We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Muang Samui Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Muang Samui Villas to your Saves list
Royal Muang Samui Villas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Moo 5 | Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Muang Samui Villas And Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ADVANCE PURCHASE OFFER
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 stars 220 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First of all I would like to mention the negatives. Booked a terrace room with garden view

1. The toilet bathroom doors have holes designed in them, so make sure you have aircon on in your room as when going to toilet you can smell the odor from your room.
2. The Jacuzzi seems to occasionally startoff itself pumping water for no reason and unfortunately it also happened in the middle of the night while we are sleeping so we have to wake up to turn it off.
3. Customer service is also below standards especially at the restaurant and breakfast area. I have seen staff just standing in the middle of the walkway blocking the path of the guests. Tea was not strong enough, have to ask for teabags.
4. One morning, I saw 2 elderly sleepy Thai men sitting at the bar area watching the guests eating their breakfast which I thought was inappropriate. The bar area is meant for guests only and they don't look like staff or tourists.
5. Service in general was poorer at the restaurants. Service at the reception seemed to be rushed. Smiles were given but not in a pleasing manner. I am not sure if they liked their jobs. I see staff perspiring at the reception.
6. Also there was a large group of Chinese tourists, very loud and when they were sitting at separate tables at the breakfast area they were yelling at each other when talking which I find very inconsiderate.
As if they want to take over the place. Also they practically took over the use of the pool, smoking and their children very not well behaved at the pool. I see other European people swimming in other areas so as to avoid them.
7. I also saw some Chinese tourists reserving beach chairs in the morning using the beach towels and then going to breakfast and after our swim in the afternoon, the beach towels were still there but the whole time they were absent!
Their arrival is hard to predict so beware. Their bad reputation is not unheard of in other tourist countries so if they offend you just speak up to them.
8. Pillows were too soft.
9. Mosquitoes in rooms

However, the below are the main deal breakers:-
9. One annoying thing is after checking out as we were walking to catch a taxi, the reception staff asked us to wait 5 minutes to check if we had taken anything from the bar. I thought they should have done it earlier as we were left standing and then they accused us of using their beach slippers and not paying for it but they was no indication that we have to pay for using the slippers when we checked-in into the room, so we just told the reception we won't be paying for the use of the slippers as they didn't tell is prior.
10. We booked direct to the hotel’s special package as we find that it was cheaper than using other internet booking sites. The complimentary Thai seafood dinner was not good and dinner was at the beach itself. They just served everything at once without even mentioning what will be served. During the meal we were not attended to, they even forgot to serve the after dinner fruits.
11. Shuttle bus was meant to be complimentary but schedule was unreliable as we found out. We booked the 2:30 pm shuttle and the reception told us it will come 5 minutes later, we waited and waited along with 8 other people at the lounge for almost half an hour. They told us the reason for the delay is that they had to pickup passengers at the airport as they were delayed. The airport pickup service is paid for while the shuttle service is complimentary, no wonder they would rather pickup the passengers at the airport for the money and make us wait.
12. The beach itself isn’t that great compared to Chaweng Noi. I have stayed in Imperial Samui and find Imperial Samui Chaweng Noi better.
13. The quality of pastries and pancakes at breakfast are not that good, the sausages are better.
14. Also it is a deal breaker if you are not travelling with family or couple. The bathroom is also the area where your suitcases, wardrobes and belongings are kept, so when another person is using you can’t go in unless it is ok with both of you.
15. Email communication was unreliable and virtually non-existent, we reminded the hotel to provide twin beds before arrival and on booking but they never responded.

The pluses of this hotel are
1. Rain showers, large rooms and bathrooms, Jacuzzi
2. Large balconies with day beds
3. Jams and sausages at breakfast are good

In short, if you are after the big rooms, rain shower and and balcony and are willing to tolerate the above nuisances then go for it but for a better value for money, I think Imperial Samui at Chaweng Noi is better. Also don’t book this hotel for a honeymoon, you don’t want to spoil it due to the above for this once in a lifetime occasion. In my opinion this is not the hotel for honeymoon as there are lots of families with children.

Room Tip: We booked directly with the hotel through their low season package deal as it was cheaper than other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    65
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
110
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed in the pool suites, the pool is really nice but not private as they would have you believe as people next door and up stairs can look in. The service is good but only if they understand you , no one speaks english and it is often breaking teeth to get something done. The rooms are nice BUT few things needed repairing and like others mentioned there is no privacy in the toilet as the doors are half open. we enjoyed the beach but also not very private. walking to room is also annoying as there is a long walkway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Overall enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean, service was very friendly. Most of the positive reviews here are pretty accurate (we didnt have many negative experiences).

Things we didn't like as much were:
- We had a 5th floor private pool suite which was lovely. However, there is no elevator, which would have been fine for us had we not had a baby and pram
- Breakfast was so-so, its decent but nothing special
- The beach isn't really that great, although if you have a private pool you prob don't care.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Muang Samui is based in the Northern part of the Isalnd, this is a wonderful resort , the suites are a fabulous size ,leaving you lots of space to chill out and enjoy your stay. The staff are exceptional, they are so courteous , they are so kind , friendly and helpfull. at the reception you are greeted by 2 fantastic assistants.we arrived off a 7 am flight and they danced attendance on us to insure that we got into our suite as fast as possible, when we had to checkout at 12 pm , we were giving the use of a villa to rest freshen up and shower before our homeward bound flight.
The resort itself has a good size pool, great access to the beach,a small gym ,Bar , restaurant and breakfast restaurant overlooking the beach, the breakfast itself is great, Lots to choose from, I ill definitely be returning ,Fab holiday ........Thanks to all

Room Tip: The rooms are large, opt for one close to the beach for easy access..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We took a Deluxe Pool Suite for 5 days and generally liked our stay in the hotel.

While the room is said to be 125 square meters, its structure is somewhat weird. The bathroom takes almost half of the room and it has 2 doors with openings in them, meaning that the bathroom is not and cannot be isolated from the room. Do not take these suites if you are traveling with a child.

Despite that, the living space is still large enough, so you don't have to worry about A/C blowing you off the bed. The A/C was great, but a bit noisy. It's really nice that they give you a separate card for electricity so you could leave it on while are out of the room.

The private pool is nice, however it is not private at all, since people from surrounding suites (including the one above yours!) can totally see your pool and garden table. We were lucky that there were few people in the hotel and thus enjoyed our privacy. I don't think it is going to be the same during "high season".

Breakfasts were pretty good, but nothing special here.

The place is kind of boring because there is only a small street outside with some life going on. There are a few places to eat, a couple of 7-11/Family Marts, an exchange, tour shops/massages and that's basically it. We took a bike and drove around the island a lot.

The beach was disappointing. While it is clean and the sand is nice, the water is shallow and there is silt here and there. The water is almost always muddy because of that. Even worse, while the water surface is clean in the morning, the pieces of silt flow up to the surface as the day goes on. We went to other beaches most of the time because of that. I would rate the hotel at 3.5, but it only allows 3 or 4, so I'll stick with 4.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had wanted to stay four nights at the near by Nora Buri in a Private Pool Villa, however couldn't for the first two nights so decided to stay at Muang Samui Villas in a Grand Deluxe Suite, and I have to say that this was the best value for money I have experienced in a very long time. It cost me approx. $150 per night compared with $500 a night at the Nora Buri for a private pool villa. In all honesty I preferred Muang Samui and wished we had stayed there the entire time. Muang Samui also offer private pool suites, and I would highly, highly recommend staying here over anywhere else in Koh Samui.

The main pool is situated right on the beach and adjacent to the restaurant. The beach is lovely, with much better sand than in front of Nora Buri. There is a massage hut set up on the beach right in front of the resort where you can get a massage for 300 Baht ($10).

Only complaint is that the same pile of room service plates sat outside our neighbours room for over two days, with many staff walking past and ignoring them. Perhaps fairly lazy housekeeping staff?!

Overall our stay here was beyond excellent, and after all the research I did prior to coming to Koh Samui I can say that I will have no hesitation staying here the next time I come to Thailand.

One piece of advice; do not get the hotel to book a taxi for you, walk out on to the street and find one, therefore you can negotiate better prices. Taxi's in Samui are very, very expensive, but you will be able to negotiate 200-250 Baht to Chaweng ( they will start at 300 Baht) and 300 Baht to Fishermans village (they will start at 400 Baht).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We accidentally came across Muang Samui following a mix up at an associated resort. With short notice the staff at the resort were so accommodating and they put us up in a beautiful pool villa. The resort is on a stunning beach (Choeng Mon) where the water is clear and clean and there are many restaurants to pick from. Throughout the day the beach was not overcrowded and we always had a sun bed available. You didn't have to walk too far out into the water to be fully submerged, whereas we noticed at other beaches (like Bophut and Chaweng), we could see people nearly 100 metres out and still only knee deep.

The room itself was stunning, from the huge king size bed and large chaise lounge to the luxurious bathroom with large double basins, a jacuzzi certainly large enough to comfortably fit 2 people (complete with powerful jets and.....waterfalls!). There was also a very spacious shower.

But wait, did we mention the separate gazebo outside with couch and ceiling fan overlooking the very decently sized private pool (also with waterfall)!

And if that wasn't enough, there was also a 25 metre communal pool 10 steps away from our room, which most of the time we had to ourselves. And yes, it too had waterfalls.

The staff at the resort were very friendly and we were always greeted with smiles. We would have no hesitation in recommending Muang Samui to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Muang Samui Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Muang Samui Villas

Address: 89 Moo 5 | Choengmon Beach, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Muang Samui Villas And Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
#3 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Muang Samui Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury Thai style beachfront resort is beautifully designed encompassing the element of the serene nature, sophisticated Thai culture, and modern amenities to create a holiday haven with the tranquil environment, rich of Thainess, ultimate comfort , sheer luxury and intimate services. It is a natural paradise away from the crowded world and within a pure and unspoiled environment of greenery, white sand beach and crystal clear sea that suits vacationers looking for a peaceful and romantic holiday haven to relax and rejuvenate. Choeng Mon is a little bay lies in the North-Eastern of Koh Samui, just 10 minutes or so from the middle of Chaweng and 5 minutes from the Samui Airport but it seems like worlds away. There is a small town that the road runs through with a couple of dozen restaurants, bars, convenience stores, ATM, currency exchange, tour counters and shops to serve both local and tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Muang Samui Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Samui Villas And Hotel Bophut
Royal Muang Samui Villas Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Muang Samui Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.