We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry but should try harder” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Ridge

Save Saved
You added Sugar Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Ridge
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
london
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Sorry but should try harder”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sugar ridge has lots of positives well documented in these recent reviews and in our week long stay over new year we would agree with them all.However, this is a well rated and expensive hotel and if it wants to sustain its position it will have to significantly raise its game. It's not that the service is bad; as others comment, its inconsistency taints the good and unreliability caused us just to give up asking or using the hotel!s services except when we had to. Yes, we found the beach shuttle service too laid back and unreliable and yes we also thought the breakfast was average at best and a bit mean to charge for fresh eggs rather than the basic scrambled. By the end of the week we felt sorry that some excellent service by several staff and mangers had been let down by what just felt like poor management.
Here are specifics relating to front desk and housekeeping. Tea and coffee were not replenished except when we requested, neither were tissues or even toilet roll, when we mentioned this in the morning, the response was sorry and we will remedy that. However, most quality hotels would send someone straight round.but SR dealt with it the next time housekeeping did our room in the evening or the next day. We asked them to book a trip with the local TA top rated snorkelling RIB company for the next day and they said sure no problem. When the next day came we asked if they had booked it and were told not possible and they thought the snorkelling company had probably gone out of business. We knew that wasn't right as we had seen the boats in jolly harbour so we just rang up and did iit ourselves. On our last day we checked out of our room at 11 40 in time for the noon limit, but housekeeping came in at 9 30 asking to clean the room as normal. Clearly no one had told them we were checking out that day!
All that said, we did have a good time, the area is great, the beaches sensational and jackie o's beach bar is superb for lunch or dinner

Room Tip: Anywhere near 17 great we thought first floor better than ground and plunge pool not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Your comments have been duly noted especially in respect to inconsistency in service which has been more recently highlighted by others. I can assure you these have been taken up with each departmental manager and in particular with Reception and Housekeeping. Clearly the issues that you referred to should quite simply not have happened and I can at this late stage only apologies for the inconvenience these incidents caused. We have enjoyed very many excellent reviews over the three years that Sugar Ridge has been operating – so we are more than capable of getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    171
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
33
395
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed two weeks over Christmas/New Year. Got a great room away from main complex around the corner which had far reaching views out towards Jolly Harbour and Tranquility Bay. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are set into the ridge and spread out well so there are some steps involved but you can either wait for buggy service or man up and just walk it with the legs provided by your parents. Small price to pay from my perspective for lovely, well tended grounds and space.

Stayed breakfast only, which as a buffet one could quite easily fuel up for the day on with a wide spread of juices, pastries, fruit, cereals, toast/muffins and hot items, including some Caribbean dishes like saltfish and chop-up. Hot stuff wasn't always all that hot, but then hard to keep a buffet hot for hours it's open.

Didn't feel the need to eat in the flagship restaurant, the Sugar Club food was pretty good on it's own. Just over the road is a cool little Fish & Chip double decker bus which I sampled one night, good value with some great tunes and a beer.

The Mosquitos must have been on holiday when I was there - came fully prepared with tons of bug spray but didn't need to touch it any point either in the grounds or out walking around the entire time I was there.

<geek alert>Wi-Fi service was good, although I found specifying a faster DNS server sped things up massively for me - something I suspect would be true of most connections on the island</geeking>

Loads of fearless birds (I had frequent visitations from Bananaquits, Bullfinches and hummingbirds) about to watch and tons of little lizards darting around the well kept grounds.

10 minute walk from the hotel gets you to the Jolly Harbour supermarket full of all the comforts of home. Waitrose biscuits, HP Sauce and all. 15-20 minute easy walk gets you to the beach via Jolly Harbour or the Cocos Hotel and if you're prepared to walk 15-20 mins further lots of other quieter Beach options like Valley Church, CoCo Bay and Ffreys. Tip the Northern end of Tranquility bay is much quieter if you can live without sunbeds plus there's natural shade from trees on the beach.

Sugar Ridge is about 30 minutes white knuckle taxi ride from the airport. Close your eyes and hold on, it will pass quickly then just relax.

Do stay if:
you don't want to be with the herds in the main resorts
you enjoy peace and quiet

Don't stay if:
you object to using your legs
you're a bad buggy passenger

Room Tip: I stayed in 53, an upper level room with brilliant views. Rooms 1-24ish face more towards the main c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely secluded hotel; away from the tourist masses but still with access and deals with local beaches a short car ride away. Rooms clean and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Worth doing a few tours to experience the island.
Only criticism I would have had is that the minibar in room was not included on the all-inclusive plan, so no free drinks in room unless you went down to the bar to get them - but that is a minor gripe.
Overall a lovely hotel, lovely food and service and I would return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is difficult to rate because the main problem here is INCONSISTENCY: Some staff made you feel valuable, while others were so surly in their attitude that you wondered if Antigua is becoming spoiled by all the eager tourists so willing to visit and spend their hard-earned dollars! For example, meal service at both restaurants could be quite good to downright dismal; room service was generally prompt, but one service didn't even speak to my husband when he said hello, while another service amazed us with his dedication, appearing at our door, with huge platter in hand, after walking up (and on a rainy night) from the Sugar Club (since no carts were available) Amazing work, Glaive!; shuttle service was often abysmally slow (we would call and frequently receive no pick-up, and at times the drivers were curt and reckless; service at the front-desk was often slow and of poor quality - requests we made for various excursions were completely ignored at times. On the other hand, kudos to Janine who was always warm and concerned with our needs, asking us if everything was alright. The greatest inconsistency was in the beach shuttle service: a times this was ok, but there were several occasions where we were left waiting at various beaches for upwards of an hour, and at the end of the day, in wet bathing, suits, tired and cold. When we were in the shuttle, the driver often ferried us to our respctive destinations at breakneck speed. My husband happened to notice that the speedometer read 80km (in a 40 zone) at one point. No doubt the driver was pressured to deal with all the passengers, but really whose fault is this? We actually watched the sunset at one beach waiting to be retrieved. We had to push back our dinner reservations as we were so late returning to our room.
The good side of this last experience was that the general mananger, Keith listened respectfully to our complaints. In fact, it is largely because of Keith's intervention in this and other matters relating to our stay and our being, that I am giving the hotel the rating that I am. Thank you, again, Keith!
I echo some of the complaints of other reviewers who indicate that at these prices the hotel service should be better, and I absolutely concur. And another concern (and which we discussed with Keith, who was very amenable in dealing with this) are all the extra fees. Yes, we understand the nominal fee for room service, but we were taken aback by all the dishes on the Carmichaels' menu for which a supplement must be paid (we were all incluvsive). Lobster is a standard "extra", but scallops, and steak as well?! In addition, for Christmas dinner, we had no choice but to pay of supplement of either 25 or 30 U.S. per person at either restaurant..and the irony was that the food wasn't that special nor that plentiful.
Overall, the food was fresh and tasty, but there was a dearth of variety in the dishes if one was eating mostly at the hotel, and staying for longer a week....two weeks or more and the choices were repetitive.
The hotel itself is in a beautiful location, with gorgeous landscaping, some nice facilities (didn't use much), and generally stunning views. The steep incline meant that walking was awkward (can do a number on your joints), and waiting around for golf carts can drive you around the proverbial bend toward which you're heading...plus one is always telephoning for service....rather than just walking out the door. We were constantly asking for something, such as ice, which should have been readily available but was not.
The pools are conveniently varied in size and purpose, but do take note that the infinity pool is barely larger than a plunge. Another concern, perhaps becuase of the location, and certainly not the hotel's fault, is the mosquitos....lots of them. The bed netting was useful.
Some reviewers raved about the bed, but I found it terribly hard and uncomfortable; however, I don't fault the hotel for this, as it is a personal choice. They did try very hard to accommodate my needs (Keith again) to make me happy.
The room itself was somewhat Spartan with only the most basic of furniture, and without a seating area or desk. Reading in bed was problematic, as the two table lamps did not throw adequate lighting. Plus they were covered by large, light-diffusing shades...nice for ambience, but not terribly functional. The mini fridge was useless for keeping any items adquately cold. A staff told us that it was really just a "cooler". The bathroom was small, and a little pokey without a lot of room for a couple to leave their respective toiletries. A "high" point to the rooms is the spacious verandah, with fabulous views of Jolly Harbour. We spent many hours simply watching sunsets and spotting wildlife.
The proximity to some brilliant beaches, and the ability to choose which location we wished to visit was a great option. Unfortunately, one of the beach service and lunch providers, Jaquie O's pulled out of the arrangement with the hotel, for a portion of our trip. We were offered no explanation or comparable substitute (other than the other two choices which were already existing). We found Frys beach to be a great alternative, but our all inclusive fee did not cover sun lounger or drinks' costs.
The mosquitos/sand flies were dreadful at all the beaches; we had to purchase bug spray at the hotel gift shop. I was a bit taken off guard, as our last Antigua stay was on the south-east side where we received hardly any bites at all. The hotel did fog for insects thrice weekly, so attempts were made to control infestation within the hotel grounds.
Overall, some great points about this resort, and if the "bugs" are worked out, could be deserving of full marks.

Room Tip: Try to book a room closest to the main building (lower numbers) for ease of mobility. Quieter, most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good points
>>> Staff excellent nothing to much trouble. Swimming pools and area by it very roomy
>>> Bedrooms good size with king size beds and
>>> soft pillows Only drawback only showers no baths .
Bad points
rooms have air conditioning but very noisy.

we took half board and took this to mean you could have either lunch or dinner. this was not the case - hotel said it meant dinner only- i explained that is not what is meant by half board.
>>> restaurants food ok in Sugar club.Gourmet restaurant says gourmet but not the case
>>> food ok. They even charged supplement for lamb and duck.their answer was lamb expensive .
> Even charged supplement for Xmas dinner which was ok certainly not
> worth any extra
>> Entertainment was okay but almost ignored by the guests mainly
>> because hotel make no effort to promote any event so most people go
>> to bed after dinner Main problem is the manager who you hardly see
>> during your stay . I left him message to contact me ,he made no
>> effort to contact me to discuss my issue with supplement being
>> charged.
If planning to stay do on bed and breakfast and try local
>> restaurants as food good in them .

Room Tip: all rooms you have to climb the stairs - the ones nearer reception although might be noisy if any pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive remarks relating to the facilities of the hotel and especially that from our staff nothing was too much trouble. However, I was sorry to read that you found the food – just ok, both restaurants normally enjoy and excellent reputation– especially Carmichaels – which attracts customers from all over the island. As you rightly pointed out some items do carry a small supplement – Prime lamb, lobster, scallops etc., are expensive on island so these items are not usually carried on our All Inclusive menus . Our alternative would be to charge an overall higher price for meal plan terms to avoid supplements. Normally these charges are accepted by our guests without a problem. In spite of having an excellent line up of entertainment I agree that guests did not linger late but this is not untypical of many hotels in Antigua. After a day of fresh air and good meal a comfortable bed seems to beckon. Guests were given a copy of the entertainment programme on check in, and I outlined the evening entertainment at the Cocktail Party on Christmas Eve. The information was displayed around the hotel and is on our website. I am very sorry we did not have the opportunity to discuss you concerns, which I hope did not detract from what I hope was otherwise a very enjoyable holiday. I’m sorry I did not get a chance to meet you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First ever visit to Antigua and selected hotel based on Trailfinders and Trip Advisor information. This was a Christmas getaway trip from the 21st to 29th December, all inclusive.

The good bits
Fantastic location, excellent sunset views, wonderful lush forest setting, well equipped gym, superb shuttle facility to a variety of local beaches, the bed and pillows. Some of the staff

The not so good bits
Some of the staff, service in Carmichael's.

I agree with many of the comments made and this highlights the problem with this hotel. The staff and service are of such variable quality that one can feel anything from cosseted and well looked after to ignored or even a burden.
Some staff were quite capable of appearing busy purely not to deal, or even acknowledge you, others remembered your name and welcomed you.This is a great shame as the hotel has huge potential to be excellent, but for the price it charges it should already be excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms 57 to 60 have amazing views and are near Carmichael restaurant and infinity pool, but are a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Having corresponded with you separately since your departure from the hotel I believe that overall you enjoyed your stay at Sugar Ridge. Your comments relating to inconsistent service levels have been duly noted and your very constructive comments were aired at our Heads of Department meeting just this week. In the weeks leading up to Christmas we did recruit some additional staff for the season and it would seem that some were exposed to the front line earlier than perhaps should have been the case. Thank you again for making your comments known, I am sincerely sorry we fell short of what we set out to deliver and be assured we have taken them on board .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duesseldorf
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

paying 500 Dollars a night, I expect a real 5-star service, what we got here was the level of a youth hostel. We arrived at 9.30 pm, hungry ... kitchen closed. Nibidy was even able to organize us a delivery pizza or a slice of bread. We woke up hungry and eaten up by mosquitos ... turndown service forgot to pull the mosquito nets down. Next morning we requested our take-away breakfast - since we had an early flight to Barbuda. Receptionists answer: I dont know why it qas offered in your package, but I cant help you. Maybe you go yourself to the restaurant and talk to the chef.

The list of disapointments is long - I dont want to bore anybody here. The island is not special on itself, attitude of most people here is unfriendly, laty, dishonest. They dont deserve your time and money here.

We hopped several islands in the Caribbean. I recommend you Anguilla (best beaches so far, friendly people), Saint Martin - but only the French side - very welcoming people, great beaches, turks & caicos ... all lovely. But PLEASE AVOID Antigua completely .... when lazy meets cant do attitude, meets unfriendly ..... you should make a big bow around the whole island and especially this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith M, General Manager at Sugar Ridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I was disappointed to read you review. I am sorry you missed room service on your arrival as our kitchen were closed and I agree your picnic lunch could have been handled better , but given your special dietary request our receptionist thought it would be better you handled it personally as you were on your way to Sugar Club for breakfast anyway , again sorry for any misunderstanding. Following your second night at Sugar Ridge – you were up very early to enjoy a day trip to Barbuda, which due to the pilot not turning up was cancelled – very frustrating indeed which then prompted you and your partner to cut your four night stay short, rebooking your Miami flight whilst at the airport. When you returned to the hotel later that morning it was quite clear how disappointed with the way you trip was going and as a result we agreed to waive our cancellation charge for checking out early in spite of the fact the hotel was fully booked for New Year. I am very sorry that your experience of Sugar Ridge and Antigua was not as it should have been .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Ridge

Address: PO Box 153, Jolly Harbour, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Jolly Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jolly Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Ridge 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua’s newest boutique hotel nestles in a sugar cane-bordered natural hillside with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and the turquoise Caribbean Sea. Designed in contemporary colonial style, rooms have private large verandas, plunge pool and full amenities. An Aveda™ spa provides the latest in holistic therapies; a gym, 3 swimming pools, trendy Sugar Club bar/restaurant and the more formal Carmichael’s, make Sugar Ridge the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sugar Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Ridge Hotel Jolly Harbour
Sugar Ridge Antigua/Jolly Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.