have traveled extensively in Thailand but this was one of the best beach resorts we have ever stayed in. We loved walking along the beach in the evening and eating at one of the beach restaurants - our long term favourite being Crystals! For lunch we had bbq'd corn on the cob and fresh fruit from a guy who wanders up and down the beach - bliss!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_Resort, Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to do this. The team here at the resort are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that we were able to exceed your expectations in so many ways. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope that you will return and see us again soon. Koramit L.- Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    224
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
141
943
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Three years later we returned to Sala Samui. We booked a delux balcony room like we had previously but the constant "running water" sound coming from our back wall disturbed our sleep so we alsked to move rooms as well as upgrade. We were offered a special price for a Sala Pool Villa so after viewing it we accepted then moved in that afternoon and what a fantastic decision! We were offered a special price for a Sala Pool Villa so after viewing it we accepted then moved in that afternoon and what a fantastic decision! Not only more spacious in the room and bathroom but the pool is beautiful. Everything is peaceful and very private with the high walls. Yes there are more mosquitoes as others have written but they are fairly controllable by using the mosquitoes coil and mats provided by Sala. We found most had the same friendly service (just one or two that didn’t) and great style from last time, the only thing we were disappointed with was the food at Sala breakfast which was often just warm, dry pancakes and over cooked bacon which put us off going there for dinner which we had done previously. The Sala restaurant is more expensive but we didn’t mind last time as the quality was there. Therefore we went outside for all our dinners and found good quality and prices for the Thai food. “The Orchid” is a short stroll outside of Sala and “Crystals” on the beach has good food plus ambience with candle lit tables on the soft white sand. That’s the great thing about Sala you’re not captured like some other resorts. Easy walking distance to eat elsewhere and only a 10 minute drive to chewing for shopping and nightlife. Take the Sala shuttle which is reliable, clean and only 100 baht per person whereas the taxi will cost at least 300 baht.
Despite the food disappointment (although some was still good) we are talking about returning again for our third time. This really is a great resort and would certainly recommend it. As the Thai people say….Kob koon kaa Sala.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
I do hope that you will be able to come back to our resort for "SALA Thirds"!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa and we are glad that you thought the experience was great.
Your candid observations are most appreciated and asssit us in making the experiences for our guests even more more enjoyable. Thank you for telling us about the items at breakfast that were not to your liking. We are working hard at present on introducing a new exciting lunch and dinner menu and enhancing our breakfast buffet too, with many new additions and special food and beverage items.
C.S. Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a 4 nights at the SALA. We loved many things, but most of all the design of the resort was beautiful and cohesive (small things like having the library and internet in a treehouse arrangement). The staff were also very pleasant and accommodating.

We stayed in a deluxe balcony room. Our room was very spacious and relaxing on the huge daybed on the balcony at night with the fan on was very pleasant. We rather liked the outdoor bathroom; however do keep your toiletries indoors to keep them cool. The only issue was that complimentary water was left in the outdoor bathroom meaning it would warm up, and there was no room to chill the water without emptying the minibar contents onto the dresser.

Breakfast was well thought out. There is a continental buffet selection and hot dishes are cooked to order. We found this preferable to a hot buffet as eggs and pancakes weren’t sitting in soggy bain-maries. The lunch Phad Thai was exceptional and the range of cocktails and smoothies was excellent.

The 2 main pools were essential, as the ocean was uncomfortably warm. The bay is picturesque and very serene. The location does not offer much aside from neighbouring resorts, but we felt ourselves not needing to leave the SALA except to eat. We waited nearly half an hour for 2 pizzas at their italian restaurant Panagea, which were topping heavy and expensive, thus we ate mostly at Garland restaurant on the main road, and took the hotel shuttle (100B p/p one way) to Chaweng for dinner one night. We did not like Chaweng as it was smelly and very touristy, but you can pick up a Samui dining guide from the Activities desk to browse restaurants as they are in abundance there.

We did not encounter any mosquitos around the hotel or beach at all, compared to when we stayed in BoPhut. Choeng Mon would not suit families or people who like ‘doing things’ as there is not much to do aside from sit by the pool and the odd massage. However for couples and retreats, it is perfect as you avoid the main drags and enjoy a bit of tranquillity. Taxis we found expensive across all of Samui, and the burning smell mentioned in previous reviews is also not specific to SALA. It was a terrible shame that burning seemed to be the typical smell of Thailand where ever we went.

Overall SALA exceeded our expectations and when we moved to our next hotels we couldn’t help be disappointed given they were more expensive than the SALA, and much more ordinary. We will most definitely be returning to the SALA.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 10, 2010
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to do this. The team here at the resort are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and that we were able to exceed your expectations in so many ways. We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope that you will return and see us again soon. C.S. Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed in one of the Sala Pool villa's. The villa was spacious and the outdoor bathroom was quirky. Our private pool was a good size.

Pro's
Villa decor & outside area was very private and well maintained.

We arrived earlier than expected and were provided with a villa suite for the whole day until our room was ready, which was great!

Room cleaning was to a high standard and staff came back in the evening to tidy and light insect repellants in bathroom.

Staff very friendly and attentive.

Restaurant - food was very good and pretty good value. Breakfast, good selection. I would recommend the banana berrie smoothie, very refreshing!

The beach out the back of the hotel, was lovely and very quiet (may be due to the volcanic ash, riots in Bangkok putting people off going to thailand). There were a couple of merchants selling items, but they didn't bother people.

Con's
There is a building site accross the road from the hotel and they were burning stuff quite frequently and it smelled. I must admitt we only noticed this when were heading out of the resort to head to the nearby shops.

The resort itself is well maintained, but the surrounding restaurants and shops are not really up to a hight standard. There was a family mart and 7 eleven around 5 mins away which was useful for purchasing water and drinks as the mini bar as you would expect in the villa's was quite expensive.

Our AC worked fine for the 1st couple of days and our room was a lovely cool sanctury. However, the remaining days we had to call house keeping 3 times as the AC would not come below 24 degrees, some days it was up to 28 degrees and we wake up feeling all stuffy. We just gave up with it and spent more time in our pool.

The location was not the best and taxi's to chaweng and fisherman's village were plentiful, however, VERY expensive (200 to 350 baht each way)

On our final evening we recieved a bill for the mini bar when we had not eaten or drunk any items from the mini bar. We went to the reception to dispute the bill nad had to sit at recpetion for around 15 mins on our final night (open air recpetion, which gets VERY HOT), the charge was removed from our account, but it really put a dampner on the whole experience and as you can imagine on our final evening, the 15 mins could have been better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank you for the candid comments regading your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that you found our resort staff very friendly and attentive. I apologise for the problem with the mini bar bill on your final evening with us and agree that the 15 minute wait in reception was too long. This delay is of course not the service you should expect ,nor receive and I am sorry for this unfortunate incident and that it put a damper on an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable stay. On behalf of all the SALA Samui team I do sincerley hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our property in the future. C.S. Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Me and my husband stayed in Sala Samui for 14 nights for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived at Samui airport, it was perfect! We arrived at the hotel after leaving home 26 hours earlier and I couldn't stop smiling for hours. The reception staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived. They came and collected our luggage, had cold towels and drinks waiting for us. They then escorted us to our room.... We had a garden pool villa and it was beautiful. Normally, hotel rooms do not look anything like they do in the brochure but this was no different. The room was spacious and clean, the pool was a decent size and very clean, it was peaceful and quiet, our bed had been dressed with flowers etc.
The staff at the hotel were fantastic and couldn't have been any more professional or friendlier. They all spoke a good level of english and after a couple of days could recite your name, room number and drink choice.
After spending the first night in the hotel and spending a fortune, we decided to head out of the hotel and find somewhere a little cheaper. That's when we came across Just Jonnos. The bar is located just to the left of the entrance to the hotel. The food was nice and well priced, there was a great choice of drinks but the thing that stood out most of all was Jonno and Jo. We couldn't have met two nicer people while we were there. They made us feel welcome, gave us advice on things to do and see, places to go. They gave us free 'honeymoon' shots and hours of fun. We spent one night in there until 6am. We had so much fun we hadn't even realised what time it was! We spent a lot of time with them and went there for our last meal and drinks just before leaving for a farewell. I recommend that if you are staying at Sala or nearby to visit Just Jonnos. Do not expect a posh restaurant with fancy food. It is a lovely little funky bar serving good food with great people.
Another place I'd recommend is Crystals. This is a bar on the beach to the right of the hotel. We were recommended this place a few days before we left and I wish we had found it earlier. It is definitely not fancy but it ran by a Thai family who try their best, is located in a lovely place on the beach, the food is tasty and it is dirt cheap!!! They also offer massages, manicures, etc. I had a couple of massages here, a pedicure and a manicure and enjoyed every minute. The staff were very friendly and it cost a fraction of the hotels prices.
While we were there we hired a jeep and spent a couple of days travelling round the island. I'd definitely recommend doing this as we found gorgeous little places we wouldn't have visited otherwise. While we were driving around, we found a little place on the south west of the island called Five Islands. This is a must!!! There is a restaurant here which serves beautiful food and you can also pay 3000 bahts (just over £60) to hire an old Thai fishemans boot and the fisherman himself and travel around all of the little islands for the whole day! It was great value for money and was like a film setting. We spent all day out on the boat, came back to the restaurant where we could take showers and change and then had a romantic candlelit dinner on the beach while the sun was setting. It was beautiful.
We also visited Fishermans Village in Bo Phut. We went there two nights. The first night we went to a place called The Shack. It was a firendly place ran by Americans who couldn't have been nicer. The food was fantastic and they served me birthday cake while I was there and all came over to say Happy Birthday to me.
Not really sure what else to write about the hotel. It was peaceful, quiet, romantic, clean, friendly, pretty much everything you want for a nice romantic getaway or a honeymoon. I spent hours and hours researching where to go and which hotel to stay in and I don't fault my decision in the slightest. The only thing I wish I could've changed is to extend our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful comments you wrote about SALA Samui Resort and Spa. I am delighted to hear that your honeymoon stay at our resort was so relaxing and romantic. All the team here at the resort really enjoyed making this time so special for you. I hope that you will come back and see us again soon. C.S. Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Overall a great resort, you can tell it is linked to Six Senses, very similar feel, just smaller villas.

Pros
Beautiful Pool garden villas that are very nicely decorated. Beds are comfy
Great food, Great service
Nice pool area/beach area

Cons
They have a new GM and he was making changes to the breakfast layout, some good, and some bad. They moved the smoking section right next to the food, so we had to walk through the smokers to get to the buffet. Poor !!! (and please learn how to not burn bacon)

Pool villa 54 has a great big wall on the outer wall, hiding the shops. This makes it very claustrophobic. We asked to be moved and we were moved to 52. This is the corner villa, so it was much better. Even had a grassed area.

Pool Light didn’t work. Asked them to fix, but they never did.

Rooms are small, but not too bad.

Not Hotel related, but Koh Samui has the most expensive taxis in the world. Complete rip off. Could be even more expensive than Japan based on distances travelled. As this hotel is not in a main area, you have to catch a cab everywhere. But we found that most resorts are not all in one area, plus the main shopping strip is not very inviting. Nothing compared to Seminyak in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Thank you for the candid comments on your recent stay at SALA Samui Resort and Spa. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to outline both the positive and negative aspects of your time at our resort . I am delighted that you felt our property was so beautiful, with great food and service. Please be assured that we have changed the smoking area in our restaurant away from the buffet area..............as you correctly mentioned, new improved changes were being made to the breakfast setup and these have now been completed. The breakfast buffet is looking even better than ever! Thanks for the comment about the bacon, our Executive Chef has certainly taken this on board.
On behalf of all the SALA team I do hope that you will be able to come back and see us again soon. C.S. Bryan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
51Lver18
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

couldn't fault this hotel. Staff were terrific and couldn't do enough for you. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_Resort, Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
Thank you very much for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Samui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.