We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deva Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Deva Samui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69/34 Moo 5, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Choeng Mon
Kloten, Switzerland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay (12nights) in this friendly and peaceful hotel. The breakfast is good and is located next to the sea. The Staff is friendly and helpful. You need to have a motorbike (you can rent one at the hotel or in a office next to the hotel at Mr Pong). To fisherman's village takes about 10min by motobike and to Chaweng Beach about 15-20min. It is easy to get to these places. Taxi are about 400 - 500 baht for each way, we therefore recommend to rent a motobike (180 - 200 baht per day).
The hotel as such is not very modern and also not suitable if you want to have luxury needs. But it is small and charming though.

Room Tip: We suggest you to take the Deluxe Room or Grand Deluxe Room. It is a very nice and clean Room. You h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    81
    30
    11
    13
See reviews for
17
123
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

OK hotel but at bit run down and worn.
Out main issue with the hotel is their poor shuttle service. They are very unflexible for going to either Chaweng or Bophut. They wouldn´t pick us up at the ferry, 5 minutes away and they charged ridicolous 400 bath for taking us to the airport which is 8 minutes away.
Not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fabulous restaurant open to all, we were staying next door. The staff were fast and prompt. The food was great and the pricing was fair. They had no problem with us staying elsewhere and in fact complimented where we were staying.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, however the restaurant was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here for 6 nights, we chose a room with jacuzzi on the balcony, bathroom was huge, excellent room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and a chef is one hand to make any fresh Thai dishes which is nice.
There is a beach but it's not anything special and not great for kids, didn't bother us as we dont spend time on the usual beaches. Overall would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a Jacuzzi on the balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My partner and I travelled to Koh Samui in early June. We had planned to stay at Deva Samui for 5 nights. When arriving staff seemed ok, not overly nice but not rude. It was very hard to communicate with them as they did not speak very good English. The bell boy showed us up to our room, we had paid a pretty cheap rate, but based by the photos the room looked lovely and we expected that even with a window we would have an ok view..how wrong were we! We were walked around to the very back of the hotel and went up three flights of stairs to find our room and the end of what seemed a spooky sort of corridor. We were shown into our room and we were utterly disappointed and stressed. The view we had was of a big electricity power box. The bedding and room itself was ok, TV channels were average and it was honestly hard to find things to do at night because of the location of the hotel, which we knew was going to be a little out of Chaweng, but not so remote that it was in a random little village where there were no restaurants within walking distance. The hotel restaurant was an absolute disgrace, got served up a thai beef dish and it was literally inedible..not even sure that the meat was even beef. Breakfast was pretty average, ordered 2 banana pancakes which were borderline just oils, fat, grease and flour mixed together with banana syrup..makes me gag remembering the taste. Not sure how this hotel has so many good ratings, I would strongly recommend you don't stay here..oh, you also can't swim in the beach as well, wouldn't even call it a beach maybe a polluted bay would be more appropriate! Ended up staying at Banana Fan Sea Resort for the 3rd, 4th and 5th night, absolutely loved it there. Please guys, DO NOT STAY HERE! Please please please!

Room Tip: Save your money and stay in Chaweng, or just out of Chaweng if you don't like hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As a treat for my boyfriend's birthday I booked three nights at Deva Samui and spent more money than we normally would on accommodation during our around the world trip. We were not disappointed! We stayed in a superior room which was large, clean and tastefully decorated. The room amenities were excellent- great air con and tv channels. The pools are amazing especially the one on the beach front. It was nice and quiet, we rarely shared the pool with more than one other couple. The grounds are well landscaped and kept beautifully, it was like paradise. The staff at the spa were so friendly when we walked past, but the lady that checked us in and out didn't have the same warmth and seemed to be just going through the motions.

We were given 15 minute complimentary head and neck massages vouchers on arrival which was a nice touch, we would have liked to have other spa treatments but they seemed a bit over priced, the cheapest around 850 baht that's not including the 10% service charge and 7% vat, I'm sure the treatments would be amazing as the spa is gorgeous!

The breakfast is AMAZING, great buffet and then a choice of cooked options which were so nice! We ate in the restaurant one night as it is quite expensive for us, still not as expensive as the uk. The food was good and we were the only people eating there.

It is not in the best location, but for us we wanted to just relax by the pool and beach so we were not bothered, there is a 7/11 about a 10 min walk away.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here! We didn't want to leave!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Deva Samui Resort n Spa

This was a 6 night stay for my wife and I, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Location
======

The resort is a 15min drive from the airport by car, and right by the coast. Some noise from aeroplanes was noted by the beach but not from our room. So not a distraction for us. The resort is walking distance to 2 famous local temples, e.g. Big Buddha temple. Have a look on Google maps. Definitely worth a visit!

The resort itself looks great, colourful, with natural surroundings effect and aromas. The resort has a decent sized swimming pool for all to share, with a side Jacuzzi, and a small, well maintained beach.

The area is quieter and far less touristy, unlike Chaweng. So, there's very little hassle from street sellers. But the downside is far less choice for eating out near the resort. The surrounding area felt safe to walk around at night.

Room
====

We had the deluxe room with the Jacuzzi bath in the balcony area. What a fabulous room! Spacious, clean, climate control, indoor shower, two complimentary mineral water bottles every day, bathrobe and slippers all provided. The Wi-Fi service is free, fast and reliable.

Staff
===

Wonderful staff and consistent service. The people in the area and hotel are very friendly and respectful, and go along way to help you and feel welcome.

Facilities
=======

There are no water sports here. A decent, clean gym is present, which we used regularly.

The spa was fabulous! A special thanks to Phornphana Phioluan to creating a memorable experience for us both. Yes, a massage on a resort will be more expensive than the street versions, but you are paying for the experience, service, superb surroundings, and a clean and safe environment.

Free daily excursions are available by the hotel to the new Central Festival shopping centre in Chaweng. Twice a week, free transfers to Chaeg mon beach and once a week to Fisherman's Village, Bo Phut. These are a great way to access to other areas on the island for exploration, shopping and good cheap food!

Additional excursions are available to the same areas above on different days at a cost of 100 THB per person per journey.

Taxi services and bike rental etc are very close to the resort. We didn't try these, so no comment available.

Food
====

Essentially, there is only one restaurant on the resort, right by the beach. The breakfast was impressive. A mini buffet style with a menu fir cooked breakfast options. The evening meal was okay. The cost for 2 mains, 2 mocktails and 1 dessert was about 1000 THB (including tax and service fees).

You'll find plenty of places to eat when you are out and about, and a lot cheaper than the UK! e.g. the Indian restaurant called Ali-Baba near the entrance of Fisherman's Village was fabulous and really cheap! There's limited choice just outside the resort. We tried the Silver Bullet Bar a minutes away by foot. Cheap simple food that tastes good but had small portions.
There are 2 supermarkets within easy walking distance from the resort.

(P.S. Remember to haggle prices in any market shop on the island/market!!)

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deva Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deva Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 69/34 Moo 5, Choeng Mon, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Choeng Mon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Spa Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Mon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Mon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deva Samui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deva Samui Resort & Spa offers guests a tropical escape on Thailand’s renowned boutique island destination. On a secluded bay with direct access to the white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deva Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Outrigger Koh Samui Hotel Bophut
Deva Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Choeng Mon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deva Samui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.