We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akropolis Greek Taverna

Akropolis Greek Taverna
Jolly Harbour | Waterfront, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
+1 7832098
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

really..the food is good enough. it's not crappy Greek food which was our fear...it's not amazing either...but you will be satisfied enough and enjoy it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    71
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were just in Antigua, and we luckily trusted Trip Advisor and tried out this place. Then, we went back again because it was by far the best food we had on our whole trip! The food was outstanding, prices were very reasonable, drink selections were top-notch, and the service was flawless without being fussy. Eat here! You will not be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent meal, excellent hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went out for our anniversary down in Antigua and were very lucky to have found this place. It is fairly new (about 6 months old or so as of the date of this review) and we were lucky enough to meet the family running the place, including the owner, the chef and one of their sons. We would have to say it is one of the best restaurants in Jolly Harbour and will be going back there when we return to the island with our kids.

The food was excellent, the chef makes her own tzatziki sauce from scratch - its unbelievably tasty. The main dish (we had a new chicken dish) was great, came with a salad, pita bread and their awesome sauce.

The family was super pleasant, great atmosphere and of course great food. Definitively worth a visit for a dinner meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best kept Jolly Harbour secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Who would have thought such fresh, authentic, and delicious Greek food could be found in a castle by the sea in Antigua? Run by a warm and engaging Greek family who have chosen to bless our jolly harbour with their mum's outstanding cooking after running successful establishments in Europe, this gem of a restaurant is set up high to catch the ocean breezes. The tall and handsome middle son (all are single and of marrying ages, by the way) has carefully chosen an array of fantastic wines, mainly Chilean, to please guests and he gratefully allows one to taste several kinds prior to deciding. The food is delectable! We returned here more than once during a brief stay and will surely be back next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding and consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was so good we kept going back. Best restaurant that we ate at in Antigua. Family run and very friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Greek Taverna also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to Akropolis Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akropolis Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.