We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place to Dine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SALA Samui Restaurant

SALA Samui Restaurant
10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Lam, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 245 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Choeng Mon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SALA Restaurant is an exceptional blend of style and taste.Enjoy mouthwatering international cuisine and traditional Thai delicacies in a romantic setting,with candlelit tables on the beach, and poolside dining under the stars.
Muscat
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place to Dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a lovely night, a free transport was provided, the food and service was just perfect
It was indeed a beautiful place to dine in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    20
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, unfortunately service does not match up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to the sala given the number of excellent ratings on tripadvisor. In summary, the fod was excellent but the service not even average, hence the rating average. Here some more details on the negative aspects that should not happen at a venue that markets itself this way:
1) We had a booking for three but when we arrived they had our name but the table was not ready and we were placed in the worst table
2) as the table was set up with two sets of cuttlery we had to stop on of the waitresses who was just strolling around to bring us the third set
3) in a restaurant of this caliber, normally the napkins are placed on your lap by the waiter. They seem to be not aware of this
4) we asked the wine not to be served immediately but only with the food. Half way through the starters we then had to ask another waitress whether we could have our wine now, she apologized
5) no goodbye at the end. Should be basic but seems to have been to much.
It shows once again that it does not only take a good chef, a nice ambiance but a service that is commensurate with the food, positioning and ambiance of the restaurant. There is still a long way to go in this restaurant. If you care only about the fod, it is a great place to go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant at Fabulous Resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Love the people/staff
Love the food - Thai and International menu.
Love the drinks
Love the atmosphere
Cannot fault this great restaurant.
Just spent 14 nights at Sala Samui, and ate here or had room service from here on 10 of those nights.. And 14 breakfasts..
Each meal was great..
Again.. LOVE the people/staff..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delivery falls short of the hyped press”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The venue and furnishings are stunning. We ordered the vegetable spring rolls (really good), the mussels and pork rice. Both of the last two were bland and the pork rice dry and tasteless. Over-priced and short of wow. We preferred The Spice Zone just along the beach from SALA..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great mix of foods. Very high standard! Staff were great and peaceful setting on beachfront. Live music and dance some nights and the pizzas were good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALA Samui Restaurant also viewed

Choeng Mon, Ko Samui
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Choeng Mon, Ko Samui
 

Been to SALA Samui Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SALA Samui Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.