We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nest

The Nest
Valley Church beach, jolly harbour, Antigua, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
(268) 562-7958
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 10 Restaurants in Jolly Harbour
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was one-beautiful-beach!!!
Sorry to anyone who was here on the same day as us- our group drank the bar out of Carib beer ($15 a bucket)
The taxi ride from the port was $8 per person, each way.
We arrived here around 1030am and there were very few people there. We were able to get 10 chairs right in a row, with 5 umbrellas. A set of 2 chairs and one umbrella was $20
The venders were a bit much, especially the jet-ski guys. At one point, the police showed up and questioned two of the male venders- not sure what that was all about...
This beach had a secluded, quiet feel to it. We were the only ship in port this day, which might have contributed to it not being so over populated.
Anyway, it was a very beautiful, calm beach and we look forward to visiting there again in Jan 2015!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach side location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent beach restaurant. Coconut prawns a must. I have visited this restuarant on a number of occassions. Friendly staff and fantastic beach by blue sea. Busy when cruise ships are in these days

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Rum Punch EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just returned from a week on beautiful Dominica, and had a long layover in Antigua. My husband arranged for a guided tour. My one requirement was that we stop somewhere for lunch on the beach. I could not have been happier with the spot chosen by our guide, Lawrence. Valley Church Beach is a stunning expanse of white sand and crystal clear water. The Nest is located right on the beach, and has the best rum punch I've ever had. The food was quite good, and arrived very quickly (they knew we had to get back to the airport on time). Perhaps it's because June is the off-season, but we were not bothered by any vendors whatsoever. It was perfectly peaceful and relaxing (rum punch doesn't hurt, either). It was JUST what I had in mind. Too bad we had to leave to quickly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You should definitely hit this at least once when in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We we're staying at a nearby resort and it was suggested to us to for the beach and the food, as well as the rum punch. We were very impressed our first day and went back the very next. Food is good, drinks are terrific, and the bartender is quite helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good beach tasty food decent service worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Perhaps because we visited in May and there were no cruise ships around, we didn't experience any hassle at all from taxi drivers, vendors or poor service. The food was good (conch curry very good EC45), cooked there and then so do not expect it to be ready in 5 minutes, drinks not too expensive (cosmopolitan EC16) and the service was friendly. Beach lounger hire was EC13 (5US) for all day. Beach was good, also there are quite a few trees on the beach which gives some much needed shade during the heat of the day. All in all a nice chilled out day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nest also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to The Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.