We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AL PORTO

AL PORTO
Adjacent to Super Yacht Terminal, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
(268) 562-7848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
UK/Antigua
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice and reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I like Al Porto. The setting is pretty, the food's consistent (including very good pizzas) and it's not horrendously expensive. I tend to eat the same thing on each visit, and have yet to be disappointed. It can get very busy on the 241 nights, so worth booking then (Tuesdays). Well worth trying for a nice change from the usual Jolly Harbour suspects.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    71
    34
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Tx.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Best Italian at Jolly Harbor, but that's not saying much.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We came here on the recommendation of several fellow guests at Sugar Ridge & should've made reservations as they were quite busy & had only 2 tables available for walk-ins when we arrived around 6:30. By the time our entrees were served, it was a packed house & many were smokers puffing away while they ate or talked in the outdoor, covered dock-like seating area. Allowing smoking will definitely turn me off as I'm very allergic to cigarette smoke. We endured, but it made eating very unpleasant and there was nothing the management would do to subdue any smoking. It was also very noisy as everyone was drinking some kind of alcoholic beverage. (Their wine selection is limited but very reasonably priced.) Whatever we ordered was not memorable as I usually take photos of dishes we enjoyed & I have no photos from this place. There is one other Italian restaurant at Jolly Harbor & the food at Al Porto was slightly better than theirs, plus the service was much better here. Many of the items on the menu were NOT Italian, and I don't recall a majority of entrees actually BEING Italian. There was some live entertainment which was also not impressionable other than it was too loud. Parking is very limited. I would recommend this place only if you don't mind cigarette smoke with your food and you're craving something Italian in the Jolly Harbor area.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice during our stay at Jolly Harbour. The staff were lovely and attentive and couldn't do enough for the kids. Pizzas are woodfired and lovely. On the Sunday when we were there they even had a special where the kids ate free. The kids pizzas are big too so we even took the remains home in a box for lunch tomorrow. Good wine too and not too over priced for Antigua but still expensive as everywhere in Antigua seems to have been!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Just got back from Antigua and was so surprised to find the best Pizza I ever ate we went back 3 times just to make sure we weren't mistaken and we were thrilled each time. Sitting outside overlooking the marina with an ice cold beer and a great slice of pie what else could you want. Look forward to returning.

PS go for lunch wait staff isn't so rushed and can lavish you with great service.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Being from CT we have one of the best pizza places in the US, Pepe's in New Haven, and this pizza is as good or better. We played golf twice and went over after for lunch and the pizza was fantastic and left us wanting to go back again. There is nothing better than pizza and a carib with a view that is breath taking. The service for lunch was fantastic. We also ate there for Valentine's day and the food was good but the place was so crowded we felt sorry for the wait staff trying to keep up but they always had a smile.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AL PORTO also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 

Been to AL PORTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AL PORTO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.