We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service old world charm beautiful gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Boat House Beach Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 stars 809 Reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service old world charm beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

we were welcomed when we strolled in from the beach when looking for somewhere to spend the day. We ended up staying the week. The service and friendliness of all the staff was outstanding. Buffet breakfast, happy hour by the pool, massages by the beach and walk through the lobby to the restaurants, gift shops and cafes on the main street. Not as modern as some of the other resorts, but the style and cleanliness of the whole resort make up for it. they will book tours for you in the lobby if you want, and the variety of places to sit and have a quiet read or drink or swim mean that you can get yourself some space if you need it...

Room Tip: the boats looked pretty cool, but as a family we had to stay in a connecting room. It was really qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Saunderooni,

Thank you so much for strolling in, staying with your family and sharing your kind feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    279
    80
    31
    13
See reviews for
148
436
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, Herts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Just returned from 14 days spent at this hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is very little in the way of entertainment in the hotel, table tennis and snooker that's about it, although some nights they have a themed night in the Captain's Table restaurant but it it's heavily advertised and unless you watch TV (what's on in the hotel) you wouldn't know about it, infact none of the themed nights are advertised so mostly they don't get a lot of people attending.
The costs of food and drink in the hotel are going to be more expensive than that outside at the other restarants and bars, so it's up to you whether you want to go outside or not. We did eat out most nights and we never experienced bad food at any of the places we ate at.
The beach is safe to walk along although whilst we were there, it was monsoon and some days the rubbish that was washed up was just left there so it didn't look very nice. There are plenty of beach massage places along the beach and although I never used them, one of the ladies staying at the hotel had a couple of massages and she said they were very good.

They have a happy hour at The Captains Table between 1pm - 2pm every day, the strange thing is that up to that time the waiters do come around and offer to get drinks for you, but come 1pm and they all dissapear, we did mention this to the General Manager and on our last day this improved, The next happy hour is 5.30 - 6.30pm also at same place, then from 6.30-7pm at the lobby bar and again at 10.30pm -11.30pm at the lobby bar, but again it wasn't widely advertised so not many people took advantage of it.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, the staff work hard to make sure your holiday is an enjoyable experience, I think I would have liked more cultural entertainment in the evenings.

As we were a group of divers we were dissapointed with the diving centres that we used. Easy Divers actually lost 2 divers during a dive and the dive guide just came back to the boat, we actually found the couple 500 metres away, The Dive Academy was better organised but again the dive guide we had was not aware that I was having problems and it was left to my buddy to sort it out as the guide was no where to be seen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Angeldelight55,

Thanks for your details comments: we appreciate the cleanliness & staff friendliness feedback and following your feedback have introduced additional activities, which we'll be launching this month. The evening entertainment was limited due to the number of guests in house due to it being a relatively quiet time of the year, but we'll have an in-house band starting on 20 Dec for 3 months, playing in the evenings at Captains Choice beach restaurant. We've also started to increase the visibility of the promotions and happy hours.
Food is indeed slightly more expensive than outside, because of the quality products we use (e.g. imported beef is tender vs Thai beef is usually a bit more chewy).
During the monsoon periods, garbage does wash up, but we've got an active beach boy team, who clean it up as fast as possible.
As you mentioned we've stepped up staffing during happy hours and will communicate it better.
Overall we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

very good value for money, best location on a really lovely beach, close by all bars and restaurants. We had a look around a couple of the other hotels/resorts on beach. and ours was the biggest and best pool.The rooms could do with modernising, but as its our 3rd time we find it part of the charm, the Boathouse were being renovated while we were there,which didnt cause any annoyance to us at all. The staff are brilliant they cant do enough for you and as always with a lovely smile. The only drawback I can say is there isnt anything to do in the Boathouse in the evening, we did dine in the Captains Table one night and there were Thai dancers to entertain, but apart from that the bar is usually closed about 10pm and is very quite, but as Chaweng is only about 10mins away there is plenty to see down there !!!
We have had a very relaxing holiday and would recommend it to all enjoy!!!

Room Tip: we stayed Deluxe room 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Bebsey,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's been a pleasure having you back and the boat suite renovation has now been completed. Our staff is indeed our biggest asset and due to the occupancy being rather low because of the low season there wasn't much entertainment on in the evening. This will change from 20 Dec onwards when our in-house band starts. Besides that we're reviewing the entertainment with the team now, so thank you for your feedback. Delighted that you had a relaxing holiday we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With warmest regards,

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

Room upgrade on arrival was a good start, the staff at the hotel are so helpful & friendly & make your visit so much better. Cracking pool & nice beach. Good breakfast & free hotel wi-fi,full sizesnooker table which is useful on a rainy day. Rooms are decent with free water bottles each day. Superb stay in general although use the foriegn exchange across the road much better rate. Shuttle buses into town & I would recommend fisherman village on a Friday night good night Market & places to eat. Must say a big thank you to Dust in the restaurant really charming staff member who was so friendly & helpful. As people have previously stated barge area needs updating but does also add to the charm off the boathouse. My last day here tomorrow weather has been good in general although rain is forecasted next week. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Dear MattMoo22,

Many thanks for your feedback and much appreciated, especially from Dusit, our restaurant manager at the Captain's Choice on the beach. We'll look into the exchange rates, the tip for Fisherman's Village on a Friday is a very good one & the boat suite renovation is nearing completion. Hope you had a good trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest wishes

Doeke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We have stayed here 4 times over 10 years and you can rely on good service, rooms and food. The bonus is being in Choeng Mon as it is the best small beach on the island if you are looking for quieter location but with good selection of shops and restaurants close by. The hotel has free shuttle to Chaweng daily.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear SueH9,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, which is even more valuable given the fact that your experience is based on the Boat House over all these years & we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

With warmest regards,

Doeke Bonga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Einsiedeln, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011 via mobile

now I am here for the 4th time. excellent hotel, nicelylocated and calm, great value for the money. there are good restaurants in walking distance, massages are on the beach. best for off season visits. certainly a place to calm down and relax.

fast trip to Chaweng if needed but I would avoid.

even during raining season worth a visit.

boat house suites need rennovation, take a deluxe room

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoekeBonga, General Manager at Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Dear Mr. Kistner,

Thank you for your kind feedback and for your loyalty.
It's been a pleasure being able to welcome you back.
Having started as the new general manager here recently, I look forward to welcoming you back and would like to re-assure you that several boat suites have already been renovated and more will follow soon.

Yours,

Doeke Bonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A perfect stay at a chilled place with premium standards, you will be charmed by the staff, the hotel area, the beach, the exellent service, please try the Searobin Diving Center 200m left on the beach as weel as the Indian restaurant 300m left from the entrance, best food outside India. We stayed in a boat house, worth the extra cash. Perfect to combine Kho Samui with Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Boat House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Boat House Beach Resort

Address: 83 Moo 5, Choeng Mon Beach | Bophut, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#2 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Boat House Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Boat House Beach Resort on Choeng Mon beach is situated on a beautiful stretch of white, soft sand on the northeast coast of Koh Samui. With spacious rooms, lush landscaping and genuine staff, we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you. What could make for a better experience than a stay in an authentic teak rice barge? Our teakwood rice barges have been converted into international standard luxury suites. We also offer 8 low-rise accommodation wings with a total of 210 rooms. Our resort is just 5 kilometers from the island's international airport and 10 minutes from Chaweng Beach and has easy access to the entire island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Boat House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Boat House Beach Hotel Choeng Mon
Imperial Boat Hotel
Imperial Boat House Koh Samui
Hotel Imperial Boat
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.