We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fourth stay at the boat house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Imperial Boat House Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Choeng Mon
berkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“fourth stay at the boat house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this was our fourth stay at the boat house and if anything it has got better,the management and staff go out of their way to make your stay perfect.
we stayed in a poolside terrace,the room was comfortable and cleaned to a high standard every day.
Breakfast is great with a something for everyone and a constant supply of tea and coffee.
Both pools are beautiful and never too crowded.
The beach is probably the best on the island.
Many thanks to Doeke and his staff for another great holiday.
We can't recommend the Boat house highly enough and will definitely return next year.

Jackie and john.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jacky and John,

Thank you for your warm words: it has been a true pleasure having you with us again. With returning guests like you, you're always able to compare with previous stays, so I'm delighted you felt it got better and that you enjoyed your stay with us yet again. It has been the team's and my pleasure to enable you to have a great holiday. Your recommendation is sincerely appreciated and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    255
    68
    31
    12
See reviews for
131
393
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently returned from another fab visit to Boathouse. This was our fourth consecutive visit and we were in no way disappointed. Overall the whole package simply gets better, we commented to another 'returner' we met that coming back to Boathouse was a bit like getting your comfy slippers on!! Perhaps not the best analogy but it is so comfortable there and you feel like you are coming home!
On this ocassion we chose the rice barge accomodation which was all we hoped for but just a little quirky. We had a fab position overlooking the pool and beach so we could relax on our loungers there and just nip down to the pool and beach in moments. The rice barges are a great option for something a little different.
As always breakfast was a good selection of different foods with an excellent 'eggman' and a constant supply of tea and coffee. The in house dining at Captains Table has improved over the years and now offers not only a competitively priced meal but extensive menu of well prepared food. The monday night Thai buffet with dancers was well worth the money and the wednesday evening buffet on the beach with entertainment shouldn't be missed.
As always plenty of little restaurants along the beach and the main street for a change. We particularly liked Long Table and Krua Thai.
Finally what really makes Boathouse special are the friendly staff who welcome you back with a cheery wave and a chat. Also don't miss a Thai massage in the 'in-house' pavilion.
In conclusion we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Gillian,

Thank you for returning yet again. We are so grateful for loyal returning guests like you and I happen to love your analogy: nothing better than comfy... I'm happy you liked your quirky, yet unique, Boat Suite. and that you noticed the improvements we've been trying to make as well as enjoying both the in-house buffet's & the local restaurants (I like Krua Thai too). Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your 5th visit soon.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The resort is a great place to stay. Premier rooms are larger and better appointed than Superior rooms. We were given a look around a boat suite which are unusual and comfortable but do not actually offer more than a Premier room so you pay alot more for the novelty of staying in a converted rice barge.
The General Manager, Doeke and his staff were very friendly and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We too were initially transferred to another hotel for four nights, Impiana Hotel and had to accept a lower than booked standard room to add insult to injury. Not ideal but we felt that we were well compensated when we eventually got to the Boat House so it did not spoil our holiday although this treatment of guests must be avoided to maintain the otherwise deserved excellent reputation of the Boat House.
The restaurant overlooking the beach was comfortable and although the service could be a little slow the food was excellent. The pool was big with plenty of loungers around it and towels supplied. The resort beach is good with soft sand (unlike some other beaches that have course sand); plenty of loungers but they are close together so not always relaxing when neighbours are talking too loudly.
The friendly and and very helpful staff helped to make our stay very enjoyable and.memorable.

Room Tip: Premier rooms well worth the extra. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Richard,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. I'm glad your liked your Premier Room and that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. The team and I apologize for the inconvenience of the transfer during the peak period, yet are very happy to read you felt you were well compensated during your stay with us. We'll work on the service speed to complement the food at the Captain's Choice beach restaurant and the beach is indeed one of the finest in Samui. We try to space out the loungers whenever possible, but sometimes the tides and the volume of guests wanting to be on the beach put limitations on this, given the available stretch of beach we have at our disposal. I'm happy that we were able to help you with your flight arrangements and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had reservations regarding standard of room to the extent we emailed he manager who kindly sent us photos which eased our thoughts. How ever on arrival the room was not as clean and sharpe as photos, in fact it was grubby chipped tiles and mouldy grout in the worlds tiniest bathroom, very dated furniture and fittings. Hot water if your lucky and for the first few seconds of turning the tap on the water a verydirty yellow colour. this room is only a 2 star rating in our opinion and thats being generous. After a meeting with manager he upgraded us after two nights to a room that was very spacious , modern and clean, tip of the day pay the extra and upgrade so worth it. Staff were exellent, location was good just a short taxi to the lively Chewang or BO phut.

Room Tip: upgrade from standard room really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Lee,

Thank you for your constructive review and we've issued work requests for the concerned room to be addressed by our engineering team. I'm happy however that you enjoyed the Premier Room from the 3rd day onwards and that you felt the staff was excellent. We hope to be able to welcome you back one day.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

They say don't take too much notice of the best review or of the worst, but I can honestly say I could not fault The Imperial Boathouse. Without a doubt, we will be back to this beautiful hotel.
Every single member of staff was smiling and friendly, even the maintenance men. Our room was far superior than I was expecting and the shower was a huge walk-in with powerful water pressure and endless hot water. There was loads of storage space and our bed was over 6 feet wide !! The balcony had two comfy wicker chairs and a table, and overlooked the amazingly lush gardens and coco-nut trees. Breakfast was superb with masses of choice. The two pools were clean and very pretty, the boat pool was enormous. The garden of the hotel ended on the soft sandy beach - bliss. There were free beach/pool towels and happy hour was 4.30-6pm ! Buy one and get one free, which made very good value. The Thai night on a monday was a buffet with loads of beautiful dishes, served in the hotels restaurant on the beach side - Captains Choice. It was only 590 bhat per person, which is approx £10- amazing value and very delicious. Staff to mention are - Big- Breakfast and beach, Baw(star)-Breakfast and beach, and Beer in reception- all were smiling and gave outstanding service - a credit to the hotel, as were all the staff. Amazing hotel,beautiful location,fantastic staff and great rooms - missing it already and I only got home today !!!!

Room Tip: I did not look in any other rooms, except one next to us which our friend were in, but we were on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the smiles of the staff, the rooms, the food, the beach and all that the hotel has to offer. The staff really are our greatest asset and their genuine friendliness is the key ingredient to any stay at the Boat House.
I'll thank Ms. Big, Mr. Baw & Mr. Beer on your behalf & all of us here hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fulwood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This being our fourth time here, we decided to upgrade to a boat suite it was heavenly quiet after three nights in Bangkok..everything was just the same as in previous years, the service and standard was impeccable.My son and his girlfriend joined us for five days after they had been backpacking around the islands, they were so amazed by their premier room they didnt want to leave.My son booked a suprise birthday meal for my wife and i on the beach can i just say a big thank you to everyone involved on that evening it was a night i will never forget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Villabadem,

The team & I are delighted to read you enjoyed your Boat Suite and that everything measured up to your previous (3rd) visit. Your son not wanting too leave is a great compliment and we were happy to be able to help him make the surprise birthday meal on the beach for you and your wife one with memories to last.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your 5th visit in the future & wish you the very best.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Our huge Premier room had obviously been refurbished and was all we could hope for (though we didn’t try filling the huge bath – the shower was superb.) An additional shower spray in the bath was useful for feet (or children). Lovely balcony, lots of space and storage, excellent free Wifi, good lighting, comfy bathrobes (both pink!) and useful slippers. We were first floor, the higher up the better view but there’s no lift.

I hate to have to do this, but have taken off a star as unfortunately we and at least 2 other couples were moved to another place when we arrived because the hotel was overbooked. The expression “due to unforeseen circumstances” is meaningless. This has to be the management wanting to maximise occupancy, and it appears that two large parties were given preference over we couples. We were lucky that we only lost one night but others lost I think 6 of their 8 nights, and for one couple this was their 5th visit. We do hope this was a rare one-off, but we read about it a lot by other hotels. The place we were sent to (Lanna Apartments) just didn’t compare. Though wonderfully “Scandinavian minimalist” stylish and smart, there was nothing useful or attractive nearby and the beach, shops and any restaurants, massages etc. required a transfer or a taxi. The restaurant and bar were expensive, and although we could use the Spa free, massages were fully booked. We called it a “triumph of style over substance” – though our accommodation was a Studio with cooking facilities there was nowhere in the room to sit and look at the view over the pool (one sofa facing the TV and a wall), no desk/table or chairs, you had to turn the lights off halfway along the room before crawling into the bed alongside the wall in the dark – no reading in bed - and a grope to find the bathroom at night. It was such a relief to get to the beautiful Boathouse. Here’s hoping this doesn’t happen often. I suppose someone has to suffer this to keep prices down.

At the Boat House the charming Dutch manager Doeke did his best to compensate us with a free meal and transfers, but we would have been so upset to miss our important relaxing stay. Other staff were very friendly and helpful but their English is quite limited, so it is better to speak face-to-face than try telephone conversations if you need anything replaced for example.

We loved the whole style of the Boat House (if you prefer “minimalist white” stay away!). It was a joy to wander through the lovely peaceful gardens past the pools and the barge suites to the beach which was perfect for us – lovely views, great sand and swimming, and calm sea compared with the other popular beaches while we were there, plenty of shade (though you can easily fry if you prefer) and a different lovely restaurant on the beachfront every night for a week, with several others by the road. No noticeable “nightlife” apart from bars and restaurants, though you can easily get to Chaweng if you want (we didn’t.) We agree that this is probably the best beach on Samui, near the airport but not affected by aircraft noise. The Hotel restaurant and breakfast were excellent. Some drinking water is provided free every day but we bought a huge bottle over the road for 37 Baht so we had plenty for toothbrushing. Most other features have been mentioned before such as free kayaks for an hour and snorkelling equipment, though the water will probably never be very clear. There is a free hotel daytime shuttle to Chaweng, you pay at night, and you should book ahead. Having driven through its frantic main street we decided it wasn’t what we would like.

We were glad we hired a small car (£26 per day based in the hotel) for a couple of days to drive round the island but it really wasn’t necessary. The Big Buddha was worth a visit, Wat Plai Laem temple complex much more so, both are a short taxi ride as is the attractive Fisherman’s Village. If you want such things there are trips or a taxi to the “safari” activities like elephant rides, crocodile park, tropical gardens and water slide which are all grouped together. We called in and admired the elephants and babies and walked to Waterfall 2 which was somewhat over-hyped and rather strenuous, though a swim in the pool was lovely. We did do a boat trip to the Angthon Marine Park which was gorgeous but not for the faint-hearted or less-active, requiring clambering in and out of long-tail boats and getting quite wet.

Just a couple of things worth mentioning. Gardens with ponds and wildlife like frogs, birds, lizards and butterflies will always have mosquitoes; there were lots in the evening so go prepared, the frogs are really worth it. Watch your head on the trees! We did find the bed very firm, and apparently if you ask you can have a mattress topper, which we would have liked but didn’t know about.

For those who know what we mean, we found the Geocache on the island off the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga_Boathouse, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Silvertravellers,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel. I'm very happy that you loved our hotel and apologize for the issue with the overbooking: I can assure you that it was a very rare occasion, in part caused by the peak season related to the Chinese New Year, which we do not want to repeat and we've taken corrective steps since to prevent re-occurrence. Once you stayed with us, I'm happy that you were able to enjoy our resort, it's facilities and explored the island(s), both as tourists and as Geocache hunters. We've updated your preferences with a mattress topper and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours,

Doeke
gm@imperialboathouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.