We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Boat House Beach Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 stars 809 Reviews
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Once again My travel companions and myself had a great stay at the Imperial Boat House. I have stayed at the Imperial Boat House several years in a row now and will continue to make it my home away from home.

The rooms are large, comfortable, clean and secure. While not only does it sit on a nice beach but it is away from the crowds and partiers. The hotel is well kept and the staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay meets everything you wanted it to be.

Several of my trips to Samui have been as a solo female traveler. Once again the staff and security at this resort kept me comfortable and safe. One of the main reasons I keep returning.

From Management level to the staff we would meet on the grounds, everyone was friendly and helpful and always looking out for you.

I really couldn't think of staying anywhere else on Koh Samui. Every time I book here my stay has been flawless and better than the time before. As I Travel half way around the world to get to Thailand (22 hrs), I won't risk booking anywhere else but the Imperial Boat House.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    279
    80
    31
    13
See reviews for
148
436
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Our 6th Consequtive trip to the The Boat House" and we were not disappointed, each year we say we will somewhere else the next year but we keep returnin to the magic of "The Boat House" and the surroundings. It all makes for a relaxing and chill holiday and thats what we want.

The Boat House has been subjected to new management this year and we feel Mr Rubio has got it just right in all aspects, value for money and amazing staff who care and want to make your holiday special.

The beach area is great and it was quite quiet when we were there, good for us but so for the sellers and restaurants owners, its also a safe area to swim so brilliant for children, the water is swallow for a long way and the beach doesnt shelve. On the road side there are more restaurants open and we have yet to find a bad one, Kearo's and Peak Kitchen are good value for money and of course "Charlie Chaplins" his masaman curry is awesome.

There are several massage shops open on this road too which are good but the girls working in the hotel near the beach are good and love a chat too, "Oi" on the right hand side as you come out of the hotel is also good and gives a great massage & she is fun. If you like a strong massage try the Bilnd Massage guy under the tree, he was trained by the monks so he had a profession and he is sooooooo good.

Island View bar is great and we had lots of snacks, beers and meals in there. Nee and her husband Dam are friendly & the food is excellent.

There is a little construction next door at the new hotel "Suang Samui" which is no problem at all. This is going to be a 5 star hotel but would I go there next year ------NO! I will be going back to the Boat House for the great infomality and the friendly great service - its just like going home its such a warm confortable feeling.

Oh yes and try The Football Golf just up the road, its a fun hour for all ages. Ask for MMr Tom the owner or Ying, tell her Lynda and Dave say hi

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh samui
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

This is mine and my partners 9th visit to the boat house and this year it nearly didn't happen.With the way the world is today and finances it was touch and go whether we could afford to come back.
By chance I emailed the Boat House and was able to negotiate a grat deal with the management mainly Orn-umar who was able to come up with a great package. If you are wondering about it contact the Boat House directly, they will provide excellent value for money.I almost forgot to mention that the construction next door had no impact what so ever on our brilliant stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for twelve nights with our two year old.The staff were brilliant with her and us,always helpful and friendly.We stayed in a premier room which had all we needed and they provided alarge travel cot with mosquito net for our little girl.The two pools were great,although the smaller one suited us as it had more shade.The beach was safe for swimming and the hawkers were not pushy at all so you could relax on the hotel sunbeds-and no-there was no building noise from the hotel next door! The food was good,breakfast included lots of fresh fruit,pastries,cereals and hot food etc,lots of choice for fussy toddlers! Restaurant great but obviously cheaper to eat in the smaller places along the beach.We had a fantastic holiday which was topped off on the last day by the staff bringing out a cake and candles for our daughters 3rd birthday !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

Stayed at the Boathouse for 13 nights with my husband and 2 children in May 2009.
Its a great place to stay, the location is just perfect. This was our second visit ( the last being in 2006) and we were very glad we chose to revisit this hotel.
The staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble for them and they are all so polite, courteous and pleasant, they really do make you feel special. Whilst there we were invited to a cocktail party held by the hotel by way of thanks for choosing to stay there. During the party our photo was taken and when we checked out we were presented with a framed souvenir photo of it to take home with us which we thought was lovely.
We had interconnecting rooms which were very spacious, clean and comfortable, the housekeeping is excellent.
The hotel grounds are beautiful, gardens etc well looked after.
Apart from breakfast, we ate outside of the hotel. Recommendations include Crystals on the beach and Charlie Chaplins. Specially recommend that you visit Kearo's (near the 7 eleven on the main street outside the Boathouse) It is run by a lady on her own who is lovely, she does all the cooking, serving etc herself and is a genuinely lovely lady. The food is great too. She used to work at Bongoes on the beach before it shut down and she remembered us from then, she even remembered my sons name.
We went into Chaweng a few times in the evening and although its a great vibrant place with some good shopping and restaurants, I was always glad to get back to the Boathouse for its peace and tranquility.
Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Fourth time visiting with family better than ever. The weather was very good. Hotel being built next door nearly finished so no noise. Staff nearly all the same, as before very keen to help, polite and very friendly. the grounds were kept very clean. Check in very quick. The hotel has a new manager Mr. Rubio who took a lot of time to talk to us, and other guests.
He was very visible so any problemns he was on them straight away. Look forward to
returning.
Jim Langley U.K

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Overall we had a really good, relaxing holiday at the Imperial Boathouse. We loved the location - lovely beach and pool (only used main 'ship' pool). The sun loungers on the beach and at this pool were plastic and to be honest needed replacing. They had obviously been around for a while and several had been repaired. Unfortunately this made some of them quite uncomfortable and we did have to hunt for undamaged sun loungers.
Most of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and a special mention must go to Bao at the pool bar who couldn't do enough for us. We had initially thought the reception staff weren't very friendly or helpful after the strangest check-in we've ever had at a Thai beach hotel. Normally check in staff are very friendly and the check in is done calmly, sat down over a welcome drink. Unfortunately when we arrived we did not feel very welcome due to a rather abrupt manner from staff. (and it's not that we were tired & jet-lagged as we had just spent a week in BKK). However, after that we had very good experiences with reception staff and they were incredibly helpful and caring when my husband had a minor accident.
The food at the hotel beach restaurant was excellent and we ate there several times. Yes, it is a bit more expensive than other beach restaurants where we went more often but not exactly pricey by Western standards. We had a really amazing crab curry on our last night. This is not a late night resort so it's best to eat fairly early in any of the beach restaurants (all very good). There are also a few low key beach bars but they tend to close about 10pm. If you want more night life head for Chaweng, although we've found a big change in Chaweng in the last couple of years and would now give it a miss (dirty beach and not very relaxed atmosphere which is a shame as we used to love it).
The only negative about the hotel beach restaurant is that they set it up very early in the sun lounger area whilst the sun is still shining and a lot of guests are still enjoying their day on the beach. As this is done literally around you, we ended up feeling uncomfortable and had to move to another (shaded) area as did many other guests who also were unhappy about this.
We stayed in a Boat Suite which was certainly quirky and I don't know how it compares to the other rooms. Be careful on the spiral staircase after a few cocktaills! The space is huge but is a bit on the old side and could do with a refurb, especially the bathroom. Also we felt the room could have been cleaner and housekeeping was a bit hit & miss in this respect but the cleaning ladies were extremely friendly and sheets and towels were changed daily.
This review might sound a bit negative but we did enjoy our stay. The reason why we probably wouldn't go back has nothing to do with the hotel. It's because the new hotel being built next door looks huge, overlooks the Boathouse and is likely to change this relaxed little resort completely. We feel quite sad about this as it's becoming harder and harder to find unspoilt areas of Samui.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.