We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every minute :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Ridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Ridge to your Saves list
Sugar Ridge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations for two main reasons...the friendly and accommodating staff and the ambience of the hotel...it has a very classy, exclusive feel to it which made my stay very special. Although it is not located directly on the beach, it has an ocean view at a bit of a distance and to the south a very pretty view of Jolly Harbour. It is surrounded by lush hills which made for some great photos. Getting to the local beaches was easy, they provide jeep shuttles at regular, convenient, times, just a short ride away; the Nest which is a stunning beach with milky blue water is within walking distance. Also a short walk away is the Jolly Harbour grocery store with a bank machine which was very handy.

I was given an ocean view room as requested, but I wasn't aware that the hotel is located along on a main road so you can see and hear traffic at times. I requested another room higher up the ridge that was more quiet and facing Jolly Harbour and the staff were very courteous and accommodating in moving me, and went out of their way to ensure I was satisfied with the new room. The rooms are as shown on the website, clean, stylish, modern, and they have a beautiful large balcony. Bed was very comfy and AC worked great. As others have pointed out, there are golf carts to take you to/from your rooms but I preferred to walk; it is a steep walk but many guests choose to walk.

Other points of interest, the food was very good at the Sugar Club restaurant, breakfast is either a buffet or off the menu and service was always friendly and reliable. Carmichael's was a definite treat for the food and view, and also had friendly and attentive service. The pools were well maintained but on the smaller side, but the deck areas were beautiful and spacious. Definitely make your way up to the infinity pool as the view is stunning and there are several relaxing spots to enjoy there.

Overall I had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel... :-)

Room Tip: Rooms in the high 30s and the 40s face Jolly Harbour and are away from the main resort so are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    179
    51
    19
    10
See reviews for
35
405
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Antigua. My fiancé and I decided Sugar Ridge would be the perfect place to get married! We were right. The resort is beautiful and the staff exceptional. Our wedding coordinator, Marcia made our dream wedding become a reality and also stress-free. I felt the huge companies like Sandals was too commercialized and not so personal. Marcia along with the staff at Sugar Ridge made sure everything was exactly like my fiancé and I pictured. The wedding ceremony was more than I expected. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone interested in getting married in Antigua. The rooms were romantic, clean, modern and the price was awesome. The food was out of this world along with the awesome drinks!! I can't wait to return for our anniversary!!!

Room Tip: If you do want a room right on the beach, this resort has shuttle service to the beach about a 2-5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Saturday was the final party of a series of parties that were organised by the Grown and Sexy Crew from the Uk, bringing 90 souls from the Uk to party on down with the best of us here in Antigua. It was a brilliant night out and the Djs Missy B, MasterMind and Dave VJ did a sterling job of it with sounds fromt he 80s and even some more recent stuff. We had a brilliant time and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Well done Sugar Ridge for helping to put on such a fantastic event. Staff as usual in the bar were fabulous, what more can I say, it was an excellent night out. More please!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for 11 nights. Not on the beach but they offer a free shuttle service to beach and supermarket whenever you want. Most staff fantastic in both sugar club and Carmichaels, however found the evening staff in Sugar club restaurant to be lacking.
Main pools small but very picturesque (might be a squeeze in the busy period, we went off season), rooms fantastic and very clean, we had a room with a small plunge pool on balcony, did not use once as balcony not sunny.. but there if you want it! All in a a great hotel in Antigua, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: if paying extra for a room with the pool, would not bother, there is no sun on the balcony so the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Wow me and Simon had the best holiday and anniversary at the sugar ridge the place is fab staff are lovely we had super deluxe room with kingsize bed and plunge pool bed and yummy breakfast menu we walked every day to jolly harbour to the supermarket only took 5 minutes and we walked to the nest beach which took 10 minutes it was deserted and so nice if you are going with your man buy a snorkel and flippers as he will want to go in we ate at the crows nest very good ancient had an excellent band Carmichaels was very nice we ate there a few times you will not be disappointed with the sugar ridge taxi from and back to airport £15 there and £15 back now we have been to the Caribbean we are definitely going back

Room Tip: Get one with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just stayed at this property (June 2013) during my first trip to Antigua, and I loved it! I had a one king bedroom (no pool) and I purchased the package that included breakfast. Room #11.

Pros:

Beautiful modern, decor
Large rooms
Clean and pest free
Air-conditioned and ceiling fan
Free Wi-Fi
2 Free bottles of water
Aveda hair & skin care products in room
Huge workout room (with water cooler, so you're able to refill your own container for free!)
Mini-bar can serve as refrigerator
Large deck with lovely view
Beautiful pool
2 Restaurants onsite (although I only visited the Sugar Ridge Club & it was sufficient)
Free shuttle to nearby beaches daily (I even walked some days - not far, but hot)

Cons:
Not on beach (but very closeby)
Stairs - the rooms are hillside and have to climb sets of stairs to reach them (not really a bother but could be negative for some)

That's about all I can think of for cons. It is a lovely property. While many oceanfront properties have a rustic, open feel (with sand everywhere), this property was very modern, clean, and sleek. The staff was friendly and seemed helpful (I am a very low-maintenance guest so I didn't require much). In addition to the large gym, there is room for group classes and there appeared to be one class of yoga or pilates everyday. I visited the Aveda salon/spa for a pedicure and facial treatment, and it was nice. Some of the salon services were pricey, but I think the average traveler could afford at least one or two of the services.

A taxi from the airport was $24 US and takes about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was our first trip to Antigua, we did not know what to expect in terms of accommodation or how friendly the locals were.

Upon arriving we were more than pleasantly surprised. The people are marvellous. Very friendly and eager to give a good impression of their island. You'd expect hotel staff to be courteous, it's their job. But the local islanders, on the beach, in the shops and residents were all lovely.

The Sugar Ridge was an amazing place to stay. The decor was very chique and stylish. Both restaurants served wonderful food. Especially Carmichael's at the top of the ridge. The service is out of this world. We missed the managers welcome cocktail party, we tend not to attend such formal affairs... But the next morning the manager came over to our breakfast table and welcomed us personally, he'd realised that we were not there at the previous evening event and had taken the trouble to make sure we were happy..

The accommodation was also very nice. The room was clean and well appointed. Nice walk-in wet room/shower. The little plunge pool on the patio is a nice touch.

We looked at some of the other hotels advertised when we were here. We were glad that we had chosen the best as far as we could see. The only downside (for some) not for us, the hotel is not right on the beach. But this added to exclusive feel. There is a regular shuttle bus (land rover) which will take you to any one of the numerous beaches.

I'm sure that you will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms with a upper floor but I'm glad we chose the ground floor one with plun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.