We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissfull honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added SALA Samui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
North yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Blissfull honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for 12 nights after staying in Bangkok for a few days and we were not disappointed!

From the moment we arrived we were treated very kindly lots of little special you touches that made our stay so welcoming and special.

We stayed in one of the double deluxe balcony suites and it was amazing the huge outdoor bath had to be the best.

Both pools were fairly quiet we stayed in the beach most of the time which is a little to rocky
unless you go to the middle of the beach. That was the only fault I would pick but this has nothing to do with the hotel.

We did venture out into chaweng most nights as it was fairly quiet outside of the hotel and chaweng
is fairly buzzing.

My partner loves fishing so we booked a trip to Topcats via email and they picked us up took us there we spent the day there and he caughts lots of HUGE fish.

Overall we had a very relaxing honeymoon and the sala samui is definitely the place to relax. Top class!

P.s forgot to note that the food and drink in the hotel was a little pricey but the food was well worth it! Lush!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear signature Beclou 777,

Thank you very much for the taking the time to psot a review oin Tripadvisor, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at SALA Samui !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    224
    61
    18
    3
See reviews for
142
939
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me, my wife and our 3 year old daughter recently stayed at the SALA Samui for 7 nights and we had a fantastic time The staff were friendly helpful, and went the extra mile to make you welcome and feel spoilt(especially Amanda and the guys by the pools!) . The pools were beautiful and there were always sunbeds made available.

We stayed in a Garden Pool Villa - it was big enough for us 3, we loved the outdoor bathroom and the garden and pool was excellent.

The breakfast was awesome :-) and we indulged in the BBQ night at the hotel which was a culinary treat. The Chef was on-hand to explain the many dishes available and he should be very proud of the food on that night. As a bonus there was also a Thai band and traditional Thai dancers which my daughter loved.

The friendly atmosphere in the resort rubbed off on everyone staying there, and we made many friends due to this.

You can also walk to Choeng Mon which has some great value superb restaurants - everywhere else of note is also in easy reach of this hotel.

In summary we cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear signature " adam C "

On behalf of the entire team, -we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a very positive review, we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
and we would be delighted to welcome you back in a not too distant future,

Kind regards
Dick Simarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, but we could easily have stayed for 2 more weeks! The standard pool villas are very nice, and the pool is big/deep enough so that you can actually use it! It was also super clean, which wasnt the case for other plunge pools we have had in other hotels on samui. The bedroom was very nicely laid out, big comfortable bed. As a big fan of music I really enjoyed the surround sound system with iPod connector! The outdoor bathroom was s new experience, felt really exotic:)
We mostly used the black pool during the days, which seems to be the adult pool in the resort. Nice sunbeds and the poolboys kept us cool serving water and fruit all day long. Breakfast was really good, both a la carte as well as a big buffet. Dinner menu was also very good with both international and thai dishes.

It is easy to understand why this is one of the best places to stay in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear signature " Tommy D "

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed all the services and facilities of the hotel, and we would be delighted to welcoming you back on a future stay,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Sala Samui for 5 nights and were there to celebrate our honeymoon. I have been meaning to write this review for the last few months but kept getting postponed. Here it is finally- Our stay at Sala was memorable and perfect! The airport pickup was on time and the driver extremely friendly and warm. However, once we were there we realized that its cheaper to take a taxi to the airport rather than the hotel transport, so we took a cab back on our way out. The welcome we got was great. The staff at this hotel is impeccable, extremely warm, helpful and efficient. We never had a single issue dealing with anyone and there was never any need to ask for anything twice. We were staying in the Garden Pool Villa (no. 40) and as promised the open pool and bathroom had complete privacy. The deluxe rooms situated above the garden pool villa have their windows and balcony facing the other side, ensuring complete privacy of the pool and bathroom areas in the villa. The villa was even better than what we had expected seeing the pictures. The room and the ambiance in general was very romantic and welcoming. The pool was always at the perfect temperature and was very clean. Housekeeping does a wonderful job and in the 5 days we were there, we never needed to ask for anything, since it was all always there. The breakfast spread is huge and the variety is great. We ate at their restaurant only twice, and the food, both thai and continental did not disappoint one bit. The hotel in itself is gorgeous and makes for very pretty pictures. There was always a good no of people around, but not too many to make you feel crowded. The pool area and the pools are very well kept but we loved hanging out on the beach instead. It is not exactly a private beach, but the area in front of d hotel has lounge chairs and umbrellas set up only for the residents. Its a fairly quiet beach (compared to the commercial Lamai and Chaweng) but not isolated, a combination we liked a lot. The water right in front of the hotel is rocky and not favorable to swim in, but just a few meters to the right, the water is completely clear and perfect to lounge and chill in! The only time we used the spa was for the complimentary treatment they offered us since we were on our honeymoon. It was a brilliant relaxing experience.
My husband and I had such a great time that we did not want to leave and would love to come back here sometime! They made our honeymoon extremely special and memorable. Our stay at the Sala Samui was perfect and I would undoubtedly recommend this to all. I would like to use this opportunity to thank all the staff at Sala Samui who made that trip so brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear signature " Honeymoon 123 "

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are happy to hear that you fully enjoyed all the services and facilities of the hotel, we hope that you have many good memories, and we would be delighted to welcoming you back on a future.

Kind regards
Dick Simarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon and had a sala pool villa. It was amazing, can't fault this beautiful hotel, they had thought of everything. Attention to detail was incredible, best hotel I have ever stayed in.
Breakfast is excellent, lots of choice, and they will deliver it to your room for no extra cost. Great location, lots of places to go out to eat although a taxi ride away the hotel car is very good and same prices a taxi. Make sure you check out the market at fishermans village on a friday night. We had dinner at the hotel on their Thai night which was lovely, they had a band and Thai dancers, nice atmosphere and such a huge selection of food. Our room was perfect, it was a corner plot which was very private with our own pool that was big enough to swim in (some hotels with private pools are more like plunge pools, not this one!) we got the sun all day in our garden so rarely used the hotels pool facilities, although both pools are lovely. We did go to the pool area most days for happy hour, the cocktails are lovely! The spa is great. I had a few massages which were very firm but excellent, try the Thai massage if you want a different experience, no oil just stretches, sounds strange but it worked! I also had a dermalogica facial which was lovely.
The best thing about this hotel is the small details such as incense in your room and a little night light candle which was always lit on our return from dinner. It's those little extras that make this hotel so special. They greeted us with flowers and gave us a complimentary couples massage as it was our honeymoon. The only thing I could think to change would be to upgrade the hairdryers in the rooms! This hotel is perfect. Stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear signature " Hayler",

Thank you very much for your positive review, and we are happy that you enjoyed yours stay with us ! We have taken good notice of your comment, and would be delighted to welcome you back,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sala smoui is a beautiful resort located on the beach 5 min taxi drive from chaweng beach
we spent there 4 nights in sala pool villa and enjoined each moment
the resort is very clean and well maintained, rooms and also the public aria are spotless
the staff are so nice and willing to help in anything you just desire
food was excellent really fresh and fusion- gourme styles - loved it!

the only down side is the beach that even though it's nice and clean, when you enter the water it's full of rocks not comfortable at all.
we will defiantly come back in our next visit to samoui

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear signature "orli_22",

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor ! We are delighted to read that you would come back ! With regards to the stones in the water, -the total beach in front of SALA Samui is appproximately 80-90 meters, and there is around 40 meters to the left ( when facing the sea), where there are rocks in the water, but to the right there are 40-50 meters with only fine sandbottom, and it's ideal for swimming,

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

4 of us recently stayed at the Sala Koh Samui Resort. We had 2 couples, so booked the 2 villa with private pool option...and it didn't disappoint. The rooms were fantastic and each had their own outdoor private bathroom (shower, toilet, and basic). We got breakfast thrown in, and the breaky was just fantastic, there was so much to choose from we really couldn't fault it. The portion sizes from the order menu were small, but honestly there was so much buffet food, it didn't matter.
They offer drinks and food by the pool, which we used most days. There is happy hour (buy one get one free drinks) from 2-3pm and again from 5-7pm. So the drinks weren't that pricey if you bought in that time. The food by the pool was fantastic.
We ate in the restuarant one night, as we got a free dinner thrown in. We went to the thai buffet and dancing night, and the food was amazing.
A bottle of decent wine is around $60.
We also got a free massage thrown in too. I would recommend booking this in, the day you arrive, as the slots fill up fast.
From the hotel you can stroll along the little beach. There are a few other resorts and restuarants you can visit for dinner. This is a really relaxing option, rather than heading into town - which is Chaweng.
The beach is clean, although we didn't swim in it. You can rent a sea canoe for free from the hotel and explore the bay.
Chaweng is a 300 baht ($9 aussie) ride from the resort. You can catch the hotel shuttle for 100 baht per person on the hour. There are heaps of restaurants and shops, and good for a night out. Pretty trashy but worth a wonder through the town. There are some pretty seedy parts to the town, but hey that's Thailand.
We hired a car for one day and went round the island. This is worthwhile doing. Stop at the Cliff top restaurant, before you get to Chaweng if you are going anti clockwise round the island. It's fantastic.
The hotel was mostly full of honey mooners, and there was a scattering of families. There are 2 pools, so the kids tended to stick to one and the adults the other. view of the bay from the pool area is fantastic too. Oh and the service is 100%. My only fault with the place, is the air conditioner units in each of the bedrooms are incredibly loud. So if you are a light sleeper, do not stay in one of the 2 bedroom villas. I don't know if the other rooms are like it, but it was incredible. Although you did get used to it!!!

Room Tip: Staying near the pool is good, as you don't have to walk far to get back to your villa. Sounds s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_Samui_GM, General Manager at SALA Samui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear signature "Rteam"

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review on Tripadvisor ! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the breakfast. As you correctly point out, the portions are not huge, -but on the other hand there are so many good choices from the a la carte menu that you can easily eat 2 different...-or pick something from the buffet. It's all included !
On behalf of the entire team, we would like to take the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future !

Kind regards

Dick Simarro
General Manager
SALA Samui Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SALA Samui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Samui Resort And Spa

Address: 10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#1 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Samui Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Samui Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort on Koh Samui island, featuring private swimming pools in 53 out of 69 total villas and suites.At SALA Samui, a comfortable, relaxing ambiance is created by a harmonious blend of traditional Thai architecture with modern facilities and amenities. Friendly, well-trained staff pamper guests with professional, personalized service.Located on pristine Choeng Mon beach on the northeast corner of Koh Samui island, SALA Samui is just 15 minutes from the Samui airport, 20 minutes from Bo Phut's quaint Fisherman's Village, and only 15 minutes from Chaweng Beach shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SALA Samui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Samui Resort And Hotel Koh Samui
Sala Samui Hotel
SALA Samui Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Samui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.