We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE front desk staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Muang Samui Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Muang Samui Villas to your Saves list
Royal Muang Samui Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Moo 5 | Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Muang Samui Villas And Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Choeng Mon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“RUDE front desk staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Very nice villa, pool & food but very disappointing service by the front desk staff namely Ms Pang. She really spoilt my day ever since i stepped into the hotel with her RUDE attitude & did not portray the well known Thai hospitality. But 1 name worth mentioning is Ms Yui who helped me with my booking & pick up arrangements.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
69
132
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

the hotel is good, a bit ffar from chaweng, but the villas are very nice and staff is helpful;

we appriciated the conffort of the villas, the pool, breakfest buffet is great and the view on the beach is pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Muang Samui villas - we arrived on Christmas Eve and stayed for 10 nights - 2 adults and 2 young children in a pool villa. We were on the top floor which was fabulous as you have great views, but there are also some safety issues with the children and open areas that go down three floors.
The pool too had a really steep edge and we wouldn't let our children get out of the pool on that side.
The villas were amazing, beautiful beds and nice bathrooms - the choice of TV was limiting though.
The breakfasts here are really nice, much better than 3 - 4 other resorts I have stayed in Koh Samui. The beach is lovely although when we were there it was quite rough - I went back a week later (staying somewhere else) and the water was completely crystal clear and calm so it just depends on the weather. The private pool at christmas time was really cold too.
We ate occasionally in the hotel at lunch which was good quality Thai and Western food and had the gala New Years Eve dinner here that was amazing. The staff were really lovely and tried to be helpful, and really fussed over the children.
There is an issue with the Europeans getting up early in the morning to reserve the sunbeds and then never turn up, I'd like to see them try that in Australia!
I would definitely recommend this place if you want to get away from it all - the following week I stayed in Chaweng and did alot of things like thai boxing and riding elephants, but while we were here we really just stayed at the beach every day.
There is a great tailor called Saville Row that made me some great dresses and jackets for work, and there are a handful of great restaurants on the road that are good at night time.
You feel pretty safe in this little town and its a good first visit place for Koh Samui, to ease you in to the lifestyle.

Room Tip: Top floor villas have the most privacy and the most sunshine but you have to walk up 3 x flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed three nights on our way to Ko Tao. The rooms are very nice, the breakfast was nice, the pool was nice and the private beach and sea were wonderful. Downsides were the collection from the airport, because we were delayed there was no one waiting, I have read this in other peoples comments. Don't worry there are lots of taxis waiting at the airport and 400 baht will get you to the hotel within 15 mins. Unfortunately this is one of those hotels where our European friends get up very early to lay towels on loungers before going back to bed for a few more hours. Nice little town with eating and drinking places on doorstep and only a short tuc tuc ride into the lively Chaweng. Go visit but take your alarm clock if you want a lounger.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Second week of Honeymoon stayed here. The property itself is amazing.Beautiful and massive rooms, amazing pools and impeccable service. The location is average, you will find yourself always heading back to Chaweng... so you might as well stay at Chaweng.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ and get the room with the private pool. It was so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We moved to Muang Samui Villas and Suites after we were dissatisfied with our original hotel in Lamai. Muang Samui was about 2x the price but SO much better and definitely worth it!

Pros:
- Spacious, clean, nicely decorated rooms
- Comfortable beds
- Large bathroom
- Great private balcony, kind of nestled in greenery even though neighbors are pretty close
- Beach - We explored Chaweng and Lamai and thought the beach at our hotel was much better than either of those.
- Nice pool and pool chairs
- Shuttle service to Chaweng
- A couple of good, local restaurants within a couple of blocks
- Location - While Chaweng is the "center" of the tourist activity with a lot of restaurants, bars and shops, it is pretty noisy (kind of like a spring break atmosphere) so it was nice to be able to go visit and walk around but then head back to our hotel area.

Cons
- The whirlpool tub in our room was broken. They came the 1st day to fix it but it still didn't work.
- The info in the room said they had a DVD collection at the front desk but when we asked about it (multiple different days), they said they were all out. On a later day it then seemed like they didn't actually have any. It was kind of hard to tell.

We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but my guess is they're adequate but a little overpriced. A taxi to/from Chaweng was 500-600 baht and, despite what I read in travel books, the drivers wouldn't really negotiate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Muang Samui Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Muang Samui Villas

Address: 89 Moo 5 | Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Muang Samui Villas And Suites)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Muang Samui Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury Thai style beachfront resort is beautifully designed encompassing the element of the serene nature, sophisticated Thai culture, and modern amenities to create a holiday haven with the tranquil environment, rich of Thainess, ultimate comfort , sheer luxury and intimate services. It is a natural paradise away from the crowded world and within a pure and unspoiled environment of greenery, white sand beach and crystal clear sea that suits vacationers looking for a peaceful and romantic holiday haven to relax and rejuvenate. Choeng Mon is a little bay lies in the North-Eastern of Koh Samui, just 10 minutes or so from the middle of Chaweng and 5 minutes from the Samui Airport but it seems like worlds away. There is a small town that the road runs through with a couple of dozen restaurants, bars, convenience stores, ATM, currency exchange, tour counters and shops to serve both local and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Muang Samui Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Samui Villas And Hotel Bophut
Royal Muang Samui Villas Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Muang Samui Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.