We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing sala Samui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Samui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“relaxing sala Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Sala Samui resort. We stayed in a pool Villa, and it was well worth the extra cost.

The villa was large and roomy, with a massive double bed. There was a double wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. There was a flat screen TV and DVD player, which we never needed, but is there if you want it. The outside bathroom was large with a very big bath( took about half an hour to fill it!), separate shower, which was excellent. The toilet was blocked upon arrival, but was unblocked within 5 minutes. We were later given a bottle of sparkling wine and passion fruit as an apology for the inconvenience. The pool was brilliant and was kept clean throughout our stay. The only downside to our villa was that we were on the central walkway down to the beach, so we didn't feel as private as we would have liked. The path was lined with pine trees, which whenever there was a gust of wind, which was quite regular, we got covered on leaves!

The food is absolutely fabulous. Breakfast had everything you could possibly need. There is a smoothie bar which you can order fresh smoothies from a menu or choose your own mix. There is a menu with hot food, all of which were delicious -would recommend the French toast with apples, raisins and maple syrup! There is a also a buffet with pastries, cold meats, fresh fruit, hot Thai food, toast, salad and an egg counter where you can order omelettes. Evening meal was also brilliant, where you choose from the menu. There is a Thai buffet on a Thursday, which is more expensive, but it is worth it to get to try all different Thai flavours. We ordered room service on a couple of nights, and that was of the same standard as you would expect in the restaurant. We did use the Italian restaurant one night, and even though it was good, there isn't much choice.

We did the Thai cooking class (over 3000 baht for a couple), and it was brilliant. Our chef was really patient (which he needed to be!!). We had to choose four meals we wanted to cook. All the ingredients are laid out ready when you arrive. The class lasts about 2 hours, and the good news is you get to eat everything you have cooked! Would definitely recommend it.

We didn't use the pools in the resort as we had our own, but they looked good, always clean and always had plenty of people using them.

The beach is a bit of a disappointment. It is a public beach, so has nothing to do with Sala Samui. There are local dogs roaming about and as a consequence you have to watch out for dog poo -which isn't great! There is also a bit of litter, not too much, but could be cleaner.

We did a half day trip around the island, which is well worth doing. We booked this through our rep and was the usual cost of trips. Our guide -Mr Wang was brilliant, really enthusiastic about his subject!

We had a complimentary massage, which we used on the day before we leaved. It covers an hour Thia massage. I asked for a medium massage, but sure I got the hard, as it was an hour of torture! My partner loved his though, so think I'm just soft!

Mon Choeng itself is quite good, with a few clothes shops and a couple of supermarkets. There seemed to be plenty of places to eat, but the food at Sala was so good, we didn't try outside. We had to buy emergency stuff when we arrived as our cases didn't turn up and we managed to get all the essentials- luckily our cases arrived the next day! The bathroom contains a toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, shower gel, moisturiser and soap, so we didn't need to buy any of that stuff, which helped!

The weather wasn't too bad considering we went in monsoon season! There was quite a bit of cloud and we had rain on a couple of afternoons, which lasted for a few hours, but there was still plenty of sun!

The biggest plus for Sala Samui resort as mentioned in previous reviews is the staff. They are all excellent. They can't do enough for you and are all really attentive and friendly. They are a credit to the resort. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear "Rachel B",

Thank you very much for your extensive and positive review of SALA Samui ! With regards to the Thai massage...well, it is a "hard" massage in comparison with other techniques, and you do feel it, even if its "medium", -but the sensation after is fantastic !. Next time, I would perhaps recommend that you tried a softer type of massage, and our Spa team would be delighted to help you find what treatment suits you best. We are happy to read that your overall impression weas very positive, and on behalf of the entire team we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    244
    64
    19
    4
See reviews for
169
1,066
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was the last stop on our honeymoon and was the 7 nights were absolutely perfect. We had no glitches from the moment we arrived till we left. We went for the pool villa which is well worth it. yes there isn't a lot of space in the room but was amble for us. We ate out a lot and also ate in the hotel restaurant. yes the food and drink is expensive but you do really get what you pay for. I would strongly recommend the thai night and also the fish night on the beach. absolute heaven. All the staff at Sala were great from the cleaners to the bar staff and restaurant. Thank yo so much Sala!!
the only thing I think the hotel would benefit from is to make a child resort. the last thing you want are screaming kids round the pool (personal preference) AC units in the room very loud

Room Tip: go for the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear "t0by86",

Thank you very much for your excellent review of SALA Samui. The "fish on beach" evening is as you say a truly wonderful and very romantic evening, and for the the Thai night, we recommend advance bookings, as it is constantly sold out to the last seat.
With regards to children, duiring school holiday periods there can be some, but normally we are able to cater for both, and as we have one large "adults only" area by the lap pool, there is normally never any problems. We are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and on behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

After 5 weeks travelling through Eastern Europe we stopped in Sala Resort for rest
and relaxation for 6 days before flying home to Australia ...what a paradise our first time to Thailand and we just loved it. Sala had everything we wanted great location with shops and restaurants in walking distance. All the staff at Sala were fantastic -Amanda we miss your smile every morning at breakfast and asking us how we were and what did we do ...Our Garden Villa 46 was fantastic we slept so well peaceful and quiet ...loved the pool area .Thanks for a great stay we are sorry we couldn't stay longer we didn't want to leave but we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear signature "TheLaskers",

Thank you very much for your positive review, and we are delighted to read that you could have stayed longer... !
On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards,

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My Wife and I had 2 nights in Bangkok and 6 nights at Sala, we both really wish we had went straight to Sala.

The resort had a Zen like calm across the whole property. the staff were fantastic at all times, so friendly and helpful, they couldnt do enough for you. The quality of the food was brilliant at any time of the day.

We stayed at a Sala Pool villa, it was amazing, your private pool with sun loungers and day bed allowed us to relax in the privacy of our own garden after breakfast.

The 2 daily happy hours was a great touch and certainly made us late for dinner on more than one occassion. We will definitely be back Sala, Koh Samui, and recommended it to a number of our friends.

I can honestly say it was one of the most relaxing and well presented resorts we have ever visisted.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 29 and got the sun all day at our private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear "Daniel B",

Thank you very much for your positive revierw of SALA Samui, and we are happy to read that "6 days was not enough"..., - we would be delighted to welcome you back on a future stay !
If you would like to give Bangkok another try, I can recommend you sala rattanakosin, our sister property in the the heart of the old city, overlooking the Wat Arun temple, on the shores of the river, and "wall to wall" with the Royal Palace, -a delightful experience.

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a fantastic 10 day stay at Sala, so much so that we really didn't want to leave.

Our flight from the UK landed around 09:00, I was unsure about going straight to the hotel as I knew that check-in wasn't until 16:00 but we were so tired from the long flight we took the 15 minute taxi ride there anyway (even if we would have to sit at reception until our room was ready). It turns out I had nothing to worry about as the lovely front desk staff checked us in straight away and we were given our welcome drink and were personally greeted by the manager Dick.

Room:
After checking in we were taken for a tour to our room, where we were shown how to use the safe, were told about the different choices of pillows/soap and were given complimentary lychees and dried fruit and nuts (which were replenished daily). We booked a deluxe balcony room (without the private pool as we knew we would be more likely to use the resort pools anyway). The room was perfect; with a large bed, flat screen tv (with satellite channels), desk, chair and mini bar (charges apply). Adjacent to the bedroom, separated by a large glass rotating door, is the bathroom where there is a large circular bath and rainfall shower. The wardrobe is also here with ample hanging space and drawers. Separated from the bathroom by a curtain is the balcony which holds a large day bed, perfect for lounging on in the evenings.

Housekeeping came twice daily, once in the morning and then once for turn down in the evening. During turn down the mosquito coil on the balcony, as well as the candle in the room would be lit.

Restaurants:
I can't comment on the Italian restaurant (Pangaea) as we only wanted to try Thai food during our stay but we did visit the beach restaurant every day for breakfast and also had dinner here one evening. For breakfast you can either choose from the menu (options include full English, eggs Benedict, waffles and pancakes etc.) as well as a buffet offering yoghurts, cereal, fruit, freshly made juice etc.
For dinner at the beach restaurant we chose to have the set menu which was just over 900baht per person, we received a starter as well as about 5 other dishes for main and a selection of Thai deserts, all of which was delicious!

Pool/beach:
The pool and beach areas are beautiful with ample sun loungers (this is the first resort I've been to where you haven't had to get up at the crack of dawn to ensure a lounger!) Although the sea directly in front of the hotel is a little rocky if you walk 20 metres to the right, in front of the restaurants, the sand is lovely and soft underfoot.

Location:
Sala is located on Choeng Mon beach, a relatively quiet area compared to nearby Chaweng and Bo Phut. There are quite a few restaurants nearby (I recommend Crystals on the beach and Longtable on the road). There is a taxi rank right outside the hotels entrance with a list of prices (300 baht to Chaweng and Fishermans village and 400 to the airport).

Activities:
We booked 3 activities through the hotel (which we don't usually do as they generally turn out more expensive than booking direct but the activities seemed fairly priced). The first activity we booked was the Animal Show at Namuang Safari Park, we were picked up at our hotel by the safari park mini bus (also collected a few other passengers from other hotels on the way). The second activity we booked was the 8 hour tour of the island with a private driver, we thought this might be a driver from an outsourced company but it was with Sing, one of the lovely Sala staff. Sing suggested areas of interest and drove us to the locations while he waited for us. He also suggested a quaint little beach side restaurant in the south of the island for lunch which we never would have chosen ourselves but were so happy with it! We were also given cold flannels (very much appreciated in the heat) and cold drinks. The final activity booked was the Thai cooking class run by one of the restaurant chefs (just over 3000 baht for 2 people). You choose 4 dishes from the menu (one from each course) and are shown how to prepare and cook the food from scratch. The class is about 1 1/2 hours long and at the end you get to enjoy your hard work (a soft drink/mocktail is also included) and are given an apron and certificate to show off back home.

I hope my review has done the hotel justice, I really can't praise every single staff member enough. They truly go out of their way to make sure you have a memorable experience. I normally always say I will return to a hotel if I've enjoyed it but in this instance I really would return tomorrow if I could! Thank you Sala.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear signature "illek1",

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a long, detailed and positive review of your recent stay at SALA Samui !

We are delighted to read the you fully enjoyed your stay, and we would be delighted to welcome you back !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer!! The service was first class from the moment we arrived - we were given a bouquet of flowers when checking in and later had wine and chocolates delivered to our room. We stayed in a deluxe balcony room which was lovely (the bed is possibly the most comfortable I've ever slept in!) but we do wish we had gone for the Garden Pool Villa as we saw the pools for the other rooms and were incredibly jealous! However, this was not really a problem as the hotel has two main pools which are both beautiful and not overcrowded or busy as every other hotel I've experienced before. The beach is also beautiful and the water is lovely and warm - the only issue is it was very rocky in the water which made it hard to walk but we found that slightly further up the beach it was less rocky and more sandy. The Sala restaurant was lovely also - even though it was more expensive than other restaurants in the town, I'd say the standard of the food was worth the extra money. Every single member of staff at the hotel was brilliant and extremely friendly. I also loved the location of the hotel, outside of the busy Chaweng but only a short 300 Baht taxi ride away if you wanted to visit. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Koh Samui and we will hopefully be returning at some point in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for your fabulous review of SALA Samui ! On behalf of the entire team, we would be delighted to welcome you back on a future stay !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I just want to say that I don't really do reviews of hotels so much, but the SALA really deserves my reviews!
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the SALA for 5 nights during my Birthday week. I must say that I have stayed at countless 5 stars hotels around the world. So far, this place is on one of my best hotels top list! Everythig was so amazing. When we first got there early in the morning (before the usually check-in time), they gave us complimentary breakfast while waiting to check-in. ALL the staff were so polite and friendly. Even the gardeners stopped what they were doing to say hi and "wai" us. Such a traditional Thai friendliness that a lot of hotels in Thailand are missing. Breakfast was AMAZING! Such a variety, with a la carte menu and buffet line.
When it was my birthday, all the staff knew about this and said happy Birthday to me all day. It was great. Such a memorable experience. Well done SALA!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear signature "Pinta P"

Khob Khun Krub !

Thank you very much for your lovely review, and on behalf of the entire team, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Samui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.