We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Ridge to your Saves list
Sugar Ridge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not long back from this hotel and had a stunning time. yes there were a couple of small issues mostly around music late at night but didn't happen often and certainly didn't ruin the holiday.
The staff are amazing and a real credit to the hotel and Antigua - lovely lovely people. The food was good and my only comment would be there isn't a lot of choice for vegetarians beyond pasta - that's fine cause I love pasta. Breakfasts are unbeatable :) There are fantastic beaches nearby and could wholeheartedly recommend Darkwood and Turners - Nest was a bit busy as there was a cruise ship in at the time but again didn't spoil any part of the holiday. Both my partner and I are sure we'll be heading back some day as it was genuinely excellent.

Room Tip: We'd room 18 which although not perhaps the best views was just a teensy short hop to the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    220
    64
    23
    13
See reviews for
53
460
37
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Sugar Ridge for 3 nights in January '14 with my fiance. The property is about 1min drive from the beach (but there is a free shuttle), and is nestled nicely into the mountain. Facilities (pool, gym, bungalows) are great, and value for money was good too. Service was decent but a bit patchy at times. In general I like to stay at different places when I travel but given how good my experience was, I would definitely consider staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Beautiful property and hotel! My husband and I stayed in June 2014 using my Aveda points. We had an amazing week! The staff is probably the friendliest and most accommodating we have ever encountered while traveling. While the hotel is not on the beach the pools are great and a shuttle takes you to several different beaches with a short drive. The plunge pool on our balcony was so nice to cool off in after the day on the beach. Vorn who works there and drives the beach shuttle offered to give us his tour of the island if we were interested. We met him and his nephew at 9am and they gave us a whole day tour of the island, beaches, points of interest. What and incredible day! Thanks Vorn and Lorn!
We ate at Carmichael's twice and the food was spectacular! Sugar club breakfast was a great way to start the day! Our pick as the best property on the island!

Room Tip: The higher the room number the further up the hill you are with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sugar Ridge for our honeymoon this past January (2014). It was absolutely amazing- we couldn't have asked for anything more. The pictures do not do it justice. We were a little skeptical not to choose one of the more common Sandals type resorts, but we were so happy with our decision! We stayed in one of the king rooms without the outdoor dipping pool and LOVED the room, bathroom, and deck. This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for something a little different. It is very quiet, beautiful, and romantic. We had the all inclusive plan and all of the food was amazing. We spent almost every evening up at the endless pool watching the sunset (basically alone every night with our own personal bartender!) The concierge was great at suggesting and making daily plans for us. We definitely recommend going on the walking tour of Antigua with Vaughn. He is so nice and informative- its a must! We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Dont be scared of the steep climb many people complain about- the staff has no problem transporting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Property and helpful staff form the perfect backdrop to fit any type of vacationer. If you want tranquility, it's everpresent in this natural hillside setting with great views. Loved the poolside (especially on top of hill) experience under pergolas with only the sound of birds and waterfalls. If you're looking for a beach experience, several are close by and the property jeep will provide roundtrip service upon request (if on the all-inclusive plan, you can also eat "for free" at some of the beach cafes). Loved the variety of experiencing several beaches. If you're looking for adventure and exploration, several good day tours are available. Don't miss the Sunday Jump-Up at Shirley Heights. Pre-book transportation at front desk. If you enjoy nightlife and dancing, this is your big opportunity! Nights get quiet very early at Sugar Ridge. We also enjoyed the excursion to Barbuda and the Frigate Bird Sanctuary, concluding the day with a meal and time on the untouched pink stretches of sand. Only go on a calm day as the catamaran ride is lengthy out on open seas. Room size is rather small, but the patio space makes up for it. Food was good and offered enough variety to wholeheartedly recommend the all-inclusive package. Loved the intimacy of the resort and ability to get acquainted with fellow travelers, most of whom were lovely people from the UK. GM - Keith went all out as our flight was delayed. We arrived at 1 am starving and without luggage and he was kind enough to open up the gift shop for sundries AND travel to the only local establishment still open and deliver some jerk chicken to our room. We were well cared for from start to finish!

Room Tip: Not worth the added expense to get a room with pool on patio unless you have children and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a last minute choice and we enjoyed ourselves.
We particularly liked the positive and friendly attitude of the staff and the openness of Keith (the GM).
The Island's General Election took place three days after we left but the buzz and enthusiasm of all the people we met to take part will stay with us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Positives:

* Fantastically well maintained & clean
* Pools are a lovely temperature
* Shuttle/carts to & from beaches/hotel rooms with flexibility on timings
* Great food when it did arrive
* Certain members of staff are obviously in their element working here & that came over very well

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Negatives - Primarily Housekeeping & Sugar Club Restaurant staff = bad attitude:

* Our 2 person daybed had only one pillow - when we asked for a second one it had been dumped on the outside table as it seemed to have been too much effort for staff to actually walk that extra one step to put it on the daybed

* Only one mug provided for the coffee machine....for double occupancy room

* When we tried to use this accessory, the coffee-pods didn't fit the machine so we questioned staff as to whether we were doing something wrong to be told, "The correct machines are still in Miami". Upon relaying this to keith (GM) he explained that the *pods* were still overseas but reassured us it was OK to use these larger ones. He also then sent up some of the true-sized ones. Surely HK should have picked up on the fact that the correct pods were indeed on-site & that 2 mugs were needed?

* Balcony light not working

* Minibar fridge was empty despite intro welcome letter saying it was fully stocked. We were charged $5+tax to have it filled which apparently is standard as we were "out of season". NOTE: We had to complete a form which we waited 4 days to receive in order to have fridge stocked - this finally happened when we approached Keith about it. If reception staff knew it was empty, why did we get a letter contradicting this?

* TV screen not visible from bed - no sofa or armchair provided

* Breakfast on 2nd day was a disaster! Upon ordering I explained that due to medical condition my eggs could not be runny. They arrived runny so I explained that we needed them hard as was noted originally. They came back to me waterlogged & tasting of nothing but vinegar. Inedible. Despite asking 3 separate waitresses for butter, this never materialised.

* B/fast on day 3 = worse! Fruit ordered never arrived. We ordered a German Pancake each, waited 45 mins so then asked staff the situation (especially as the fruit hadn't come!) We were told that the Chef had not used the raising agent so had thrown them & started again BUT that as he had only made ONE on this second attempt, my husband & I would be sharing one!!!!
Another 45 mins later & still no food at all, we were told that we would have to order something else off the menu.

* No decaf coffee available in restaurant in evening after dinner on one occasion.

Husband & I had strong feeling that as it was now low season, we were on the back-burner & certain members of staff in Housekeeping & Sugar Club Restaurant had the wrong attitude. Such a shame as apart from these, the other members of staff are irreplaceable & totally passionate about their "new friends" ie new guests.

If Janine from Reception, Keith the General Manager & Carlene B from Sugar Club set up their own establishment, I would be there without hesitation.

Made a great small group of friends too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarRidge, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your very kind remarks in respect of specific individuals and for the positive comments you made about many aspects of Sugar Ridge. As can be seen from your review and as we discussed at the time of your stay – there were a series of very unfortunate incidents which arose especially at breakfast on two consecutive days during the week you were with us. As you know I also spoke to those concerned in Housekeeping and Sugar Club and as I recall you said afterwards the magic dust had worked a charm. I am extremely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced which I know did on those occasions you mentioned did not reflect the normal high standard of professional service we are accustomed to providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jolly Harbour
8.3 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#4 of 18 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
12.1 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cocos Hotel Antigua
Cocos Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 stars 2,559 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#3 of 18 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 stars 2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.